Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove

Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Overall rating:
4.308 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
0 out of 2(0%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Review 1 for Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor fit and bad construction

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
cff3
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I decided to take a chance on these gloves, even after reading the mixed reviews. Turns out that was a bad idea. They were, indeed, too small.. the fingers aren't long enough and the glove itself is too short. Deciding I could get over the awkward fit, I took them on a trip to Moab. They didn't keep my hands warm at all. And within minutes (sadly not an exaggeration), they had already started to fall apart.. the thread on the index finger came unraveled, which quickly lead to a hole in the seam.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Well-made but not especially warm

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
BeausPal
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I'd hoped for a glove that could keep my hands warm on days when temps are in the teens, but these aren't them. On the plus side, they do allow some dextrous use of my hands while being worn.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Seattle

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Littlebird
Location: Seattle, WA
These gloves are great, good for Seattle's damp, chilly midwinter weather. I saw a number of comments about the tags--the stitching holding the tags is not the seam, so the stitches can be cut and the tags removed without affecting the glove's construction. Love them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really like them

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
cyclophile
Location: moab, utah
Went on a 3 hour road ride with these gloves and they were perfect for 40 degree temps (much colder with the wind chill) and my hands never felt cold and the fit is snug so shifting is a breeze. So far so good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go to glove

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
asweeney
Location: Mineral, CA
I use these gloves for everything. I bought a pair awhile back for backcountry skiing as they breathe great for climbing and are slim enough to throw a pair of shells over them when I'm going downhill. They really do 'fit like a glove', and because of this the dexterity in them is excellent. I use them as every day gloves as well.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good nimble glove

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
townelin
Location: Durango, CO
I got these for a Grand Canyon raft trip in November. They were good for keeping my hands warm even once they got wet. Slim fitting so that I could grasp small objects without taking them off. I second that the inside tags are annoying, but easily removed. I used them for a 180 foot rappel. Not recommended. The palm grip stuff wore some.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great wind protection, cool weather glove

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
JenWren70
Location: Tucson, AZ
I do think these fit on the small side which makes your fingers more dexterous. Other reviewers mentioned these are not the warmest gloves. This website describes them as good for high output or aerobic activity which is accurate. So long as I am moving around in cool weather (above freezing temps) my fingers are warm enough. Once it's below freezing I found these to not be really warm enough for me. Since they were described as heavy weight I thought they would be, which is why I rated 4 out of 5 stars. They do offer great wind protection. If you're considering them, they are quite well made, just make sure they meet what you want them for.
There are large tags inside each glove on the outside seam which are annoying and not so easy to remove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome for glove liner or wearing alone

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
OutdoorMom
Location: Olympia, WA
I have tiny hands....size 4 1/2 wedding ring... but I'm glad I ordered a medium, they are perfect. All of my other gloves are size small so definitely plan to order a size up... they will still fit snug enough to use as a liner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super warm, super versatile!

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
katie
Location: whitefish, mt
I wear these gloves everywhere. They fit my slightly small hands perfectly (size medium) and allow for lots of movement and flexibility in gripping whatever needs to be gripped. Also, they are quite warm. If they are all I am wearing to the bus stop on a day that is around zero (f) my fingers get a bit chilled but for the size they perform marvelously. They also serve me well on the mountain as a liner under heavier mittens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Warm!

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
bryce
Location: Salt Lake, UT
These are very versitile. Wife uses them as a driving glove, leash holder, snow scraper, and snow ball maker! She is going to try and wash the dishes with them tonight.... sure they'll do just fine like they do with everything else. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

super comfort

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
tidbits
Location: Wrentham, MA
These gloves provide super comfort and flexibility. I've worn them on very cool fall mornings heading out on errands. They do not provide a great deal of warmth so not sure I will use them for outdoor winter activities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavyweight Power Stretch Glove

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
katcher42
Location: Atlanta, GA
I have the smallest hands in the world. These fit perfectly. I used them this past October on many windy days/night in the Pisgah---They saved my digits.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Heavyweight Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great all around

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laurel
Location: Bishop, CA
Thin material that keeps your hands warm...what more could you want? The tags inside are kind of scratchy sometimes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EcologyGirl
Portland, OR
 
Please wait while more information about EcologyGirl is loaded.
Additional information about EcologyGirl could not be loaded.
Great gloves!
Posted January 14, 2013
I'm on Mountain Hardwear's website to order another pair of these gloves. I bought a pair in a local store 2 years ago and loved them! I've used them for everything--as driving gloves, for winter birdwatching, on our family's annual Xmas tree hunt, in snowball fights. They're great all-around gloves! I've always hated wearing gloves, but these fit my hands snugly & allowed almost as much dexterity as no gloves. On the coldest days they're a little lightweight, but we don't have many days that cold in Oregon. I lost mine last week, & can't find them in any local stores. I can hardly wait for my new pair to arrive!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)