Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Zahra™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Women's Zahra™ Jacket

Women's Zahra™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 9(89%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Women's Zahra™ Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Zahra™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The perfect color ski jacket

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
skiOregon
Location: Portland, Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lightweight and warm, with ample vents. Perfect for a full day outdoors. The fit is true to size. Only issue is the right arm seems to be a bit shorter, maybe it's the insert with thumb hole, or maybe my right arm is longer than my left. The hood is amazing. Plenty of room for my helmet with a cinch cord to make it comfortable sans helmet.
I haven't skied in this jacket yet but look forward to doing so.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Zahra™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Waterproof, Great Size, Things to Improve

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
FrisbeeKim
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Female, 5'5", 140 lbs.
Bought for skiing in the very wet Pacific Northwest and wearing while playing sports in the rain at lengthy tournaments (5+ hours in the rain a day).
WATERPROOF: I wore this on a very very wet day on Mt. Hood, and it withstood the onslaught of rain and mixed snow. The water pilled on top rather than being absorbed into the fabric. The under arms, however, are made of a more breathable, permeable fabric, so they started to absorb the water towards the end of the day. A little concerning when I think about the longevity of the fabric.
FIT: I love the fit of this jacket. The length falls right along the hips in the front and covers the top of my bottom in the back. Plenty of mobility in the shoulders and chest. Roomy at the waist. Arm length is good.
HOOD: If you're worrying that the hood won't fit over your ski helmet, don't. The hood is positively huge. It fits over my ski helmet with plenty of room. You even have to cinch it down a lot for it to stay on on top of the helmet. When I wear the jacket as a regular rain jacket, I feel like a sith from star wars; the hood completely swallows me and hangs down in front of my eyes if I don't cinch it tight. On a positive note, the hood provides good protection/coverage on the side. It limits neck mobility a little, but I'll sacrifice that for the coverage.
FOR IMPROVEMENT:
WINDPROOF: Not really windproof. I wore this up on Mt. Hood on a pretty windy day (It wasn't a wet day, so I can't testify to the windproofness while it is wet). It didn't provide much more protection against the wind than a cheap rain jacket. Disappointing. I suppose this is because the jacket is designed to be so "breathable".
UNDERARM & SIDE PANELS: These parts of the jacket are made out of a different fabric. They absorbed water more than the rest of the jacket, and I think added to the susceptibility of the wearer to the wind. I really don't think these needed to be a separate fabric when there are pit zips for ventilation.
ZIPPERS: Although the zippers are really waterproof, they are exceedingly hard if not impossible to open one handed. This is particularly problematic for the underarm zippers, which by definition can only be executed one handed. It might help if the zipper pulls were bigger. They are hard to find if you are wearing gloves or mittens.
POCKETS: The openings are too small, particularly the Napoleon pockets. My hand just fits though the opening. My hand in a mitten? Forget about it.
OVERALL IMPRESSION:
Great jacket. Great waterproofness and fit, but the windproofness (or lack thereof), zippers, and pockets kept this jacket from being 5 stars. When I spend $400 on a jacket, I want it to be perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Zahra™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zahra is a very functional Jacket

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Frless
Location: Northern California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For the price, I would have expected a slightly more technical jacket... that is with a powder skirt and goggle pocket. That said it is a very nice jacket and I think my fiance is pleased with her Christmas gift.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Zahra™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shell

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
MDXM
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been wearing this Jacket for my winter sports for over 2 years. It was the perfect outer layer while summiting Mt Rainier and great for a windy day out back country skiing. Its light weight and easy to pack up and carry. I love that the hood fits over both my climbing and ski helmets! It is a little snug around the base if you have too many layers on is my only complaint.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Zahra™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome jacket

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
smgullufsen
Location: Juneau, AK
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE this jacket. Although the red poppy color is a tad on the pink side. Great jacket over all though.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Zahra™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth every penny

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ashlyn
Location: Chicago, IL
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this jacket after admiring it on a co-worker and could not be happier with my purchase. I purchased it with the intention of using it for a spring, fall, and winter (with a layer underneath) jacket, and so far it has satisfied me this cold Chicago spring. Keeping me dry in downpours, as well as fitting perfectly for both active and inactive ventures, I am so happy I got it! Plus, the pink color really brightens up cloudy days.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Zahra™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad pit zips

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
hopester
Location: Richland WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The coat is great quality but I am unable to wear it due to the pit zips making the sleeves extremely tight under the arm. I purchased a medium and it fits very small.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Zahra™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket!

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
mountaing
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket. Quality construction. Fits a little small, so I ordered a size up. Keeps you dry and wind proof, tested it out on the mountain at 9 degrees. Perfect
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Zahra™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy 'n Dry

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ebizzle
Location: huntsville, al
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
1) Runs small so try it on in stores or be willing to send back.I am a true Small in all other clothing and got a Medium in this jacket it fits perfect.
2) The thumb loops/cuffs are super soft though the actual loop for the thumb is a little small.
3)The hood is wonderful as it shifts with you head when you look in other directions.
4) Also note that the colors on the website (across all/most products) are darker than real life. I purchased a MH backpack last year and the blue on the site and in real life were significantly different color wise. Same with this jacket. I got poppy expecting burgundy or dark red. This is more a cotton candy/ blush color
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Zahra™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sleek Fit Runs Small

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tink1234
Location: Appalachia
This jacket has a lot of great features. I appreciated the soft and fitted cuffs at the base of the sleeves, the lined chin guard, and the sleek, feminine fit. But sadly the size runs small. I could only comfortably fit one thin layer underneath. Depending on how you want to use this jacket you may want to consider a size up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.