Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Chillwave™ Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Women's Chillwave™ Jacket

Women's Chillwave™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
4 out of 5(80%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Women's Chillwave™ Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Chillwave™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poorly

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
nmaster
Location: Morganville, NJ
Experience: Casual
Employee: Yes
  • Employee
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Oct 22, 2012 I bought Mountain Hardwear Chillwave Jacket L Black (Women's) for my wife.
In the first week use of the jacket Chillwave, feathers partially sticking out at the seams(I cleaned it every day). I did not attach any importance to this, and I thought that after a week or two it will end.
Now it's been three months, feathers continues to come out and it became more.
Down come out from all seams on the outside jacket. On the sleeves, the shoulder seams on the back seams. All the seat of my car constantly in feathers, the jacket looks messy.
I'm very disappointed.
I use Mountain Hardwear Absolute Zero Parka (Men's) and no problems with down.
But my wife's jacket is terrible!
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Chillwave™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This coat will keep you warm

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katnip
Location: Southwest Washington
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was going to the Ice and Snow Festival in Harbin, China and needed a warm coat. The weather is -20 degrees C and below during January. This was a perfect choice. It kept me really warm with several layers underneath. Zippers, pockets, hood, and all parts operated easily. This coat is also very light, which was important while spending many hours in travel and not needing to wear it all the time inside. I would recommend this coat to anyone looking to stay warm in sub zero temperatures.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Chillwave™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty warm

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
thedoggirl
Location: Anchorage, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I live and play outside in southcentral Alaska and I need sturdy and warm gear to stay comfortable in the winter. We've had a brutal cold spell of well below zero temps recently and I purchased this jacket as a result of reading other reveiws. I haven't been disappointed! The jacket is nice and warm...even keeps me toasty when it's my turn at the belay station. I'm 5'4 and 120 pounds...the small size is a great fit all around and leaves enough room for layers.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Chillwave™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Jacket Rules

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Magstar
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had to buy this jacket online without trying it on. I tried to find a store that carried it so I could try it out but all I could find was the mens jacket at REI. So I was a little nervous about it but I must say, I love this jacket. I like the patches of durable fabric in the places you need them. The hood is perfect and super adjustable. I like the inside pockets for my water bottle and wallet. The handwarmer pockets are awesome and warm your hands in seconds.
I bought this jacket over a more technical shell because I wanted something I could take backpacking, skiing, and climbing, and still use in the mornings to walk my dog when I don't have the patience to pile on a bunch of layers. I'm 5'4'', 120 lbs. I bought a small and it fits perfectly. I have plenty of room to wear a fleece underneath, which so far I've only had to do once on the summit of Mt Monadnock at 6am. The AirCore is great. Literally when you put this jacket on, you are in a separate world of warmth. If you are the kind of person who hates getting out of bed in the morning, this jacket is for you. It feels like walking around in a sleeping bag all day.
I've had it for a week now and I have found one small feather on my shirt. Not bad at all.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Chillwave™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is an awesome jacket

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
vidrio21
Location: Springfield, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket. It is warm and perfectly functional. The sleeves can be pushed up and will stay up, the water bottle pocket fits kleen kanteens perfectly and it stuffs into its stuff sack easily.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Chillwave™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

strange fit

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tetay
Location: Alaska
Nice coat but I was disappointed with the fit. I usually wear a medium or a small, so I ordered a medium. It fit very strange with the sleeves being too short and the body being too large, like it was cut for someone with an "apple" shape. I will be returning it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Chillwave™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Jacket!!!

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adersh2010
Location: Kent, Ohio
I live in Kent Ohio where it gets very cold very fast. I love to wear tee shirts year round but I was still cold with my other jackets. The Chillwave fixed that for me. I was wearing just a tee shirt and put the Chillwave on the other day when it was only in the 20s and was toasty warm. It also has a nice cut so it doesn't look too puffy. Its the best jacket I have owned.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Chillwave™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Womans Chillwave Jacket

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Berly
Location: North Conway, NH
Great fit, very lightweight, can't wait to try it on the slope!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Chillwave™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

warm sturdy jacket

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
slinquist
Location: Westchester NY
Substantial material vs Nitrous jackets/vests (not as soft) looks like it will hold up well! Small fits like a small with sufficient room for sweater or some layering. High down loft gives a bit of marshmallow look but not bad for a warm jacket. Length great especially if you are tall.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.