Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket

Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall rating:
4.467 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
24 out of 28(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

warm and light

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
FloraS
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got the graphite color and the actual product was a bit different than it was pictured on the website. The graphite color is very shiny. Shinier than I would have preferred. The zipper is a very bright fluorescent orange/pink color and not the magenta pink color on the website. However, it's very warm and light. I have been trying it on and asking my husband and kids what they think. Haven't decided if I will be keeping it yet. True to size- I am about 5'3", 130# and usually wear a medium, which is what I ordered. roomy enough to wear a thin sweater or fleece jacket under.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around functionality

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Geargoddess1
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am in Search & Rescue and am also a backpacker who is always interested in shaving weight without sacrificing function. This jacket is perfect. It's very light weight, packs very small and there's no reason in the world not to have it in your pack at all times. It's large enough to accommodate a couple of layers underneath it, yet still form fitting enough to function well as a technical piece of clothing. As with all technical gear, the material is thin so some care needs to be taken to make sure you don't put a hole in the outer layer.
Great product!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ghost Whisperer Down Jacket

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
JillfromMarin
Location: Larkspur CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Nice jacket but we decided not to keep it.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it. Functional AND hip

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
LaGansa
Location: Danville, California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
User submitted photo
I love this jacket. Bought it to layer under my shell for skiing but find myself wearing it around town it is SUPER light but toasty. I wear it around the house when I keep the furnace low. I have received many compliments on it. Fancy and hip enough to wear out at night to a restaurant. Folds into a tiny pocket so it is easy to tote if you are layering.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great so far...

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amber32
Location: Kalispell, MT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have tested this jacket on a few outings so far, but it's performed great each time. Backcountry skiing with cool starts (~15F) and windy ridge tops, with some additional layering, were not an issue. I'd expected this jacket to keep me warm to about low 40s or upper 30s, but I think it performs better than that (and I don't have much "natural" padding on me). Super light, compacts down very small, and I get compliments on the color (Sea Level). My only concern is the fabric seems delicate and prone to rip, but so far no issues. It could also be a touch longer in the torso, but arm length is great (I'm 5'7" with long arms). The real test will be during my month trekking in the Patagonia region this March!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So incredible, I bought three more colors

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chicago6
Location: Chicago, IL
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
This jacket is the perfect combination of lightweight comfort and amazing windproof warmth. I live in downtown Chicago and this jacket stands up like a champ to the brutal winds that blow in off Lake Michigan. The jacket construction offers unrestricted ease of movement which is awesome because many jackets with this level of warmth do so by constricting arm and upper body flexibility, especially in the elbows and chest. I am so in love with this jacket that I ordered three more in other colors.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ghost whisperer down jacket

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
ICMA
Location: Central Washington
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just recently purchased this jacket when we had single digit temps and LOVE it. It is so warm and light. Very comfortable. I have always trusted Mountain Hardwear and they have done it again. I get tons of compliments too. As someone mentioned before the Sea Level color is not as pictured but quite beautiful.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ghost whisperer jacket

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
senior
Location: MA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my jacket for the following reasons:
This jacket is so lightweight that I hardly know I have it on, but it's so toasty that of course I know I am wearing something.
I can pack it in the stow pocket and throw it in my tote bag for an extra layer.
The fact that the down will not lose its loft when wet is the icing on the cake.
Best jacket I have purchased.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great down jacket!

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
BB123
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great every day down jacket, not too hot and thick, but perfectly warm. I can wear it in 30 degrees or 50 degrees, and be comfortable. It is also so lightweight that it's easy to pack anywhere.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weightless warmth

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Erie
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I first learned about the 850 weight goose down jacket when I was in Jackson Hole Wyoming skiing. I took a ski camp there and wondered how the instructors stayed warm. The perfect combination was a base layer, 850 weight goose down jacket/sweater, and a shell. The best part about this jacket is it has no bulk or weight, so you can move comfortably without compromising warmth. I would have given the function aspect an excellent but the zipper sometime sticks and you need to be patient unzipping it. Maybe a lager zipper? I usually wear a small but found the medium was a better fit.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light and fashionable

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
KC3157
Location: Killington, VT
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This layering piece jacket is light and fashionable. I purchased a size L and am a size 10 or 12. The length of the sleeves are perfect and the jacket is light and very warm. I highly recommend this jacket as a layering piece or worn as light jacket on those cold but not freezing days.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

From around town to the mountains

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
N2SPORT
Location: Marin County
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
This cozy light weight easy to pack down jacket is perfect to keep the chill off for trips to the market or coffee shop. It's got great style and fits well, not baggy. Equally I love this jacket for road trips to the mountains. It's great in mild weather but doesn't like the rain. Serves as a great baser layer under a shell for cold weather skiing. Overall a home run for the wardrobe.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy travels!

