Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant

Mountain Hardwear Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant

Unbeatable stretch and comfort at the waist. The extra-wide waistband of the Yuma Convertible Pant won’t pinch, tug, slide or slip. It’s also lined with plush Micro-Chamois™ for comfort with or without packs. When it heats up, zip off the legs for shorts with a 16" inseam. UPF 50 fabric blocks out UV rays.
Overall rating:
4.35 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
18 out of 20(90%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Review 1 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Woman's Yuma II Convertible Pants

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a pair of these pants to wear hiking in Yellowstone Park. I highly recommend these pants for outdoor activities or daily use. They are well made, comfortable, fit great and dry very fast. I bought my normal size and used the sizing chart. They run a little big in the waist on me but they have a drawstring. My waist is 10" smaller than my hips. I am 5'3" and bought the 32" length which were long but they have the drawstring at the bottom that draws them in. No hemming needed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Second pair bought

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Salem, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I originally bought a pair size 10/32 from REI a few years back. I wear them mainly for kayaking since they dry so quickly. Also they are so light I started wearing them while traveling. I wanted to find another pair so I did a search on the logo and found this site. Bought another pair in black since I already have graphite. Same great pants except for the side lower pocket is a little bit smaller. Not a big deal but it makes it a little harder to grab out my small wallet or keys I usually carry in those pockets. Material is still the same high quality and fit is the same as my older (4+yrs) ones. Great pants!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but I liked the previous design better

PostedAugust 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants convert into capris (below the knee) rather than above the knee like previous 'models' did. I prefer the above-the-knee. But they fit well and the fabric is very soft and comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are my favorite new hiking pants

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland or
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love love love these pants for travel and for hiking. The four way stretch is fantastic and they look good on. I called them my new hot pants because I love them so much. I have been using them for backpacking and they have worked great because of the zip off pants and they are light weight. I got caught in light rain and they did fine. I've never written a review before but I love these pants so much I just had to.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST hiking pant ever

PostedAugust 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Tennessee
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Comfortable with pockets where you can get to them, and stuff in pockets stays put without bothering hiking stride. Gather at the ankle means even short people (5'1") can wear them! Wish list: shorter inseam; lighter color like stone.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My all-time favorite pants for hiking and travel

PostedAugust 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have several versions of these pants and absolutely love them. I first bought a couple of pairs several years ago and liked them a lot. Then I bought a couple more a few years later and found they'd gotten even better, with stretchier fabric that made the fit super comfortable. I love that these pants zip off just below the knee -- perfect for someone like me whose thighs are on the bulky side.
A couple of months ago I ordered yet another pair for an upcoming trip. The fit is still just as good, but I liked the old pocket design better. The thigh pocket used to be flatter and less obvious, with a covered zipper; now the pockets have weird pleats that flare out even when the pocket is empty (see photos for comparison). I will continue to buy this product but I wish Mountain Hardwear would bring back the old unobtrusive pocket, which made these pants much more stylish for and non-hiking activities and travel.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Travel and Hiking Ready

PostedAugust 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Henderson, Nv
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these pants. A few years ago I bought a couple of pair for a trip to Australia. They were definitely perfect. The black looks dressy so that pair was my go to for dinner engagements. The other pair were just perfect for all activities. I recently bought the latest version in the tan. I find these pants are so flexible and ideal for just about any activity including hiking as well as day to day activities. I am 5'2", 114 lbs.
Love the lower pant leg release. Absolutely love the way you can hide the ankle tightening cord.
These are definitely my go to travel pants.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Small zip pocket

PostedJuly 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Franklinville NJ
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I spend a lot of time doing outdoor acticities. I bought these pants in the past. However the pockets are now smaller. When you spending times outdoors especially backpacking zip pockets are a must. The new pockets are so small I can't fit my hand inside to reach the bottom. My cell phone, with no case, can't fit, a small ziplock bag with carrots or other such snack is too big. I don't think I will purchase this product again unless the pocket size is changed. I did like the upper pocket but would gladly give up for a larger zip pocket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these pants

PostedJune 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: lake tahoe, California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own another pair purchased many years ago and still in use. Extremely Comfortable! Perfect for sit on top Kayaking. Looks good, easy access cargo pockets when paddling (also stretch to hold about everything), repels water splashes, Handy elastic in bottom leg for keeping pants dry while launching, dries quickly when soaked, protects for a complete day on the water.
Awesome.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite climbing pants!

