Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Principia™ Softshell Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Women's Principia™ Softshell Jacket

Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Recommended for rock climbers

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
MountainAir83
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket was much lighter than expected, and the soft inner lining was a nice touch for warmth. I'd say that this was designed with rock climbers in mind - the arms are definitely on the long side, but this is ideal for climbers. It was a bit boxy fitting in the torso, but that should make getting a mid-weight vest under it just fine. I ended up not keeping it (it was just a poor fit on me), however the functionality of the jacket cannot be argued.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flattering Fit

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Audrey
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flattering fit to the light soft shell. Material appears to shed light moisture well. Light fleecing on inside provides some warmth. Great jacket to throw in your bag in case the weather turns south.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good over-layer

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
mmoo4
Location: Baltimore, MD
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits a little larger than I expected but it's a great size for fitting layers underneath. Great material.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sleeves way too long

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
TahoeTam
Location: South Lake Tahoe
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This item is just average. For the quality it's way overprices and the sizing is weird. The sleeves have gorilla arms. The overall fit is still on the large size. Nothing special here.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angie7777
Location: Astoria Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love love love this jacket! I will start by saying it is not what I was expecting its a lot lighter than I anticipated. That being said it still keeps me very warm I bought a large definately could have gone smaller but big hoodies fit under it very well. It has xtra long arms which is so nice as other jackets expose my wrists brrr. You wont be dissappointed as long as you realize that it is light and not a heavy duty extreme weather jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Jacket Weight for windy/rainy weather

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shell25
Location: Salem, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a nice fitting jacket and I love the color! I ordered the red onion which is really a raspberry color (much lighter than it shows on the computer) I live in Oregon where weather can be windy and rainy so this will be one of my go to jackets.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pricipia softshell

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
yournewfave
Location: Montana
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is a beauty. I love the color. It fits a little snug, but it's still will work for fall or spring weather. I won't send it back.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cute fall/winter softshell!

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
trigal
Location: Washington DC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got the Principia jacket just yesterday and am already in love. My long monkey arms fit perfectly in the Medium, and the body of the jacket is just right for layering underneath or over. My favorite feature is the adjustable hood. So many jackets have hoods that flop back at the first gust of wind - this one stays put perfectly without making me look ridiculous. It's perfectly warm in 30-40degF weather with just a long sleeve shirt underneath it, but will definitely accommodate an additional layer. The front pockets are also deep and roomy - perfect for stashing your cell phone, wallet, keys, whatever!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Principia™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
rosann
Location: washinton state
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as advertised!
I would recommend this product.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.