Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Parka

Mountain Hardwear Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Parka

Ghost Whisperer™ Down Parka
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Parka
Review 1 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Parka

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
WaGal
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mountain Hardwear clothing always seems to fit me very well, and this parka is no exception. It is incredibly light, yet cozy warm. The sleeves move freely without causing the parka to move up. The hood (despite not having cinches) fits perfectly over my head and stays put and will definitely help with warmth. The hand warmer pockets are excellent with soft material for the back of your hands (I wish it was on both sides of the pocket...but it would make the jacket bulkier so I can understand not having that). There's also plenty of space to stow things internally with a big open pocket and zipper pocket. I love the soft material at the neck (inside the zipper) to protect your face. The internal wrist material is top-notch as well. A lot of thoughtful details went into this parka. I personally love the sheen on the black as it makes it dressier and more fashion-forward. I think it's flattering. I'm 5'6" around 135 pounds and the medium is perfect in the shoulders, length of arms and overall length. It definitely runs true to size for me...with room to layer underneath. I did not purchase it to be skin tight, but it definitely gently hugs your shape for a flattering, non-puffy look.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Whisper light and warm!

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Artsygirl01
Location: Kansas City
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got this coat and I love it! It is so light it doesn't even feel like I'm wearing a coat and it is toasty warm - I wore it in 30-degree weather - and feel like it will still be warm when it gets colder this winter. It's awesome!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Who would believe something so thin could be so warm!

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
KTabes
Location: Chicago, IL
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have already had sub-zero wind chills here in Chicago this year, so I am happy that I have this coat. Thin enough to layer under a lightweight wool wrap coat for a more formal look, but certainly trim and warm enough on its own.
I had a moment of hesitation as I took it out of the box, as the black parka looked suspiciously like a trash bag, BUT as it unfolded and opened up it looks great.
Thin, super warm, great hood, soft cuffs and hood edge, sizable pockets and covers my backside.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Parka
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not attractive at all

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
smk41
Location: St. Louis, MO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I had high hopes for this coat, however, when I took it out of the box it looked to me like a black trash bag. I cannot speak to the warmth or function of the coat because I did not try it out. I could not get past the aesthetic of it and sent it back.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite jacket!

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaryinMinny
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket to get me through long Minnesota winters and I absolutely love it! It is perfect to wear with a dress into work. They grey color is great and it is amazingly lightweight and well made. I love that they went the extra mile and put soft inner cuffs on the sleeves and soft fabric around the zipper. The shape is very flattering. Well worth the investment!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful jacket!

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
WyomingGal
Location: Lander, WY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a wonderful jacket for Wyoming winters. I purchased it to wear to work, meetings, dinners out. It's both stylish and functional, ultra lightweight and fits perfectly. I like that the small that I purchased is fitted around the waist, but not so much to be tight (I'm 5'2", 123lbs). My only suggestion would be to add about 10-15% more down. My experience so far is that it is comfortable to 10 - 15 degrees, but it would be nice for it to be just a little warmer and be warm to 0 degrees.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight, Warm and Stylish

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
NewYorkerc87
Location: New York, NY
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket was incredibly light - I was surprised when I received it in the mail. It felt like I'd received a package of air.
I've stepped out in Storm Hercules (Jan 2014) in just this jacket and a Gap long-sleeved turtleneck under it and was still warm enough. Granted, I wasn't on the streets very long - maybe 5 minutes.
Many of my friends and colleagues have commented that they like the coat - it's gorgeous and fits well. Best of all - none of that weird down smell.
Great jacket overall! A purchase I'm super proud and happy about.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket for cold winter

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
LizB
Location: Shorewood, WI
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's so light I was afraid it wouldn't be warm enough for a Wisconsin winter. I'm happy to report it is. Very light. Extremely warm.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Erica1
Washington DC
 
Please wait while more information about Erica1 is loaded.
Additional information about Erica1 could not be loaded.
Posted January 1, 2014
Hi, was wondering do you need thick mid layers while wearing this parka during Wisconsin winter?
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
AZgal
Location: Minnesota
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first Mountain Hardwear jacket and I cannot say enough good things about it. My first thought was "wow, this is so light there is no way it will keep me warm" but after wearing it in 30 degree weather, I can honestly say this jacket will take me through the MN winter. It is one of the highest quality downs, very very light weight, fits beautifully, and it not bulky! I also love that it covers my bum. Well worth the money.
I would recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.