Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Power Stretch® Glove

Mountain Hardwear Men's Power Stretch® Glove

Power Stretch® Glove
Overall rating:
4.24 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
8 out of 10(80%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Review 1 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor seams - thumbs

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
ThomS
Location: Brighton, MI
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wore these gloves approx. 6 times. The thumb seams on both gloves started to rip apart. Not what I expected from Mountain Hardware.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power Stretch Gloves

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
bcjvj
Location: Austin, TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pretty warm/windblocking for the weight. Don't like the huge tag sewn into the seam joining the wrist and the cuff though.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good fit and material, little fraying

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paddleplayer
Location: Rye, NY
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like this glove- it's the right thickness for light coverage, say 30 degree weather if your active like running. I use them for outdoor platform tennis and they are not too thick so I can grip the racquet. They did fray a little at the finger tips on first use, but I trimmed with a scissors and they have since held up ok. I've played about a dozen times. Don't think they're going to last forever but priced reasonably so I'm alright with it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty sweet

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Magee11
Location: N.E. Utah
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought these gloves as a liner and to wear alone. So far they have been great. They do snag pretty easily on anything rough though. They really don't like velcro. The material is soft and warm. One thing I didn't like is all the tags inside the glove. I ended up cutting them off. Other than that, a must have. I will be buying another pair I'm sure of it. I WEAR them all the time.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mind the Velcro

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
SawtoothScott
Location: Boise ID
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a big fan of the Power Stretch fabric and I have not been disappointed in my purchase of these gloves. Warm for the fabric weight, these gloves are a good choice for those looking for a mid-weight liner or simply something to wear alone. I find them a little too bulky for my taste as a glove liner but I like them as a mitten liner. I most often wear them alone on cold days.
Be aware that this fabric loves Velcro. The little Velcro hooks snag this fabric better than any surface that I have ever seen. I scored the gloves slightly lower on function as a result of this Velcro affinity.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to remove those garment labels..YouTube video

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Snowcrazy
Location: NC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
These gloves are wonderful. Got them for my son and my father for Christmas. They both love them. Lots of reviewers were annoyed by the tag placement inside the gloves and we were also amazed and irritated by so much "clutter" on the inside. But it's so easy to remedy. Do NOT trim the tags out with scissors as it will leave a scratchy edge. Do purchase a little seam ripper from the sewing section at Walmart and see my YouTube video at the end of this review showing how easy it is to remove the labels. You will love these gloves once you get the labels out. The labels are stitched into the gloves after the gloves are sewn, which means the label stitches are separate from the garment stitching. You won't unravel your gloves by snipping out the stitches that run across the labels. Just be careful doing it. Regular scissors are too bulky. You can use a straight razor if you're super careful, but a seam ripper is the best bet and worth the tiny expense (about a dollar I think).
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Only good as a liner

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
chasblue
Location: nj
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not really a glove. Just a slippery unattractive inner lining.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight warmth

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
LEO333
Location: Southeast US
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These gloves are good for cool-->somewhat cold weather activities. They would also make great liners for ski gloves/mittens. Pay attention to the sizing chart or call a product representative. I typically wear a large glove, but the medium MH glove fits like....um, a glove. In my experience, they fit true to MH's sizing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best glove-insert I have ever worn

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Royrunner
Location: New Hope Pa
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I run outdoors all year long in all weather for 12 years+. These gloves are great by themselves or inserted into Windstopper shells. light weight, well constructed and the clip gizmo is a nice touch.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and slim if fragile

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
yarian
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These gloves are, all things considered, fairly warm. They are also thin enough to provide enough dexterity for basic tasks.
However, they are not as durable as they could be. Take care not to roughen them up or you'll soon have loose threads about.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wears out quickly

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
mh1234
bought these as light weight gloves for McKinley. Completely useless by end of climb as contact with velcro shredded them. otherwise, I liked them. But a big expense for 14 days of use.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Liner Glove Ever

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
59sprite
Location: Aurora, CO
After 40 or years of all kindsof outdoor adventures, these are by far the best liner gloves I have ever owned. I've tried all of the top name brands and most of them wore out very quickly, didn't fit right or weren't very warm. These gloves have just the right amount of warmth for their weight. I find that I can keep them on even when trying to do very small tasks. After two years of hard use the left thumb has just started to wear through but noneof the seams have come loose. My go to glove for all occasions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect cold weather running glove/liner

PostedJune 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ultraoldguy
Location: SLC, UT
These are great! The material wicks well, they fit tightly so I can manipulate gear, etc, and they fit great inside larger gloves for less strenuous activity. Only downside is that the stitching on one glove immediately started coming undone, and I had to re-stitch it and tie it off by hand. No issues since.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Men's Power Stretch

PostedMay 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
NPB2
Location: Washington, DC
Gloves were great. Took them to the top of Kiliminjaro, under mittens they provided warmth and dexterity. Great without mittens as another layer on colder days and at night. Highly recommended. I returned the medium's, the small's were just fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfy glove

PostedApril 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
JayD317
Location: Running Springs, CA
I love these gloves. I have owned to pairs now and will continue to buy more when those wear down too. The gloves rapid wear and tear was the only negative factor. After only three months, I had holes and fraying fabric. Despite the unfortunate decay, these gloves are great underneath belay and heavier gloves and perfect on a cold day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome value

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stoked
Location: Cascadia
I picked these up at REI as an afterthought a few months back...Best decision I made that day. Super comfortable and great wearing. I've beat the tar out of them already, with climbs, snow sports and day-to-day use, and they beg for more. I initially didn't think they'd be as warm as they are; I was very surprised the first ski trip I took them on. They allow flex and tacticility without sacrificing insulation like few others I've bought. Well worth the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Comfortable

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Drew
Location: West GA
These are very comfortable to wear, and have done a pretty decent job of keeping my hands warm. I don't give them five stars because of fraying and the fingers being a bit long for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Power Stretch Gloves

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
MtnGuide
Location: NY, NH, VT, WV, CO
The Power Stretch Gloves are a great option for brisk to cold temperatures. They fit well and retain heat efficiently for that reason. The fleece cuffs are quite comfortable and protect well against snow and ice accumulation under a jacket sleeve. They work even better as a glove liner in frigid temperatures and never seem to bunch up or twist under the opposing friction of an outer glove membrane. These gloves snap together with unobtrusive clips, located on each wrist, to avoid misplacing a glove in your pack or elsewhere. The fingertips show some signs of fraying and the fabric will pill, but only moderately. For their intended purpose, these gloves find their way into every cold weather endeavor I partake in. Great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just What the Doctor Ordered

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chappy
Location: Chicago
I wanted a warm, light weight liner and the Power Stretch glove is just what the doctor ordered. They fit under all of my hardcore cold weather gloves which is perfect because when you're out on the mountain and have to remove the outer glove your hands remain toasty warm. I've worn the glove by itself down to the mid twenties with a stout wind and was perfectly comfortable. They only downside is the material frays pretty easily but they're not meant to be used as a work glove so no surprise there. Awesome glove!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Power Stretch® Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power Stretch Glove

PostedDecember 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
ciccio
Location: Atlantic City New Jersey
These are very simply the best, most comfortable gloves i have ever owned bar none. I usually experience cold in my fingers with gloves on but not with these. They are truly something special. Love em'
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.