Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Butter Topper™

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Women's Butter Topper™

Butter Topper™
Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
Customer reviews for Women's Butter Topper™
Review 1 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super warm and comfortable

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Schmia
Love this top. Keeps you warm but is lightweight. Get nothing but compliments.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fit

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
asweeney
Location: Mineral, CA
A friend of mine recommended this top, and I than her profusely for it! I use it for running, backcountry skiing, and even for lounging around the house. It's a warmer layer, but it's great for very cold weather. I'm an average size woman and it's a perfect fit for me. I imagine the stretch would allow it to fit just about anyone well. The sleeves are a little long, but they have thumb holes and they roll-up just fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!!

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
duckster
Location: Fort Collins, CO
I just wore this for a 1/2 marathon and it was PERFECT! the shirt is so soft and comfy, kept me warm even though it's super thin, and when I got hot mid run, it stays put when tied around the waist. The front zipper pocket fit my chapstick and my ipod nano perfectly (with room to spare) and didn't get annoying while I was running! I am always a size small and this shirt was a tad baggy, but i find it comfy this way. If you want it to be tight fitting, I would suggest going a size down from what you normally wear. You can't go wrong.....Plus, mountain hardwear has the best customer service!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like butta

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimsue
Location: Whitefish, MT
SO SO SOFT and performance fitting. This little under layer can also pose as a cute top with jeans on one of those COLD winter days. LOVE the thumb holes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I like the old style cut better

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wildbluemustang
Location: Amundson Scott South Pole Station
I love, love, the butter hoodies! They are my favorite base layers! However I wish you could have a choice between the new cut, which does protect your neck a little better and the old one, that had a "V" shape cut in the collar line. I find that my head gets stuck a little in the new ones and I tend not to wear it as much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Soft Butter Topper

PostedJune 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Birdwell01
Location: Renton, WA
Just like the name inplies this top is super soft and super comfy. I like the thumb holes and the longer sleeve. The shirt worked great for work and the handy zip pocket is useful if I went for a hike and did not carry along my set of keys. I have some of the earlier models of this top and this one is a little more fitted and flattering. Thank you for keep making a great soft top even better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the fabric

PostedApril 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
salidaco
Location: colorado
I love the weight and fabric of this item and like last years version better with the slight V in the neckline. This will be a great layering item - and will miss the ventilation around the neck that the older body style had for warmer weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A joy to wear

PostedApril 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chookie
Location: Lander, WY
I love the butter topper. I work in the outdoors and this is close to my favorite piece of outdoor clothing. Soft, silky material. Feels good on and fantastic warmth for weight ratio. More of a layer at the end of the day, after exercise than to use while doing high intensity hiking/biking. I love the hoody and the high neckline. I have the original Butter Hoody, and two of the butter toppers. Love them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love This Shirt

PostedMarch 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
leighto
Location: SF Bay area
Just spent 2 weeks in Baja with this Butter Topper. Came home and ordered a second one. It is a perfect layering weight; is warm when it needs to be and is loose enough that I was able to wear it as a sun protector which didn't get too hot during the day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

everyday layer in any season

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
TheManhattanKid
Location: Park City, UT
I am 6' tall and 180 lbs... and 4 1/2 months pregnant. I bought blue and green in Large. They have a feminine cut but stretch to allow for both pregnant and post-pregnant wear. I alternate and wear them almost daily as layers - pull the hood up for crisp winter morning walks with the dog as a base layer and top layer for early morning hikes/trail runs since they have UPF 50 sun protection. Super soft, nice long torso and sleeves with thump loops and the colors are beautiful. Get two!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Undeniable Versatility of The Butter Topper

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
kimism
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
I purchased the Butter Topper four days ago. I've washed and wore it again twice. From running to hiking to base layer for sleeping, this shirt has accommodated me in every activity. The hood is genius, slips up in a jiffy and is comparable to the functionality of a balaclava. My favorite feature of all are the the thumb holes, makes slipping your hands into a pair of gloves as easy as 1.2.3 A convenient key pocket is great for storing small items you don't want the chance of falling out of a larger pocket. Stash a car key, cell phone or small digital camera. You are sure not to lose your essential valuables. I purchase mine in espresso color yet I'm headed now to stock up on a few more colors. I think I've discovered my new essential wardrobe piece.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everyday

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Holls
Location: June Lake, Ca
I love the butter topper! It's the ultimate base layer for a day on the mountain. I work as an ski instructor and wear this almost everyday (it doesn't get stinky so I can do that haha) and it's great for warm weather under a shell and awesome in cold, snowy weather as a gasket against the elements. Plus it's comfortable just hangin out. If you want a tight fit for running or climbing I'd say to order a size down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great top, super cute but very big

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
travelgirl
Location: Louisville, CO
This was a great top but I was surprised how big it is. I usually wear a medium/large and I wanted this top to be a little loose so I ordered the large but this is huge!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shrit EVER!

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Summer
Location: Colorado
Super cute and super soft! Great look and fit. I'll be buying another one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Butter Topper™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location: Newark, DE
I recently purchased this shirt to wear during for fall trail running. I am more than pleased with this top! I wear it with running tights, and I am dry and comfortable. It's moisture wicking/breathable enough that when I do sweat, it evaporates without making me cold. The tight fitting hood is a LUXURY! It is a little bit goofy (makes you look like a giant lollipop) when it's pulled up.... but that's the least of my worries when I'm out for a run. It keeps the back of my neck and my ears warm without making me overheat like I would if I were wearing a hat. If I don't feel like wearing the hood for a few minutes, I toss it off. AND it's easy enough to put it back up with only one hand (can't say that for my hats!)
This shirt should be a staple for anyone who does cold weather running. 5 stars for its buttery smooth feel!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.