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lena25
Location: Chicago, IL
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Way too cold in Chicago and way too warm in LA. This quick change artist helped me navigate both climates without taking up a lot of luggage space. Plus it has entertainment value. It amused my seat mates as they watched me cram the jacket into the pocket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Jacket

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
MWSTL
Location: Saint Louis
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great form fitting fit. Comfortable and great color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very thin insulated jacket

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
smgullufsen
Location: Juneau, AK
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The colors are way off on the insulated jacket. I returned the plum color because the zipper is a bright neon pink and was very blinding. Loved the color but hate the zipper color. I ordered the sea level which is a emerald green color (loved the color) but again color is not as pictured. This jacket is so thin you can see through it. Not sure how it will hold up but IF you want it you must air dry it. I hung it to dry then put in my dryer with a ball (tennis ball, dog ball, dryer ball) and fluffed it on air for about 20 minutes. It was like new again. I love how it's not bulky but concerned about how thin it is and how long it will hold up.
I always wear a small but should have ordered a medium in this jacket. Runs small too.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
duckfan2
Location: Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Light, warm & cuddly! I've received many compliments on the great style and color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Debating a return..MEH.

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
TMann
Location: Washington State
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was very excited to order this down jacket. It looked like a little more loft than the typical down jacket, but less than a "puffer" coat. Based off of the price, I assumed this would offer more in sizing, fit, warmth, down, and "wow factor." Unfortunately, it was disappointing to pull it out of the box. Its VERY thin, and even though its supposed to be high tech, I cant imagine it being very warm. There are places where I literally cannot feel any down between the layers. The photos are misleading and show a flattering fitted jacket, and this jacket is a a thin boxy square. It doesn't form fit at all, and is so loose it would leave a lot of space for colder air to push up under your layers. I do like the dark plum color, but the accents are a blazing hot pink. I haven't returned it yet, I think Im trying to convince myself to keep it as just a casual nonfunctional jacket...but I can't get over the price! VERY expensive for a jacket that doesn't deliver what it promises.
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Falls Short

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
AKHiker645
Location: Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was a bit let down by this jacket. Considering the hype at its arrival and the price level it fell into, I expected an excellent product: light, packable, warm, and versatile, which I would enjoy wearing. Light/warm = absolutely, like a feather in my pack, but I get the feeling the zipper on the stow pouch won't last long. Sizing = a bummer. I got a Small (5'8", 125 lbs), and the arm length is great, but it's wider and shorter in the torso than I'd like. Function = not what I hoped. I have to cinch the waist to keep it from feeling drafty in the wind. I'll wear/pack it on the trail, but I don't enjoy wearing it afterward on the town, as the fit's not flattering. I hoped this would be my new staple, but instead it's on the coathook far more than it's on me. I'd consider sacrificing its light weight for a product with a better fit and style.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Incredibly warm, a few improvements could be made

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lily
Location: San Francisco
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this jacket because I needed a warm, light coat that I could use in many situations. Warm and light, it certainly is. Still, the jacket feels fragile - it's shell is soft and translucent in the red color. I also found the small to be much too large in the waist, while too short in the torso; I am 5ft8in and generally wear a small/xsmall. Not to worry, though, I have a shell to protect me while this puffy keeps me cozy.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Comfy but not Cute

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
MarM
Location: San Francisco, CA
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
The jacket was very warm and cozy when I put it on. My complaint, however is based on it's aesthetic, which may or may not be a concern for others.
-I ordered the Tippet (lime green) color. The outer material was translucent enough to show different colored feathers inside the casing. I think that this made the jacket look unfinished and cheap. It looked like it should have included a liner.
-The fit wasn't feminine. It seems to have been cut to a rectangular torso shape (sans curve).
While these concerns wouldn't matter in the back-country, I'm looking for a multipurpose jacket that works for my city life as well (no matter how much less thrilling it is).
Small improvements would go a long way. This iteration, however, is going back to MH.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.