Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Downtown™ Coat II

Mountain Hardwear Women's Downtown™ Coat II

Downtown™ Coat II
Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
6 out of 7(86%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Women's Downtown™ Coat II
Review 1 for Women's Downtown™ Coat II
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a dissapointment

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
JS47
Location: Washington DC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This coat has such a small amount of down in it that I can't imagine how it is supposed to keep anyone warm in really cold weather. There were parts of the coat that felt so thin between my fingers that they seemed to have almost no down at all. What a frustrating experience it has been to find an attractive women's coat that will actually keep me warm! So far no luck.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Downtown™ Coat II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super-Stylish Parka

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Zenyatta
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Some parkas make you look like a unisex Abominable Snowman, but not this one. The fit is perfect - it's contoured; the sleeves are long enough and the hood fits so that it doesn't blow off in the wind. I adore this coat and love the way I look in it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Downtown™ Coat II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect comfort coat

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Libby
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat. It is perfect for MN "polar vortex" weather because of the longer length, hood and down fill--very warm without being too bulky or too warm. I especially like the coat's light weight and soft fabric which make it extremely comfortable to wear. I also like the simplicity of it's design. It is a great coat for everyday activities in various degrees of cold.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Downtown™ Coat II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best gift

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
silvia42
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this like two weeks ago, and we are having an awful winter here at Pittsburgh and this is been the best gift ever. It's really warm, very good isolating and it fitted perfectly. I bought xs for your information I am 5'4 and weigh 120 pounds.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Downtown™ Coat II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

From the moutain trail to the city street

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
FitbitAmy
Location: Bloomfield, NJ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Review of Mountain Hardware Downtown II Coat
I purchased this coat for dog walking and hiking. I wanted a longer coat that would definitely cover my hips, but be short enough to permit plenty of movement while walking uphill and climbing over logs. I chose size medium - at 5’6” size 8-10 pants, size M/L top, I feel I am at the top end of the size, but I was swimming in the large. The drawstring at the waist will make this coat more form fitting on smaller women.
I used the coat under a variety of winter weather conditions. My observations follow ...
First test:
It was 1 degree farenheit with wind chills between 25-50 below zero. Under the coat I was wearing long johns under cargo pants, wool socks inside boots and a medium weight cashmere turtleneck.
There is less down in the arms than the torso of the coat. Initially, I could feel a chill on my upper arms. For days this cold, I would recommend 2 layers under the coat. After about 10-15 minutes walking, my arms still had a mild chill, not cold or too uncomfortable, but my body was totally warm and cozy. After about 20 minutes I started to feel the cold on the front of my legs from about 2 inches above the hem of the coat to the knees. My hips and buns were fine.
In the wind, no air got up the sleeves. There is a cuff inside which works well to keep the wrist sealed. The neck is quite snug and the collar is high up to the chin. When I pulled up the hood it fits nicely around the face and no wind got in around it. I had to unzip the top of the neck a little so that it was easier to pull up the hood. The zipper pulls are of a size that can be operated while wearing gloves, which is nice. I was wearing a hat underneath and the combination was toasty. I had to wrap a scarf around my face because it was so cold.
Second test:
Same basic outfit. 19 degrees, very little wind. No need for face scarf. The hood and collar kept me nice and warm. I still noticed a little chill on the fronts of my upper arms, but as I kept moving, the cool sensation dissipated. When walking uphill, I was toasty and warm all over almost to the point of being too warm.
Third test:
42 degrees, damp, breezy. No extra layers of clothing, just leggings and a light wool top under the coat. I was very comfortable hiking in the woods. I pulled the hood up when needed and easily regulated my temp in response to the wind.
Summary:
As the name suggests, this coat is a dream for running around town - in and out of shops and hopping in and out of an SUV without having to unzip from the bottom. If you are planning to wear the coat when standing still outside, such as at a parade or sporting event, you will definitely need 2 layers underneath. For that type of activity, I would prefer a full-length down coat.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FitbitAmy
Bloomfield, NJ
 
Please wait while more information about FitbitAmy is loaded.
Additional information about FitbitAmy could not be loaded.
Laundering instructions incomplete
Posted February 9, 2014
After wearing this coat a lot this winter, it got dirty so I followed the manufacturer's washing instructions to a T. They left out an important step (which I discovered by searching, "How to re-fluff a down coat").
ADD SOMETHING - SUCH AS A FEW CLEAN TENNIS BALLS or CLEAN SNEAKERS - DURING THE DRYING CYCLE.
This breaks up the clumps of feathers and helps to maintain the loft.
I did not do this and the down clumped into globs the size of silver dollars.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Women's Downtown™ Coat II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

womens downtown coat

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Moe6
Location: Yakima, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bought this for my daughter that lives in Boston and she has called me twice to say how awesome it is!!! With a -20 windchill she is warm and toasty in this coat. She LOVES it!!! And it fits her very well and is so so stylish :)
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Downtown™ Coat II
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is a great coat!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
carol53
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received this coat for Christmas 4 days ago, and I've hardly taken it off! It is so cozy and warm, but somehow manages to not be too warm. I wear size 6, ordered a SM and the sleeves are perfect length and it is plenty roomy - I usually wear a tee and a sweater under it. It's great in the light rain, too. The hood stays up nicely and I love the soft cuffs around the wrists. I'm very happy with my new coat.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.