Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Epic™ Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Women's Epic™ Jacket

Epic™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.741 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Womens Epic Jacket

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sunshine75
Location: Birmingham, AL
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile and light weight. Fits true to size
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Womens Epic Shell

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
pkeller56
Location: Truckee, California
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I ride endurance on my horse. I was given a shell years ago which appears to be just like the Epic. I have used it continually on many rides, for many miles. It has kept me warm, dry and has sheltered me from excessive winds. It has begun to show some wear so I wanted to replace it with the same product. The Epic shell is nearly as exact as I could hope for and as a matter of fact looks exactly the same. I am looking forward to getting the same wear our of my new jacket. I absolutely loved my old one!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This jacket did not keep me dry

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Firegirl37
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This jacket was great in a light rain, and also worked well as a wind shell. It is also very lightweight and has a great fit. However, after a full day of heavy rain, the jacket failed and I got wet. I wore this jacket for many days on a 32 day backpacking trek through Spain, and perhaps the daily rubbing of my backpack caused the jacket to fail. After the heavy rain event when the jacket failed, it was never the same again. It worked okay in a light rain for up to 20 minutes or so, but it would eventually soak through. This jacket is good for light rain or as a wind breaker, but not serious weather.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great jacket!

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
FrankD
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always been very impressed with the quality of Mountain Hardware products. This is just a great jacket, very well constructed with obvious attention to the details.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm singing in the rain...

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin360
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my morning walks here in the Pacific Northwest. I also bought the pants. I am happy to report that this jacket keeps me dry and comfortable in the pouring rain.
I got a small which fits perfect, but if your wanting to wear a sweatshirt under it instead of long sleeves, you'll probably want to go up a size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Epic

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Murdock
Location: NE Ohio
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had bought one of these rain jackets 6 years ago but lost it! Crushed, I re-ordered and unpacked the new one. It does fit more tapered which makes it feel smaller. I ended up keeping the size I ordered, but wont have much room to wear heavier things under it. Overall quality is excellent though. Kept me nice and dry.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shorter than I expected, but nice fitting.

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
outdoors1
Location: Colorado
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This rain jacket is nice fitting, non too big for the size ordered. I will say I do wish Mountain Hardware provided items for tall people. I have not been able to find long enough items for either of my kids who are 6'1 (female) and 6'4" (male). If you are of a more common stature, this jacket is perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

!

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Manda
Location: Nome, Alaska
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is amazing. I love the color, I got the color Adriatic, beautiful color! Stayed true to the functions of this jacket, is waterproof and doesn't get steaming hot when wearing it for a long period of time. The size medium fits just right on me, not too big and not too small, I like the big hood, can easily adjust it, also the drawstrings on the bottom and the velcro for the cuffs. I would highly recommend this jacket! It is great. Just for the cold climate though might want to have a hoodie under to keep the cold air away.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Jacket

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
ashoeski
Location: Montana
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Epic jacket has a perfect fit. I like to have a little extra length in the arms so my wrists stay covered. This jacket does that. The overall length is great as well. Just long enough to keep everything covered and not look like you are wearing a bag. DryQ is amazing material. I tend to get soggy when wearing other rain jackets hiking. The Epic really breathes. I wore it on a warm evening hike and was comfortable the whole time. It's a great jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

...a Greek tragedy revised...

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
KrisS
Location: PA
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased an Epic rain jacket approximately 6 years ago (from a local retailer), lightweight, unlined, loved the color (smoky purple w/black accent - wish this was still an option).
Within the past year, the inner (white) lining began to deteriorate, flake/peel off, reducing the jackets effectiveness against the elements.
I recently received a replacement jacket from MH. They honored their product performance guarantee without hesitation.
The new Epic jacket did not retain the left upper arm pocket. The backing in the front pockets is now solid (old jacket had mesh). The hood adjuster pull cords are now diverted interiorly, a more streamline design visually/functionally. Size considerations - where a medium would usually fit (with a bit of extra room), I required a large in the new jacket. Although the new Epic feels a bit lighter than my old one - the weather is no match.
Cleaning this product in a front load washer is recommended.
Thank you MH for standing behind your product.
I appreciate your efficient and friendly customer service/warranty reps. (Mike somebody :)
Sincerely,
Kris
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great waterproof shell :)

