Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Downtown™ Coat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Women's Downtown™ Coat

Downtown™ Coat
Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Review 1 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best winter coat

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
veryhappysnugglebug
Location: Ithaca, NY
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE this coat because:
- the hood is deep that it never gets blown back by the wind and the faux fur definitely helps to keep the snow out of your eyes (unless the wind is blowing snow right at you, in which case, a balaclava would be your best option)
- the length hits above the knee and combined with the nipped-in waist line, makes for a very flattering coat
- the fleece-lining inside the jacket pockets and in the chest area adds warmth
- it's WARM
Some people said the coat was a bit too thin and I do wonder whether it's really 600-down fill. But really, it's nearly just as warm as my Northface metropolitan coat and MUCH more good-looking. Also, keeping the hood up around your face adds more insulation and makes you feel nice and toasty.
My advice to people who stand out in the cold waiting to warm up - start walking. No coat will make you feel warm without your own body generating some heat that remains within the insulated coat.
Thank you Mountain Hardwear!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Cozy!

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
kb123
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VERY happy w/ my first Mountain Hardwear purchase. This coat is perfect for cold MN days and nights. I've gotten some great compliments on it too :) The only semi-negative thing is that the sleeves are a tad long for me, but I am short (5' 3").
Overall, amazing coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Downtown coat. Keeps me so warm!!

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heatherp
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat. I hate the cold weather, but this coat makes it possible for me to walk my dog at 8pm (15-20 degrees) and to take my class out to recess when it's 20-30 degrees outside. Typically my class has indoor recess all winter. But not this year! I love the fleece inside, I love the fit, I love the hood. It's not super sleek and I don't think it shows my shape, but that's not what I was looking for. I was looking for warmth and comfort. Seriously, I can't stop talking about how great this coat is.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly light weight, but very warm

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vermonter
Location: Burlington VT
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is very light, but keeps me nice and warm. I am 5'10" and the length is a little below my mid-thigh, which allows me to be pretty mobile in it. The sleeve length is great for my long arms. There is a little extra room for me in the body of the coat, but I like that I can wear a heavy sweater/sweatshirt under it. I love the hood - it is big enough to cover my head and ears and protect my face from the wind.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

California girl in Calgary

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nikki
Location: Bay Area, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was searching the Mtn Hardware site and store for a coat to take with me to Western Canada on a business trip where it was projected to be -14 C (7F). I am a wimpy California girl and was really worried about keeping warm. This coat was AWESOME! I loved it...kept me VERY warm (with warm clothes under it, hat, gloves, wool stockings), looked great and was so fluffy that I could easily stuff it down to carry it in my carry on bag easily. GREAT COAT (and if you are comparing, it is MUCH thicker than Citilicious and Citilicious Trifecta.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brown coat with white tabs on the zippers!

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nature88
Location: Colorado
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This brown coat has white tabs on the zippers which do not look good on a brown coat. Why not put brown tabs on the zippers of a brown jacket?
Now I have to find a replacement for them as I do not like the look of the white color tabs on a brown coat.
Only other complaint is the hood does not look good wearing it on my head but looks OK otherwise.
I like the coat as it seems very warm and good quality.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultra Warm!

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
cegirl
Location: Helena, MT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have never been cold since I bought this coat. I am 5'8" and in the 140s. I bought a size large. The sleeves are long enough that I can tuck my hands in if I need to. It has a draw cord around the waist to give it a little shape. I wear this coat for hiking or going out to dinner in the winter. I absolutely love it!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great flattering fit

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christina56
Location: Chicago IL
Got lots of compliments on the coat. Perfect for Chicago winters. Price was decent.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My first REAL winter coat

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tara1234
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Just moved to Iowa and made this purchase to prepare for the heavier winters. Fortunately, there hasn't been much in the way of snow just yet or even the extreme cold, so I haven't tried it out in the negative temperature ranges. But it has worked very well the many mornings it's been in the low 20's and the few that are in the teens or single digits. The coat keeps me nice and toasty every inch that it covers. Amazingly, even when it's not that cold (upper 30's, lower 40's) I can still wear this coat and not get too hot either. Great value - I am very pleased with my purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat and great service

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
cyoung
Location: Philadelphia PA
Love this coat! And couldn't beat the service, arrived here in time for christmas - would definitely order from this site again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect jacket

