Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's La Strada™ Short

Mountain Hardwear Women's La Strada™ Short

Sleek and stretchy nylon short for the practical traveller. The La Strada Short is made from durable stretch fabric and has an inseam gusset for movement and comfort. Blend fabric is quick-drying and has a DWR finish to repel water. Side piocket with zipper for secure storage.
Overall rating:
4.154 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
10 out of 13(77%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Women's La Strada™ Short
Review 1 for Women's La Strada™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for travel

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
StrikingG
Location: Pacific Northwest
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shorts are well made and fit very nicely. The cut is longer than other shorts this season which makes these excellent for modest travel. The fabric washes well and doesn't wrinkle. Although made nylon, the fabric stays cool in hot weather. I would highly recomend these shorts for travel. I would love to have a pair in navy or other colors. Thanks Mountain Hardwear!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's La Strada™ Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

too stiff, uncomfortable

PostedJune 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
watergal
Location: lake tahoe, California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
I bought this item for kayaking. Thought the size/wear would be similar to Yuma II pant. Very little stretch and cotton pockets which stay wet too long when splashed. Not suitable for my use. I am returning. If it hadn't been so tight I might have kept for hiking.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's La Strada™ Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Doesn't work well for my needs

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
Mandymay
Location: Portland, Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
too big around waist, zip pocket is awkward for phone. Back pockets closures make difficult to put much in. Zips would make more usable. I purchased for travel and am disappointed in the functionality and technical aspect.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's La Strada™ Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

What I was looking for BUT...

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
RuthE
Location: Reno, NV
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A fabulous pair of shorts for the active individual, something I have been looking for for months BUT why why why did you skimp on the zipper??!! It does not stay up under regular use, let alone climbing, hiking.. or anything that isn't following a linear path (and even then it will drop). You were close Mountain Hardwear, so very very close to having the best shorts on the market. Fix the zipper and I will buy every color!
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's La Strada™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shorts I've worn in a while

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sami
Location: Champaign IL
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these shorts! They are just the right length, they have just the right stretch, and just the right durability. Best shorts ever!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's La Strada™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shorts - a little big

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jend
Location: Silverton, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 6'1" and recently transitioning from a 12 to a 10. I bought these in a 10 and I have plenty of room. I tried an 8 as well but they were a little too snug, I prefer a loose fit. But I have not worn a size 8 since high school so these are definitely sized big. Love the short otherwise and have it in two colors. The black is really nice looking and can be dressed up a bit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's La Strada™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super comfortable for activity

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
kjpa
Location: monterey, ca
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these shorts. I bought 1 pair and then liked them so much I had to buy another pair in another color. Great fit, comfortable and bit of stretch makes them great for more activities. I will buy again in the future.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's La Strada™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the perfect shorts

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kimmy
Location: Gloversville, NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased these shorts in khaki. Loved them soo much that I ordered them in black and gray also. The style is very flattering and the fabric has just enough give to make them very comfortable. They do run large, so order 1 size down.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's La Strada™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love for girls with figures

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
CopperS
Location: Chicago, IL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have hips and thighs and shortwaisted, too - no straight figure here - but not overweight. These shorts have a great fit on all points. They run maybe a 1/2 size large. I normally wear a 12, which does fit, but I ordered 10's as well. This is because the shorts do give as you wear them. I have to wear a belt with the 12, but the 10 is fine. Excellent material, but does have nylon so there's some "swishing". Doesn't bother me because these are performance shorts. No bunching and no wrinkling. Great at sweat wicking and good for really hot days on the trail. Also, I got a good whack with a thorn bush and there were no snags or tears, and it repelled the thorns, too! Dirt brushes off and they don't stink after a day of hard work. Very happy.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's La Strada™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love these shorts!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
leslie55
Location: Portland
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the second pair of these shorts that I have purchased. I have them in stone and in cordovan. They have been my "go to" shorts for the summer. They are both comfortable and attractive. I love the stretchy fabric and the long length!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's La Strada™ Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

awesome fabric

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kate51
Location: Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I loved the fabric these shorts were made of. However, the fit did not work for me. I prefer shorts that have a bit longer rise and rest closer to the waist. It is personal preference for my body type. At 5' 2" I probably would have shortened them as well. If these shorts were modeled after the shorts in the Ziwa convertible pants by Ex Officio they would have been perfection. Sadly the Ziwa does not have a gusseted crotch. If Mountain Hardwear comes up with a different style that would work for me I would buy in a heart beat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's La Strada™ Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shorts I've bought in years!

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
cambridgebaker
Location: CAMBRIDGE, MA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable, fits just right, and they're the perfect length!
I wanted shorts which cover, knee-length (I'm 5'6"), have the stretch for climbing, doing yoga, and just plain moving around, as well as fit well. These have "hit the home run"! I didn't think it was possible. I love the back pockets. Left one is little deeper, bigger, but the right one is zippered for security! The little bit of mesh at the bottom of the front pockets means they "lay flat", and water drains away, no matter what is in them. I'm ordering another pair in a different color!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's La Strada™ Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

These are about one or two sizes too big

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
willis
Location: MD
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Order down. I could not do that since I ordered the smallest size they had.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.