Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket

Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs better quality zippers

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
csly
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is an awesome product as far as weight and warmth go. BUT...the second time I wore it, the cheap zipper separated at the bottom. I don't know whether to return it or not or have it repaired locally!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never gonna give you up

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Planegirl
Location: Portland OR/Smith Rock
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbelievable piece of gear! After just a week of ownership, I am still wary of the thin dimensions and featherweight wispiness when I don the Ghost Whisperer, but within seconds it puts those fears to rest and I relish the miracle of technology that surrounds me. I could swear that my upper body has been dunked into a mug of cozy hot chocolate, I'm just that happy wearing this jacket.
The jacket fits with enough room for a fleece or a couple of base layers underneath. I have broad shoulders, but it was not tight across the arms and shoulders as others have mentioned.
So far, here is the range of temps and activity levels I've put the jacket through while feeling warm and cozy, wearing just a midweight long-sleeved base layer underneath:
Slow walking around a campsite at 25F degrees. Stationary (belaying) at 40F. Hiking at 35F (it became too hot while headed uphill!).
It is surprisingly durable for its delicate appearance. I brushed it against some rough rock repeatedly this week, and there is nary a snag, tear, or scratch on the thing- thank goodness!
Bottom line, GET THE JACKET, AND GET THE HOODED VERSION. No beanie or neck gaiter can compare with the warmth of the hood on this jacket, not to mention the hood eliminates all gaps and chances of exposure to frigid winds. I would give anything to have a full ghost whisperer body suit....
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Selling my other down sweater

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Josh44
Location: Boise, ID
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is excellent. It is unbelievably light and the second you put it on you start to warm up. I've been wearing for a week now with temps in the 30's and it is just right for the moderate weather. The fit is really good its a little bigger in the body than I would like but I am 6'1", 170 lbs so almost everything is but the sleeves, torso length, and hood size are great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katie822
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket! It is stylish and perfect for a lightweight but warm jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very light!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
NJO4567
Location: Enfield, NH
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I found this coat to be very light and the fit was perfect. I bought up a size so that I could fit a heavy sweater under it. I am a teacher and spend a lot of time on the playground in all weather. I wanted a warmer coat and thought this would be it. While it isn't warm on the playground I know when I snow shoe it will be perfect. For this coat to keep you warm you need to be moving, so the coat does what it says it does just not what I had hoped it would do.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light as a feather

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
blueleaves
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I look forward to taking this jacket on my backpacking adventures since it is so incredibly light and packable. It is surprisingly warm given how thin and light it feels. I've been wearing it everyday in the winter weather, and it is great even on very cold winter days. I would layer up and add a fleece underneath and a shell on top for longer winter hikes or the coldest of days, but otherwise it works like a winter jacket without feeling like one. My only problems are that the jacket is tight around the shoulders/armpit area and is a little on the short side. I realize it is meant to be an athletic cut, but a *tad* more length would be nice. Everything else fits great, though and the drawstrings are a nice feature.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellence Achieved

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Flipf
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having had many a cold weather jacket, this one rates at the top, if not the top. fit is excellent, cut is very nice and the weight of the jacket is unbelievably
light. As been a very good investment and well worth the money.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Deep Down Warmth

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chilly
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So cozy warm and heats you up right away. The jacket is extremely light. My only concern is that I'm going to snag the thin material, I'd feel more comfortable if the material felt a little sturdier. I'm almost always cold so I've worn it every day since I got it, a great purchase overall.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

XL

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
onesandybeach4
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket, really light weight but extremely warm. I have had several comments ever time I wear this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Functional Jacket!

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
daHussy
Location: Huntington, VT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket fits perfectly- finally a jacket with the right sized sleeves! It's a perfect weight for wearing under heavier jackets or by itself for not-so-cold days. I wore it when the skies were spitting sleet and it kept me dry. My only complaint is an esthetic one- the down on the inside has some black feathers which you can see through the fabric.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Way too tight in shoulders/ upper arms

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
wookie
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was so looking forward to this jacket. but the way it is cut, it was super tight in the upper arms and shoulders. I am 5'2" and would not consider myself bulky or broad-shouldered. I would order up in size for this reason; I am typically a small and the medium was still tight in the shoulders for me.
However, is a super cool jacket if it fits you- feather light and seemed very well- constructed.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't be happier

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
kpeart
Location: Bellingham, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a day hiker, backpacker and also snowshoe. So far I have only used this for day hikes and for walking on the cold mornings up here in the PNW. I couldn't be happier with this jacket. It is lightweight yet incredibly warm. This sounds silly, but the moment I take it off its cold again, amazing for a jacket that weighs so little. I love that it stuffs down into the pocket as well, makes it a great thing to bring along for those unpredictable weathers days up here. The size is true to fit. I can still wear a layer or two under it if needed and because its so thin I can easily wear a rain jacket over the top. Overall I am extremely happy with this jacket. Looking forward to taking it up into the mountain this winter.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.