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cali
Location: Los Angeles, CA
We live in Los Angeles so winters are not too cold but I did by the downtown coat for my wife because she is always cold and she love the fit, weight and warmth of the jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Womens downtown coat

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
alpinebunch
Location: sterling,va
this coat is super cute..Super warm.. and super clean. Great lines on this coat. It's a must have for the lady who wants to stay warm and look cute. It's a must have for winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Women's Downtown Coat a winner

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Audie
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota
I love this coat. The fit is feminine, it's just long enough without being too long—lots of room for movement through the arms and shoulders, and the cozy lining is great. I disagree with some reviewers about their wish that the fleece lining extend throughout the coat. That would be very restricting, it's correct the way it is: snuggly torso, free-moving hips and legs. The zipper is good heavy-duty quality, and the hood is just right, really designed to protect your head in a blizzard. Great parka for the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am drinking outside WAY longer

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Friskeh
Location: Prince George, BC
My husband got me this coat last year but I wanted to wait to review it until it went throught it's paces. The fit is perfect (full disclosure: I'm 5'4" and 160lbs so I'm wearing a large) and the hood is cozy and delightful and doesn't drop over my eyes. I'm happy that there are no thumb loops as they interfere with my mittens (I'm hardcore about mittens). I threw it in the washer and dryer (minus furry trim) after a 4 litre jug of milk exploded behind me and it came through beautifully. I had to rearrange the down around the arms, but that was it. I live in Northern BC and we had a very cold, snowy winter last year and I can say that I've never loved a coat so much in my life. So much, in fact, that this year I collected the MH Kelivinator (for snowshoeing and toboganning) and the MH Lodown vest (xc skiing) to round out my stable of down.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE winter coat

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dawna
Location: Chicago, IL
I am very impressed withthe Downtown Coat by Mtn Hardwear. This coat is stylish, fits great (true to size) and is warm and cozy. The hood is amazing holding up well to Chicago's gale force winds. The length is great for driving and still is long enough to cover your bum/thigh area. The only thing that I would add to this jacket are thumb holes (like you would have on a running jacket).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Downtown coat

PostedNovember 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
gouchman
Location: Alma, Colorado
Great coat! The fit is right on and the fleece lining inside is very cozy. Wish the fleece lining was all over inside including the sleeves. The insulating transition from fleece to nylon is noticeable but once the jacket warms up its fine.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful coat

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
NJO4567
Location: New London, NH
I spend a great deal of time outside in the winter and I needed a coat that will keep me warm. I like the fit of this coat, the hood and neck are not bulky and are attractive. The fleece upper body lining is beautiful but I wish it went throughout the coat. There were not thumb holes as described in the sleeves and it was not as thick as I thought it would be. The true test will be in colder weather as to the warmth but there is plenty of room to layer. It is pricey and would be more worth the price with the thumb holes and full fleece lining. I am sure I will get a lot of use out of this coat, I am just unsure of the warmth. Time will tell.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Attractive Coat

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location: Brookline, MA
I love the look of the coat, fits great and is very comfortable. I had done a lot of research between patagonia, northface and mountain hardwares items before I purchased because I wanted to know I got the best coat for the money I was spending. I am a little disappointed in the thickness of the coat. I am not sure it is going to be as warm as advertised. The fleece inside is more like a vest of coverage, and I was under the impression it lined the whole jacket which was the main reason I went with mountain hardware. The coat is pretty thin, it just looks thick which makes me nervous for the winter. I am outside walking a lot of every single day and I do not think it will be enough. I will have to buy something to go inside of it to keep as warm as I need to. Summary: Great looking jacket, but not for very cold winter weather.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very attractive coat

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sue888
Location: Ilkley West Yorkshire
I received my coat today and I love the shapely fit and the neck and hood sit attractively and I love the soft fleece ilining. I was glad I chose the brown colour. The downside is that there are no thumb loops as stated. The coat does not feel quite as thick as I hoped. There should be a storm flap covering the zip as minimum for the price. I was sorry the fleece did not extend down the whole body of the coat and inside the arms. I will get a lot of wear from it but wonder just how warm it will be in very cold conditions as I had planned to wear it to a ski resort next January. I will still get a lot of wear but I think it is overpriced for what it is.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.