Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket

Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket!

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ana666
Location: Mill Valley-Ca
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I bought my first Infusion, then my teenager daughter, staters wearing mine and I bought a second jacket? I've worn it in heavy cold rain, it kept me warm and dry. We both wear our jackets all the time. I just don't understand why MH no longer makes this product. It's soft breathable fabric. It doens look like pastic, it's the best jacket, I've own!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

unusually big in the chest

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
KBC43
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is great as far as materials and functionality, but it is poorly designed on the chest/breast area. I have owned prior model of this jacket, and I love it. This year's is poorly cut.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazingly Waterproof!!!

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy
Location: Portland,Ore
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I went out for 3.5 hours. It was 55 degrees and it rained the whole time. I had the hood on and I wore the quilted skirt with my rumming pants and I was dry and comfortable on the inside. If it was going to soak through it would have. I had water dripping from my face but had a great run. The jacket is too short to keep your butt dry so I recommend the skirt to go with it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't fit like last years model

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stefar
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This model is a smaller fit than last years model and the material feels stiffer and pouches out in the middle. I returned it.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost...

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
threezonies
Location: San Jose
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the feel of the jacket. It is very lightweight and comfortable. I do miss pockets though and an adjustable hood. I know that would make it heavier but I'd rather have the extra weight than do without those items.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Van2rocker
Location: Orinda, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is a keeper! Love the lightweight, rainproof, sleek look!
Bought 2. First year model was true to fit. This new one runs a bit larger, but can handle a long sleeve layer underneath instead of just a wicked light tee. Love them both, especially the skybox color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

lightweight and very flexible

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
gocubsgirl
Location: Beaverton, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the most flexible jacket I've ever owned and so far is waterproof. I bought this for biking to work in drizzly Portland. I've found a very thin fleece with lots of heat from Columbia that fits nicely under this one and will be my go to combo for most days.
I like how the water beads up, would like to see how it holds up to heavy rain (which is where my other jackets have failed), but I'm assuming from the other reviews that it will be just fine.
I also like that on rides where I would normally overheat even in the rain, I can keep the water off of me and ventilate by zipping the bottom of the zipper behind my back.
The only complaints I have about this jacket are that there are no pockets for your hands, or any way to attach gloves to my jacket when hanging it up. And it doesn't have any way to adjust the hood to be tighter, and it seems to have already stretched out of place after just 2 weeks.
With those two additions I would give it a 5 across the board. :)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

rain wear jacket with stretch

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linapoe
Location: Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lightweight jacket with strech, great for movement, use it for golfing, packable and proved it's self waterproof. Good fit witout added bulk around hips
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice waterproof jacket for running

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
jcyyxa
Location: Portland, OR
I have been searching for a waterproof (instead of water-resistant) light-weight jacket with hood for running in the Pacific Northwest and I think I finally found it! The fabric is soft and stretchy. The color blue is pretty.
My only complaint is that at 5"4, 105 pounds, size S feels tight on the back of my shoulders and on my forearms when layered over a long sleeve running top. I do have wider shoulders compared to other size S ladies though. I don't like feeling constrained when running, so I exchanged it for a size M.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect Layewr

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
slcskier
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
As a person who spends a lot of her time outdoors I appreciate a layer that works for all activities and is small enough to carry everywhere. Whether skiing the backcountry, running, or just taking a walk this lighweight jacket works perfectly and I love having a hood! On those windblown days it makes all the difference in the world. I'm a little in between sizes but don't mind it being slightly big for when I put it on over some layers. It's the new favorite go everywhere jacket!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effusion Hooded Jacket Women's (m) orange

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sue2012
Location: Portland OR
I love my new jacket! Waterproof and light weight. The orange is just the color I was looking for,
for road running visibility!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Seattle, WA
I bought this jacket because I live in Seattle and wanted to continue running through the rainy fall, winter, and spring. It has ended up being one of the best purchases I've ever made. It's light-weight (so light!), the hood is snug enough around the head and chin that it does a good job keeping the wind out and it doesn't slide back off the forehead at all. The jacket is wind-proof and waterproof. I sweat in it, but it's not uncomfortable, and I still look girly cute in it (I have the light blue one). I have a size S and it fits me perfectly although I guess if I had to come up with one complaint it would be that I could use a tiny bit more looseness across the back of the shoulders and down the arms. I may be slightly more broad shouldered compared to other size S's though. All in all, perfect jacket! So happy I got it! Worth every penny!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effusion

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: SLC Utah
This jacket is awesome. Movement is not restricted at all, it breaks the wind, and looks great. It's not a super warm piece, but if you're doing something aerobic it does the trick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm throwing out my old jacket!

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reddrabbitt
Location: Park City, Utah
My old Columbia jacket was always wet on the inside. NO MORE! Fit is great. The orange color is a little bit darker/richer than is shows on my screen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Effusion™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Fabric, Fit is Very Trim

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Taijlored
Location: Saginaw, MI
I have quite a few jackets with this sort of material but none of them have hoods. This one works well in that regard but only with the lightest of layers underneath. If you don't want skin-tight, and you're on the border between sizes, buy the larger size. Nice fabric and will be useful next summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.