Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket

Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome jacket

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
cnorthcut
Location: Summit County, Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Living at 9200' in the Rockies, I wear jackets like this nearly year round, either as a layer or alone. I had another brand, and it wore out quickly. This is much better quality.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looked amazing

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
julia02116
Location: Boston, MA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered this coat in Sea Salt, and looking at the size chart I determined I was a small. I read the reviews, and then I ordered a medium as a couple of them had said the chest was a bit snug. When it came, I loved the look, the weight and it seemed perfect, except... It was too big. Much to big. When I went back to exchange it, they were out of the smalls.
I never got to wear the coat, but I felt it was well represented on the site and was definitely what I was looking for.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
geogypsy
everywhere,GEO
 
Please wait while more information about geogypsy is loaded.
Additional information about geogypsy could not be loaded.
;((
Posted March 5, 2014
I am so sorry ;(( I have had that happen before, and what a bummer ! people need to be very careful and exact, with their comments on reviews, so as to be helpful , not hurtful ;))
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Comfortable

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tina
Location: Medford, Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Jacket! Its super comfortable, I think I have worn it almost everyday that I have gotten it! Its perfect for layering and is a perfect jacket for the 30 to 45 degree weather where I live!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent light weight jacket

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tomi
Location: Utah
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket has worked wonderful! both as a light second layer under my regular ski jacket, and as a cruise around town jacket !!! love it!! it's my GO TO
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great light weight thermal jacket

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
loftygrin
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great jacket that for the weight, compact-ability and warmth in a synthetic jacket is hard to beat. Great for single layer warmth with a profile small enough to use as a layer for really cold times. Would definitely recommend this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Midlayer

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Etaina
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I love this coat a lot more than I expected! I initially purchased this to wear under my Mountain Hardwear Drystein jacket, but found it works great on its own, too. It's sleek and fashionable and fits like a dream. As a mid layer, it is a warm and comfortable partner to a wind proof shell and a cozier base layer. It doesn't add bulk at all. The temperature dropped to under 20 degrees while hiking, and I remained pretty warm! The Thermostatic is also lightweight and packable-- great for backpacking. I am 36", 26", 36" and ordered a small. No snugness anywhere. While I am 5'4", I have a hard time finding arms that are long enough. Mountain Hardwear gets it right! The Thermostatic is the perfect unity of fashion and function. What a great purchase!
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Featherweight Warmth

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rafa53
Location: Boise, Idaho
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I can believe that something so light can insulate so well. The cut is very flattering and the construction solid. This is a must have for any outdoors woman.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Chest too tight ...sadly

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fishon
Location: Alaska
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the coat but sizing is difficult if you are at all busty. If you are a Medium the chest is too tight when the rest is a perfect fit.
Large too big...
Would love 1-2 more inches in bust line---most folks layer and would never notice the additional space....
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
geogypsy
everywhere,GEO
 
Please wait while more information about geogypsy is loaded.
Additional information about geogypsy could not be loaded.
sizing
Posted March 5, 2014
it would help if you added your measurements ;) I completely understand as I am busty and petite, so I always look to reviews to help . I usually am med. to large, except eddie bauer or ll bean i am a small ! its so difficult ;( and pricey to try to order two different sizes at the same time...Cheers
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Loki123
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket is extremely lightweight, and looks good when worn. I was expecting it to be a little bit warmer than it actually is, but for the size it is pretty warm
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
smgullufsen
Location: Juneau, AK
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket far surpassed the Ghost Whisper jacket. Better quality but not as warm. At least it isn't transparent and it can be worn as a stand alone jacket. I ordered the red color in size small and it's perfect! Color is fabulous!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa123
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great very lightweight jacket. It seems too lightweight to be very warm. But when I put it on, I realized that looks can be deceiving. I can see this being perfect for colder weather when layered over a fleece. And because it's so light and thin, it won't be bulky for layering. I love it!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wind, I'm so over you.

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Aralani
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a warm, windproof, insulating "puffy jacket" that didn't make me look like a balloon. After many trials of different jackets and brands, I found this one. In two weeks, it's already been on a chilly autumn visit Zion National Park and a very blustery/cold weekend on the Oregon Coast. It completely cuts wind and keeps me pleasantly warm without cooking me, plus it's freakishly lightweight so I don't feel smothered in my jacket. The fleecy pockets are divine, and I love how the whole jacket can be scrunched up into its own pocket for easy storage (can't wait to use it backpacking!). My only minor gripe with quality is the quilted stitching, which frays a little more easily than I'd like. Still, it's a fab jacket and I can't wait to take it on many adventures!
The medium was too tight for my shoulders (I'm 5'10" with fairly broad shoulders), but the large is sloppy on me in the waist and hips. It allows for layering, which is great, but I'd like it to be a smidge more flattering. This is standard for me with most MH jackets, so it fits as usual.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
stinky
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket, light weight but very warm. Can't wait to buy the vest that is just like this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Thermostatic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm & cozy, light & comfy

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
malw
Location: Bend, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great jacket by itself and for layering. It is light and comfortable, without any bulk - yet very warm. The fit is good - though I would say ever so slightly on the small side (if you wear a women's size 6, I would go for the Med, unless you like it snug)
I love the quilt pattern on the jacket and the soft insides of the pockets.
A definite keeper for many years to come.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.