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beebee
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just went on a trip to Mexico, Belize, and Guatemala. We had a feeling we may be going during the rainy season so I ended up purchasing this coat. It was amazing, perfect for anything I needed it for. :) There was one thing I was confused about though after I received my coat.. There was a tag on my coat that said it came with a bunch of features that the coat does not have and I had wished it did have those features.. kind of odd.. but overall great coat. :)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great, keeps one dry, hood stays on

PostedApril 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
RinNYC
Location: New York, NY
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The hood is great--the little projected cap bit keeps the rain out of one's eyes without blocking one's vision. The elastic means that one can tighten the hood--and it doesn't blow off. (!!) Fabulous.
Some folks mentioned wishing there was an inner pocket; I'd second that. I also wouldn't mind a slightly longer jacket so that a bit more of the tush was protected. But that may just be a problem with athletically-geared raincoats.
Very happy with this. Am going to be hiking serious mileage in the rain with this.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nicole4
Location: New York area
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far, I think this jacket is great. The only reason I rated it "good" on function is because I've only worn it out in the rain once so far. It performed well, although I have to work on adjusting the hood a bit better. I wore the jacket running, and at times had trouble keeping the hood in a position where the built-in visor kept the rain out of my eyes.
However, the product has plenty of ways to adjust the fit of the sleeves, the hood and the waist. It is truly waterproof, which is what I was looking for. Given that, it also breathes better than I thought, and there are zippers under the arms for extra ventilation if desired. I highly recommend this product!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket for the price.

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
mombo
Location: Sisters, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight waterproof jacket that will fit over a couple of layers and fit well. You don't have to order a bigger size to accomodate clothing underneath.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Epic Jacket

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: darby, mt
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is just what I was looking for. I ordered the bright green as I am using it for biking back and forth to work and want to be seen. It is very light weight and can be stowed when not in use. kGreat jaclet to have with you at all times.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best rain jacket

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
tivie
Location: Orem, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought an Epic a few years back hoping for a lightweight rain jacket for backpacking and other adventures. I was very skeptical of the thin material and was pleasantly surprised at the waterproof capabilities in the first week. A torrential downpour started at my house so I put the jacket on and literally stood under the downspout of my house to test the jacket. I got pounded by water (think 12 garden hoses on full blast) and was completely dry when I took the jacket off.
A few months after I got mine, I bought one for my mom because she liked it so much. Now we are shopping for an Epic for my husband because he has been so impressed with my jacket.
I love the range of colors now offered. My first jacket was a violet color (similar to Nebiola) and I love it! Mom's was a sage-ish green (not as bright as the current greens), then I bought a spare on sale in a peach color (not my favorite, but still a nice color).
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely keeps you dry.

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
I bought a second jacket in a different color because the first one passed the rain test in Oregon very well. Buy it a little large so you can put a warm fleece under it, and you're set for cold, rainy weather. The hood is built in such a way that the face stays dry, too, but you have to be careful if you're walking in traffic since your side visibility is lessened. Great waterproof jacket!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kitty
This jacket is really great so far. I've been wearing it in the unpredictable New England weather and I have stayed dry everytime. It fits great...I got a Medium and I usually wear medium shirts. The hood fits so well around my head that when I have it up during the rain and big gusts of wind came, it would stay put. I do wish there was an inside pocket but that's it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rain coat

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
tinyhiker
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
I love this raincoat. I am 5'4" and 110 lbs and the XS was a perfect fit through the body and sleeves. Normally I find sleeves to be too long on coats and this was perfect. The blue is a bit lighter in person but really pretty. The hood is big enough to still cover over your face even with a pony tail.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dany
Love it! The jacket fits perfectly and is feminine not overly huge and baggy. Works great in wind and rain. Just got back from the beach and it was awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.