Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket

Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quality doesn't match cost.

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sally2166
Location: Spokane Valley, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The jacket was so light, I didn't feel like it would keep me warm in colder weather. Thankfully, I haven't had the chance to try it in anything under 25 degrees thus far. I was also disappointed in the construction of the jacket. There were multiple loose threads hanging off of the sleeves and I have noticed about 3 feathers coming out of the jacket. In my opinion, a jacket that has won awards and retails for $340 should not have these issues.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome jacket, inconsistent sizing

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
lbtrailrunner
Location: Portland
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Ghost Whisper - perfect warmth for its weight and packs away in its own pocket. Great to wear alone or for layering underneath a ski shell or rain jacket. The bummer - I had the black small from winter- was perfect. Ordered the new spring color - Nectar Blue in small- but was suprised to find it's wider and longer than the black one. It was too bulky to layer. Returned it and ordered the new Graphite color and found the same problem! Really bummed -- really wanted the Graphite.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ghost Whisperer jacket

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
pdxjxm
Location: Portland OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The fit is just right. I am 5' 5" tall and weight 129 lbs. The women's medium size was just right. The jacket is so warm that you don't need extra room for layering under it, making it stylish as well as functional!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hottest Sporting Jacket On The Market

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kimmie123
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After I bought this, I started seeing it everywhere. My hometown NFL team, The Olympians in the Winter Olympics, the bus, TV, etc. This jacket is not just popular and the jacket to own right now, but also it's purpose is served. It weighs the amount of a feather and scrunches up into a ball for packing. I've never had something so light weight keep me so warm. This technology is really something to invest in.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Truth

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Alliekins
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is THE TRUTH. The only item I would change about it is the lack of an interior or upper pocket.
Just took my dog for a walk in 19F weather with this jacket with a T-shirt underneath and the only thing that was cold were my hands. It would be nice if there were a fabric lined version for the less "hardcore" and weight obsessed, as ripstop feels odd against the skin, but I'm really too happy to care about details like that.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredibly light and warm!

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
AKSkier
Location: Albany, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE this jacket. It is extremely light and very warm. I got this for a layer to wear while backcountry skiing and backpacking since it is so light and warm (also, it fits easily under a shel and doesn't feel bunchy). Additionally, it stores into it's own pocket which is AWESOME for space saving in your pack. I bought this for outdoor adventure, but now I wear it all the time (to the store, walk the dog, etc.).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best jacket I've ever owned

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
HolgateGirl
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have an older version of the Ghost Whisperer (2010). It's the same quality, but doesn't fold into itself. I'm a person that gets cold easily and my ideal temperature is in the low 80s F. That being said, this jacket keeps me SO WARM and it's so lightweight. It's my uniform in the fall and winter in Oregon. I've worn it by itself, under a rain jacket, under ski jackets, used it as a layer when snow shoeing, and slept in it while camping.
I'm 5'8" with long arms and the small fits me perfectly. It's my favorite jacket of all time, and this is the jacket I would choose if I could only have one for the rest of my life. Seriously, it's one of the best investments I've made in a piece of clothing.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super light and warm

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
MirsJ
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just fell in love with this down jacket. It's so light and warm. Now I can't wear my other old down jackets - they seem too heavy. I actually fell asleep wearing this jacket yesterday and didn't even realize I was wearing it !
I ordered Gayser color. When it arrived, it has more green to it than blue shown in the picture, which I like even better.
I'm ordering the brown jacket as well.. (Oh here goes my saving..)
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
kevski
Location: Bozeman, MT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is so light, you don't even know you are wearing it. That being said, it is incredibly warm. It is the warmest down under jacket I've ever owned.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best puffy ever.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
MyshellParker
Location: Tahoe City
Experience: Core
Employee: Yes
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am yet to see another puffy that is lighter than this one. Seriously...it's incredible. This puffy goes with me everywhere and I do everything in it. Favorite layer beneath a shell in the winter and I end up wearing to do just about everything else. It's so light weight it's great to bring as an extra layer because you won't even notice it in your bag.
Did I mention how awesome the colors of the Dark Plum puffy are? Get complements all the time on it. Love the bright pink pop and dark plum so much. I have washed this puffy and put it through the wringer! It's held up great and keeps me super warm. Must have if you are into touring, backpacking, skiing, climbing...pretty much anything. Love it.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lightweight means LIGHTweight

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
linz
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket is definitely warm for its lightness, but it certainly also feels delicate. The pockets are thin and I'm afraid I'll rip them, though it hasn't happened yet in my first week of wearing it. The down around the cuffs seems to be thin, and the sleeves are very long on me (I'm 5'2 and I got a medium). But it does work well to be a little big so I can fit a shirt and fleece under it. I love the hood and the fact that it stuffs into the pocket! And the colorful zipper pulls are nice. Feels very high quality and well-made.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product! GHost Whiperer W/Hood

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
JRitch
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought one in a Mens Large and one for my girlfriend in a Womens Medium. She complains everything fits except its a little short around her stomach. A large is to big and a small is to small. I think people need to understand its used as an insulating layer. I love the product and would highly recommend. My only complaint is the price, I got a discount and I still thought it was expensive, Great product though!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Ghost Whisperer™ Hooded Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super light and super warm

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
ArcticMermaid
Location: Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket last year in bright red. I wanted something super lightweight but really warm, as I take it backcountry skiing and backpacking with me. It weighs almost nothing in my pack and takes up so little room, but when I put it on, I am incredibly warm.
The only problem with this jacket is the zipper. It broke within just a few weeks of owning it. I haven't sent it back yet because the jacket is too warm and perfect and I would miss it when it's out getting fixed, but I need to send it back before winter really hits again. I've been safety pinning it closed until then.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Lydia
New York, NY
 
Please wait while more information about Lydia is loaded.
Additional information about Lydia could not be loaded.
Light and Warm...durability problems
Posted February 12, 2014
I was given this coat last christmas 2012. It performed in warmth, weight, and water resistance. However, the zipper broke within two months. The quilting threads started popping out within two weeks. I started seeing a lot of nicks on the fabric, and although it has not ripped to date, I feel like it would easily get caught and rip off seam deeming it useless. I see the price of the jacket has gone up in the past year, and so I hope these problems have been addressed.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
yogachix
PNW
 
Please wait while more information about yogachix is loaded.
Additional information about yogachix could not be loaded.
helmet compatible
Posted September 26, 2013
hello! thought to ask if you wear a helmet at all (and most importantly) and if the jacked accommodates wearing it?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)