Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Solidus™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Women's Solidus™ Jacket

Solidus™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.308 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Solidus™ Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Solidus™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
JessiLee
Location: Denali National Park, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far so good. I bought this jacket for something to run in on cold mornings, but now I wear it all time because it is so beautiful and comfortable! I am tall and I love that the sleeves come down over my wrists. I ended up buying a large which is a little big, but doesn't look sloppy.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Solidus™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfy Comfy Comfy

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Audrey
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Loving this all purpose jacket. Works great as a base layer under a hardshell or by itself for pretty much any outdoor activity.
Also equally ideal for work, cruising around town or even sitting on my couch.
Not as much wind resistance as I was hoping for but it is a fleece afterall. Water resistance is okay for a finished fleece but not the best (again, it is a fleece jacket).
My Mom liked it so much I bought her one for her birthday - she thinks she looks "young and hip" with the thumb holes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Solidus™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent jacket but too large

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jeannie888
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is perfect for what I need: being active in the cold and snow. It is suprisingly warm for how thin it is and can sometimes even be too warm for longer runs in the winter. The cut and style of the jacket is very flattering, the sleeves are plenty long (even for people like me with very long arms), and the pockets are the perfect locations. The only reason why this jacket received four stars from me is because I originally ordered a small (which I normally where in Mountain HardWear) but it was much too large for me in the hips and torso area. I exchanged it for an XS and the fit is perfect, so I would recommend ordering the next size down from whatever you wear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Solidus™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERECT FIT

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
kristi33333
Location: ridgefield WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gave this as a Christmas Gift. It looked great on her and she was really excited to receive it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Solidus™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Color

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
MJudd
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Online, the color of the jacket appeared a deep pink. The jacket is very red. That's the only complant I have.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Solidus™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A little big

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
argoactkas
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am normally a size small (5'6 and 115) but I had to order a size XS in this jacket. It fits perfectly and is made very well.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Solidus™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Functional Jacket

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Denver, Coloardo
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Solidus jacket is very attractive and functional. I have been using the jacket in Denver Colorado's spring hiking and biking. It has kept me very warm. At times the wind does blow through, but only on gusts greater than 20 mph. I am able to go hiking in the morning and able to wear the jacket out on the town at night.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Solidus™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One to have in your clothing arsenal

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
CapnJules
Location: Bend, OR
Being 5'11, the jacket is a bit short. I think that the fit is great otherwise. I took this lovely jacket to Ouray, CO for some ice climbing in January '12. Great performer! It, with my other layers, worked well together in both good and harsh conditions. I like how it feels that I'm not wearing it. It moves nicely with me..almost like a second skin. Great breathability and kicks butt with the water repellancy! Cute to add! I also used it in very poor conditions while snowshoeing up a mountain. I was hot with my shell on, so thought I'd test the Solidus. It was bomber!
The things I would change? The hood needs to be a bit bigger in length and mostly sides for use with helmet. You can't move your head w/o the jacket pulling away for the side face or chin: not good in wintery weather. Drawstring at bottom would be nice, but not necessarily a must.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Solidus™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my favorite lightweigth jacket!

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
polarroamer
Location: Boulder, CO
Took this jacket to Greenland for 5 weeks fieldwork in July. I basically lived in the jacket and loved it. The jacket has a snug, but pleasant and graceful fit. It is lightweight and breathable, ideal for chiller times during backpacking and working in the Arctic summer (day time temps varied from the high 40's to low 60's). The tight fit means it is never in the way, and it is nicely long enough to not creep up from under a backpack belt or a harness.
While this jacket is not marketed as a wind stopper or wind breaker, I felt it holds up well in wind, for example when we were mountain biking around the small Greenlandic settlements.
I am sure it will be my favorite fall rock climbing jacket too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Solidus™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solidus Jacket

PostedMay 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
LyingGuide
Location: St George Utah
Also loved this jacket. The hood is great. The only thing I would want is a drawstring hem - was disappointed that it did not have one and it flares slightly which is kind of weird. Great in the wind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Solidus™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Instig8rGirl
Location: WI
Love the jacket, great as a light layer or under a puffy vest for winter sports like snowshoeing. The material seems thin and insubstantial, but the jacket is warmer that I expected it to be. I'm a big fan of the thumbholes - they allow my cuffs to stay put under my mittens or gloves. Nice big pockets to put stuff in. Love the two-way zipper too, as I'm a bit "hippy" and the zipper allows the jacket to fit over my hips a bit better. My one gripe is that the sleeves are a bit long for me. I'm between sizes, and the medium was skin tight, but the arm length was perfect. The large fits my body better, but the sleeves are a bit too long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Solidus™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Solidus Jacket

PostedOctober 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Murph
Location: Bishop, CA
I really like the idea of this jacket, long, wind proof, can wear it as outerwear or under another jacket. The fit is a bit odd-I think because of the fabric. The sizing is fine, but the fabric doesn't give as much as I thought it would so it feels a bit confining and doesn't drape very well-it bunches up in the back. So it doesn't look as nice on as I had hoped. However, it's a very practical jacket. Very long-which is great, warm, wind resistant, and the hood is nice and fits well-it would fit under a helmet. It would be nice for climbing in Toulumne or any breezy area. Seems like it would also be good as a mid layer for backcountry skiing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Solidus™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm and fantastic jacket

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
sc88
Location: cleveland, oh
I love this jacket!! The pockets are so large, the jacket fits me exactly right! Very warm and I'm happy i bought it!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.