PostedJune 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: New York
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I own these in black, size 8, 32".
These are my favorite pants for indoor and outdoor climbing, as well as general outdoor adventuring. I like that the leg zipper location is at capri length, because I have larger, more muscular thighs and zip-offs at thigh height are just not comfortable. I do think I might have benefited from the 30" inseam, as I like to wear them a bit lower on my hips, and with any shoes other than boots, I find that the hem ends up ender my heel. To the pants' credit, they are so durable that I have yet to see any wear where I am always stepping on them. While climbing I usually cinch the elastic around the ankle openings. They're extremely comfortable in the waist, with the soft fabric around the inside. These provide ample stretch/room for my larger butt and thighs, but still have a flattering look that isn't too baggy. The lightweight, stretchy material makes them a dream to wear. It also sheds water and chalk very nicely, and holds up to abrasion against rock. I did notice that after owning them for about 4-5 months, the stitching has started to come undone a bit on one of the pockets. But it's barely even a problem in my opinion. These are my absolute favorite outdoor pants! Definitely thinking about buying in another color.
For reference, I am a size 8 in most outdoor brands, but sometimes a size 6. 41" hip and 28" natural waist makes finding pants that fit well very difficult.
I'm 5'5" and my inseam measurement is around 31. I usually go with regular length, because short length always feels too short.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

sizing

PostedJune 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: N.C.
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only purchase after trying on. I have this pant and the new size is not in keeping with old. You have to pay to return and to reorder would be at on sale price. Perhaps these were on sale because of sizing.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Hiking/Biking Pant ever!!!!

PostedMay 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Minneapolis MN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are the greatest hiking/biking/travel pants. I've worn MH before and love how the fabric stretches in all directions, but these are now my favorite go to pants. I bought them for a trip to Costa Rica and also took several other pairs of MH capris and shorts. All I've done is wash and rewear the two pairs of these pants I bought over and over. I've hiking miles in them, worn them for all day adventures, swam in a couple rivers, etc. they dry very fast. They do seem to run a bit big, unless MH sizing had changed, since my other MH pants are all 12s and I very comfortably fit into a 10 in these, with room to spare. My only concern is the zippers on the cargo pockets are pretty light weight and sometimes difficult to zip open and closed, especially one handed, which is sometimes necessary. It would be good if the zipper was a little more heavy duty. I feel like breaking the zipper is possible, but hopefully not. I'll be buying more of these and may just live in me them summer!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good but zipper construction needs work

PostedApril 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: golden, co
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the functionality and fit of these pants. They stay on my hips so my backpack hipbelt doesn't chafe.
My only gripe is the zippers on the bottom convertible section were poorly constructed. While on my first hike of the season, it was getting warm so I decided to zip the bottoms off. I got the zipper all the way around but it would not come up and out. I pulled and the retaining box completely came off the pant along with the zipper. I managed to get the other leg off, albeit very carefully, but later when zipping back on, the retaining box also came off on that leg.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and Good Looking

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these pants for an upcoming African Safari. I especially like the longer length of the zip-off shorts and the larger cargo pockets that this length makes possible. The Stone Green is a very nice neutral color that will go with everything. A friend who wears these as part of a work uniform said that they dry very quickly, which is another asset for travel
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit.

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Montana
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I always have trouble finding pants long enough for me. These fit perfect. I can't wait to wear them in the summer . I love that the inseam is longer to make them capri length.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent all-purpose pant!

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just purchased a second pair.
Perfect for hiking as well as dog-walking.
Light weight enough for desert southwest but also appropriate for other climates.
Very comfortable; Cut is actually flattering.
Love the snaps instead of buttons.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Many years of comfort.....

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have worn these pants for many years....they are now making them longer so I don't have to throw the unzipped part away and wear as capris all the time!! Love the length, now will wear them all winter too!! Thank you Mt. Hardwear!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect pants!

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I now own two pairs of these pants and I love them! I am athletic build with a booty and these are very flattering! They are perfect for traveling from cooler climates to warmer climates as well. Please make more colors!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed in Changes to Yuma Pant

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Orange County, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was very disappointed in the changes made to the Yuma Convertible Pants. I've had a pair of these pants for a couple years and loved them, so ordered the same size and what I thought was the same pant. The fabric is not nearly as good and the fit was way too big in the hips and legs. The pants I have still fit, so don't know what's up with this.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Yuma™ II Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pant

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Summit County, Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like the fit of this pant and that the pant converts into below-the-knee shorts. The fit is excellent. My only problem is that I'm between lengths: A 32' is too short and a 34' is a bit too long. Wish they'd make a 33"
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Steener
Denver, CO
 
Please wait while more information about Steener is loaded.
Additional information about Steener could not be loaded.
How tall are you?
Posted January 18, 2015
Hi,
Am curious as to how tall you are/ what size pant you usually wear? I'm debating between the 32 and 34 and can't decide which to order.
Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)