Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Winter Wander™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Women's Winter Wander™ Pant

Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Review 1 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great functional pants, not form-fitting

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
TallSlender
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly functional, I can tell these are going to last 5+ years with signs of minimal wear. I'm 5'10 & the length is great - someone 5'11 would be fine.
Only complaint is that the pants have a lot of room in the backside. I love that there are pockets on the butt, however there's a lot of fabric, aka- saggy butt happens.
Having a lot of room in the butt of pants is not a common issue for me, don't feel like I have a small butt...just not sure why there is so much fabric back there. Otherwise, long enough and has great features.. just not "cute" and form-fitting.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally found "THE" pant

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Connie45
Location: Springfield OH
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I stumbled on to Mountain Hardwear while reading a review on a product from another website that sold a similar pant. I've been looking for this type of winter pant for quite a while. Couldn't be happier with my purchase. The fit is perfect and, although the length is a little long--30" (I wear a 28/29" inseam), I am completely satisfied.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChVt
Location: Vermont
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size was right on - love the overall fit/flexibility for snowshoeing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Pants

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amber11
Location: Northern Wisconsin
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Probably the best pair of pants I've ever owned. I've used them just for bumming around, cleaning the garage out, building snow forts with the kids, and for skiing (nordic and alpine) so far. The DWR finish repels water, coffee, and turkey gravy alike...I wore them 4 days in a row and they still looked like they had just been washed.
Some other reviews mentioned that the pants run a little small, but I feel like my normal size fits perfectly. They have a perfect amount of stretch to them, too. Definitely buy these pants!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winter Wander Pants

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tikibob
Location: Martinez, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pair of pants for travel and everyday use. Dressy enough for casual get-togethers yet warm and wind resistant for outdoor use. Plan to use them on vacations and winter travel.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fabric & comes in long!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kate48
Location: Washington
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
This pant was purchased for snow shoeing and activities with more movement. The fabric allows water to bead off. The stretch fabric allows for easy movement and the cut is very complimentary! I would suggest going down a size because of the stretch. This pant comes in long!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pant. Some sizing issues

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
MominPortland
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I also bought the old winter wander pant in a 4 (maybe 3 years ago) in grey. It fit great and I loved it-the waist was a little different than the current version. Then I bought the current version in a 4 and it was huge. I exchanged it for a 2 and still had to bring it in to be taken in at the waist. It is worth it because I can wear it cross country skiing, out walking or hiking in the snow and get away with it on a cold day at work. I am 5'6" 130lb, but small hips and butt.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Fabric, Decent Fit

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marti
Location: EC Wisconsin
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love these pants. My only beef is that the waist is a bit too roomy on me, but a belt helps. I have other Mountain Hardware pants that fit like a dream, so I was just a touch disappointed. I kept them anyway because I love the fabric and the construction of them. The pockets are stretchy and perfectly placed. They are snug along the leg but widen a bit at the ankle for a great look with boots. I had company for several days over the holiday weekend and things were just hectic. I wore these pants pretty much straight for three days in a row. Cooked Thanksgiving dinner in them, wore them out for drinks later. Day 2, we went to the farm and ended up hauling bales of hay outside in 30 degree weather… wore them home the next day and went for a long walk with my neighbor. She said, "Wow, you didn't need to spiff up for the occasion, those pants look awfully dressy for just a walk." They were three days of HARD work dirty and still looked fresh from the dryer. Love Them! They fit about as expected for a size 6 except the mentioned wider at the waist aspect. I bought the 6-34 first but returned them because they were WAY too long. The 32's are plenty long for me, to cover heeled boots, where as other Mountain Hardware 32's are just at the ankle and work with lower shoes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Length

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaggieO
Location: Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wish that they were at least 2 inches longer!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't Go Wrong

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lindzi
Location: Durango, CO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Received these pants in the mail and worn them for a week straight. The pants haven’t stretched out or lost their shape. The fabric is very durable and warm, I spilled coffee on my pants and it slide right off not even leaving a mark on the fabric. Im 5'2 and the 30 inch inseam fit perfect. Great for indoor casual wear as they look very nice with clean lines or outdoor activites during cold months.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ktcolorado

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
ktcolorado
Location: Montrose, Co
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
I have the older version of the Winter Wander pants and really like the material for warmth in cold/wet weather.
I loved the new style on these pants but was disappointed in the fit. I'm 5'2" 117 lbs and usually wear a 4 or 6 (depending on the type of pant leg and waist fit). I ordered both sizes (in different colors) and they were both HUGE!
I have reordered a size 2 in black and really hope it will fit!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice pants!

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
ams321
Location: Carlsbad, NM
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really like these pants, they fit a little larger than most pants so I had to send my first pair back for a smaller size, and they are actually still a tad big but that's what the adjustable hem is for! Really comfy and great for some colder and wet weather.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

X-country skiing

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Naomi
Location: Salem
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This women's wander pant is excellent for x-country outdoor activity. The material allows for ease in movement yet warm enough to keep you warm. You could even put another top layer over them if the wind gets really wild! Finally a pant length that is not too long for shorter folks.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love the material and fit

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
10sAnni
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wear these for any activity! Multi purpose and comfy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these pants...hate winter!

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
DesertRunner
Location: Southern Utah
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a desert rat and run from even 40-degree temps. But recent travels took me to my beloved Bishop, CA, where the nightly temps were expected in the mid-20s. Oh yeah, plus some wind! I didn't take these pants off for 4 days and only needed long undies once.
They're made of a thick softshell-like material, not lined. Spilled coffee and it just beaded right off. Might have to seek out some snow now that I have these. Well worth every penny!
Only thing I don't love is the sizing. I'm 5'7" 120 lbs pretty straight and proportional. I bought a 4 short (30" inseam) and the crotch is about 3-4 inches too low. MH makes bigger cuts, I know, but I couldn't find them anywhere near me to try on first. Wish they were just a little more fitted.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Winter Wander™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pant - too bad about the size options

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
srvancouver
Location: Vancouver, BC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love MH pants and have taken them everywhere from Africa to 12 day backpacking trip along the west coast. This pair is no exception.
Comfortable, functional and the black is clean looking enough that you can wear it as a travel pant (I bought it to wear on my honeymoon in Europe...in the winter). The water resistance is great if you're out and about in rain or snow a lot.
The only issue I have is the sizes. They aren't consistent from pant to pant (so if you wear a two and it's loose in one style, you may need a four in another style and it will be tight. It took me 3 tries and 2 stores to get a size/length I could keep.
The other problem for me is the 2 is really fitted, fine for summer but...no room for long underwear. The next size up is a 4 - I need a belt to keep it up and even then, it's no where near as flattering as the 2 was. Unfortunately, since I need room for the long underwear for warmth, I'm stuck wearing a belt every time with these pants. Hey MH...how about a 3?
The pants are still worth buying even if you need to wear them baggy...just would be nice to have more options.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.