Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Pyxis™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Women's Pyxis™ Jacket

Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.41 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
9 out of 12(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
dmf2129
Location: Raleigh, NC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good fit, extremely comfortable, multiple compliments on it. Really soft.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Jacket!

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
mistyrain97229
Location: Portland
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I practically live in this jacket. I love it so much that I got a second one. It is very soft, great on it's own or as a layering item.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Soft and Warm

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Photodude
Location: Lancaster, PA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my wife and she loves it! Great for layering and she love the soft feel of the material.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice Jacket But Runs VERY Small

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
patarino
Location: AK
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A women's large usually fits me perfectly. This jacket I am not even able to zip. Very disappointed especially since it took almost 3 weeks to arrive.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty much awesome

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
eham11
Location: Camden, Maine
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a fantastic jacket, extremely warm, and surprisingly pretty wind proof. It's a little big for me, I'm a very true xs size, however this is a great jacket to have.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Shedder

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tecee
Location: Chattanooga
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the fit, the style, everything except it sheds like crazy on everything; even after multiple washings. This jacket is not wearable. Apparently, I wasted my money.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sheds like crazy!

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vegas100
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this jacket because I already had the Monkey jacket and really like it. The Pyxis is lighter weight, so I gave it a try. It is really soft and cozy, but it sheds like crazy. I've had it almost a year and rarely wear it anymore because it sheds on everything I wear (I've washed and dried it many times in attempts to de-fuzz it). The Monkey jacket I have never had a problem with shedding.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fleece

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kap0606
Location: Charlotte, NC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this fleece! It fits well and the length is perfect. My only complaint is that is does shed. I washed it on gentle and I think that helped a lot!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So soft!

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
oldbutnotdead
Location: Castro Valley, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a less bulky fleece to replace a beloved, but very old one.
First of all, I got the grey. The color has really grown on me - it is perfect for my coloring - shades of winter. It looks great with so many things.
I love the zipper pull that has the extra loop to it. It makes it easy to pull with gloves, but is also fun to play with.
The pockets are really awesome. They start above the place where a backpacking helpbelt would come - giving the jacket a flattering fit. They are super soft, and they go practically up to your collarbone. I have a pet peeve of women's clothes that have the lamest pockets. These pockets are the farthest from lame I can imagine. I could fold an 8x11 paper the long way, and put it in that pocket, and it would be fine if I needed to. I can see that function is something well thought out.
Did I say how soft this jacket is? I can't take it off, I thought about wearing it to bed the other night. You know when you are camping, and your clothes just bug you, or the tags itch and drive you crazy? That won't happen here. I just washed it for the first time, and it is even softer - didn't think that was possible. Thank you Downy,
And Thank You Mountain Hardwear!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

sheds too much!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
weysen
Location: CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I work outdoors in remote areas. I really love the warmth of this fleece; however, when I am riding in a car for hours trying to get to the tops of mountains for work, I find that the seatbelt rubs off lots of the soft fleece material. It does not just clean up easily either, but sticks to the seatbelt, my pants, and everything else nearby. I really love the fit, and how soft and warm it is, I just hate the shedding! I would have never guessed that this material would shed as much as it does!
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

softest jacket ever

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
shazzamm
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is the softest, warmest fleece i've ever owned. well worth the money. fits true to size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

High quality fleece jacket, but the fit isn't perfect

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kweeks
Location: Petaluma, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The materials and construction on this jacket are fantastic. It's a soft, thin but warm fleece. The construction is great. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the fit. I found it a little short in the torso (hits closer to the waist than the hips) and the sleeves are just barely long enough. For warmth, I'd like the sleeves to hit a little past the wrist. The torso was a little wide, but fit fine.
Overall a great jacket, love the materials and it would be a favorite if the fit were a little different.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A perfect lightweight fleece jacket.

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
ablcoope
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
This jacket is a perfect weight to wear underneath a shell or on its own as a light weight jacket. It is very comfortable - great fleece fabric! The only complaint is that the arms are far too short. I purchased a size small, and while the rest of the jacket fits perfectly, the arms are a bit of a nuisance. Otherwise, it is perfect!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pyxis Jacket is wonderful

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
conejomoon
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Great jacket. I like it so much, I may get another one in a different color.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amy1973
This jacket is great and cute. It is warm, and fit under other coats.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

MY LOVELY FLEECE JACKET

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
nisha
Location: detroit
I love almost everything about this jacket. This is my first fleece jacket ever owning. I love the color that i chose. I live in detroit so i where my pyxis jacket under my northface coat and by time i get to work and school I am hot. Only thing i dislike about this jacket is that when i where black pants, the blue fleece get all over, everywhere on them..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Jacket

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
gogirlinsc
Location: Scranton, SC
I bought this jacket as a Christmas gift for my 15 year old daughter and she absolutely loves it. She loves how soft and plush it is. It's so lightweight it's hard to believe how warm it keeps you. I would definitely recommend this jacket and I have no doubts that I will be buying more in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Softest Thing Imaginable

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bridget
Location: Chicago
Bought this jacket because the other fleece was sold out and am estatic!!! softest thing I have ever worn. I love it.
So warm, I almost cannot wear it under my jacket!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Arms run short

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Asha
Location: Torrance, CA
Usually, Mountain Hardwear fits me better than similar brands, but this jacket has short arms. Unfortunately, I had already torn off the tag, trusting that it would fit as well as my other Mountain Hardwear jackets. Too bad, because now I have a jacket that I wish I could exchange. . .
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Pyxis™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE the Pyxis jacket!

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lambie
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
It is not often that I find a piece of clothing that I love so much that I need to buy a backup. With this jacket, I bought not just one backup, but two! That is how much I love this. My original one is Seafrost. Then I bought another Seafrost (my favorite color) and a Violet Storm. These jackets are so cozy, I call it my "Care Bear Jacket." People will want to hug you when you wear this. I wear an extra small in most things but I liked the small better in this. Obviously I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.