Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Downtown™ Coat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Downtown™ Coat

Downtown™ Coat
Overall rating:
4.818 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
Customer reviews for Men's Downtown™ Coat
Review 1 for Men's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific Winter Coat!

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
AlaskaDave
Location: Juneau, Alaska
I've lived in Alaska for 50 years, mostly coastal, with winter temps down to zero degrees, and often 20s, snowy, and wet. I bought the Downtown Coat a month ago when we were facing zero to 10 degrees, then two feet of snow. This coat is impressively well designed and constructed, with lots of attention to detail to keep you warm, like the knit cuffs and collar. At 6 feet and 180, it fits me extremely well, large enough for movement but snug enough for warmth. The amount of down fill seems just about right. The durable waterproof fabric is rugged yet flexible. The hood fits fairly well. Throw on the coat and you're good to go anywhere around town, with or without a fleece layer or sweater. And it certainly will serve for hiking and snowshoeing. Except for really cold and blustery, it will be too warm for shoveling snow. I'm very picky about garments, and I say, Well Done!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Massive!

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
GoFish
Location: West of Boston
This coat fits well but it is HUGE. Between the loft of the down and the waterproof shell it over it it just feels like to musch stuff to have on. It is really well put together and looks nice too but it is not for me.
Unfortunately it is going back.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All you want in a deep winter coat

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
batriq
Location: Connecticut
This is a fantastic coat - I bought it for my husband, who wanted something waterproof so he can shovel during blizzards, but still be fashionable enough to wear to work in NYC. It comes with adjustable inner bands to achieve the fit you want.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love This Coat

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
BronxZoo
Location: Bronx, NY
Bought this coat just before the coldest night, so far this year, in New York. wind chill close to zero. really glad I had it. Compared to last winter, I am much more comfortable in the urban jungles of the Bronx.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm Coat-

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bdlrvens7
Location: Boston
Coat is very warm and seems to be water proof. The coat is too warm to do anything active like commute to work by bike. I am 5' 8" 155 and a medium is slightly big, but that's to be expected since I fall somewhere in between a small and medium sized person. I think overall the coat has a pretty tailored design.
Only 3 minor complaints and one suggestion:
The coat's length makes getting into pants pockets a pain.
Sinching (sp?) the coat with the inside drawstring creates a strange looking indentation in the front.
The appearance is a little plain.
Suggestion: add pit-zips for ventilation. I know this is a city coat but if it ventilated better it could be comfortably used for skiing and other winter outdoor activities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Immelman
Vermont
 
Please wait while more information about Immelman is loaded.
Additional information about Immelman could not be loaded.
Posted October 27, 2012
So, you'd like to keep the insulation and waterproof shell of the Downtown Coat, but make it shorter, add pit zips, and jazz up its appearance. Have you considered buying a ski jacket and leaving the Downtown Coat the way it is?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Men's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best out there

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lake
Location: Chicago
Searched all over Chicago....bought other brands which were returned....found this on website. Absolutely perfect...fit,weight,style etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coat

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
This coat is very warm. I have worked for several hours outdoors in sub 30 degree temperatures and this coat did not fail. I would recommend this coat to anyone looking for a durable coat that will keep you warm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cozy everyday coat

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Guyd
Location: Bemidji, MN
simple, practical, and stylish this coat delivers warmth and function for everyday wear in chilly climes; be it the bone-chilling lows of the far north, or the bitter dry mountain winds, this will take it in stride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A wicked coat for the cold

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Zane
Location: Ohiopyle PA
For the last few winter seasons I had some trouble in finding a nice winter coat, or one that can withstand the harsh winds of western pa. I love Mtn hardwear equipment because its tested in the field. It works, it lasts and takes a beating. This coat is amazing in holding in heat and insulating. Great for wind, snow and rain. The fit is amazing. As soon as I got the coat I tried it on in 11 degree weather and began to sweat. I recommend this for anyone trying to stay warm with looking good in doing so! Mtn hardwear is amazing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome Coat!

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jaker
Location: Chicago IL
I have worn alot of coats but this thing is warm I spent many hours researching and looking to find something that best suits what i need. there is only one this that i would like that isnt on the coat a pocket on the sleeve i know there are two on the inside but it is really nice to store things in that pocket when i am out and about.
I bought this coat to battle the cold weather in my jeep wrangler while offroading and on my daily commute to chicago sitting on the train. I have always had a problem with Mountain hardware coats running small on me but this jacket is just perfect the price is a little steep but well worth the extra coin. it is a classy jacket but very functional at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Downtown™ Coat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality coat!

PostedNovember 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
nevermorebrown
Location: Chicago
Winter is finally here in Chicago and I could not be more pleased with my Downtown coat. Slim lines, fleece-lined pockets and sufficient insulation for stand-alone or layering, as well as a nice, long parka-like fit. I have bested the cold! Thanks, MH for a quality product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LA2012
Los Angeles, CA
 
Please wait while more information about LA2012 is loaded.
Additional information about LA2012 could not be loaded.
GREAT Jacket & a GREAT Color!!
Posted February 15, 2012
This is a SUPER jacket wih many functional pockets. No complaints what-so-ever. The Khaki (earth-tone) is a GREAT color (with a mid brown inner lining)...Easy to MATCH any other clothing and is for almost ANY occasion; the subdued "Mountain Hardware" logo using a slightly matching light brown color is a definite CLASSIC...Too bad there is no other khaki colors in the mid-weight/length jackets for ALL season. Go Khaki! This jacket has the best winning shade of Khaki compared with other competitors hands down. Thanks for daring to push this earth-tone color out this season. Can you consider coming out with a mid-length jacket as well...for the sporty folks! You can put out the same jacket but with half the length...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)