Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter

Mountain Hardwear Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter

Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter
Review 1 for Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Comfort at the expense of durability (commercial use)

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
PapaK
Location: The Midwest, USA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These were used approximately four times per week from August, 2012 to December, 1013. I design/build/maintain natural surface trails, and are for keeping the debris out of my boots.
Other brands of gaiters have lasted around three years before tearing on something, but I'd always purchased the entry level product. These are more of a mid-level gaiter, with the most noticeable improvement being their breathability. Quite important and appreciated in the hot and humid summers.
To my surprise, the arch straps are still in fine shape, even with all the walking in rocks that I do. I wish they would stay adjusted once their length has been set, but that's a minor concern. The strap anchor on the instep (buckles on the outside of the foot) finally wore through the material, which allows dirt to enter that portion of the gaiter. Debris is still kept out of your footwear, but there is no easy way to remove the dirt that is now carried around in your gaiters.
That is the extent of my complaining.
The velcro closures are working as well now as they did the first time I used them, the upper cinch has stayed put since the one time I adjusted it, and the lace hooks are still in fine shape. They can be rinsed quickly in a bucket, or really cleaned in the washer (I toss them into a laundry bag so the velcro doesn't snag on anything). They aren't faded, and look fine except for the wear on the instep portion.
These would probably last many years for someone who is a weekend hiker, or who volunteers as a trail builder.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

So So

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stelhed
Location: Wasilla, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Just used these on a goat hunt in AK and it was very wet. My pants were just as wet under the gaitors as above them. The thing I do not like the most is that they are like bell-bottoms and are too large on the bottom so they won't stay hooked in to my boot laces. Also I do not like that the buckle for the bottom strap is on the inside of your boot, right where you don't want it while clinging to verticle slopes. The top strap is a pain also, it's a pain to set up and you can't adjust on the fly, plain old velcro would be better....
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Made too big, but worked fine.

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
GandolfTheGrey
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Went on a couple of hike in the high country. Snow was deep in areas and these gaiters thwarted any attempts for the snow to melt through.
On the other hand, I got gaiters that were for my size shoe, and they barely fit my legs. I had to tighten them all the way down, and they still felt like they were going to fall down. Because they were too big, they let in snow at the bottom, but nothing that penetrated any higher than the cuff.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Gaiter

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Roguex
Location: Anchorage, AK
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a good product. The only thing that I would change is the "buckle" for the top cinch.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Gaiters for all seasons...

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amannamedmargrette
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6'-1", 175lbs, 33/34" pant inseam, bought size Large, US 11-12 boots (Scarpa Mont Blanc - winter mountaineering / ice climbing // Danner Raptor 400g - general winter hiking / snowshoeing, Salewa ALP Mid - summer hiking / long approaches)
Quality - Very happy with the overall quality. Seams are all well stitched with no loose threads. Stirrups are coated in a semi-tacky rubber and feel very tough (Zero hesitation to yank on them while adjusting). Front closure is full length, SOLID hook and loop strip with fantastic grip. I don't think twice about yanking these however I need to get them fully adjusted
Fit - The fit is perfect for me. Allows good movement, but fits snug to avoid snags with minimal creep. Perfect length covers from first boot lace to just below the knees and upper strap tightens up nicely to hold in place (though I have to make a final adjustment at beginning of most hikes after walking 1/4 mile or so). Once hook and loop strip is closed and upper straps are snug, the lace hooks require varying degrees of tug (again, zero worries) to grab toe laces depending on the which boot I am wearing. Once hooked, they cover laces fully with excellent seal all around bottom.
Performance - I have had ZERO issues with these gaiters moving around or falling down (after final adjustment) with any of my pant / boot combos. They've kept everything foreign from rocks to ice out of my boots while still being quite breathable. I have not spent much time in water, but never had a second thought about a few short, ankle deep stream crossings. The tacky rubber stirrup stays put and adjusted for miles and miles even when muddy, wet, or icy. Front / side paneling is standing up well to techy rock scrambles (Class 3 / 4 / 5) and I have had no issues with tearing due to crampons on mixed routes, though I have one VERY small scuff from a good fall which caused a crampon point to hit my ankle (guessing it probably would have been a decent cut in my leg instead of a small bruise if NOT for these gaiters).
Overall - I am very happy with this purchase and would highly recommend these gaiters. Fantastic year round performance for anything from scree laden summer scrambles to snowshoeing and vertical ice in the dead of winter.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

To Big to Work

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
UpMando
Location: Northern California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am 6'1" with a size 13 mountaineering boot. The XL fit nicely over my boot but it was way to big around my calves. Had to return them before I used them because I feared the excess material would either snag on my crampons or just start to sag and give limited protection. If I were to buy again I would try to find a retailer and try them on or if I had to order them sight-unseen I would definitely order a size smaller.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works well so far!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tkrage
Location: Sandy, Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have never used gaiters in the past, but these did a great job at keeping my pants and hiking boots dry while hiking the PCT around Wahtum lake. They are breathable, and where able to stay above my calves, which I was worried about. I am looking forward to using them more this winter in the snow and creek crossings!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
smokeybear
Location: wenatchee, wa
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The product runs small if you are wearing bulky wool pants and pac boots.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

stays put

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
silky
Location: Salyer, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These worked really well. I spent ten minutes adjusting them at home before I went out for a low end mountaineering trip to mt. brokeoff in lassen. After that I just put them on and adventure seeking I went. Never had to adjust them and they worked perfectly. The fit was true: I am 5'8" at 160lbs and ordered a Medium.
Cons: The lighter material on the back side did have a small snag in the material on delivery(reason for the 4 and not a 5)
Pros: They stayed up, lace clip stayed in place, velcro is nice and wide, breathed extremely well while keeping out the elements
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Runs Very Large

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: San Diego
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a 6.0ft and 180lbs, and purchased this product prior to a winter trip in the Sierras. I am happy with the gaiters they kept my boots dry even after sinking into waist deep snow. Buy a size smaller then you would normally and you will be happy. Overall great product.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy to put on

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beckers
Lightweight, full coverage, sturdy material. Velcro in the front makes them very easy to put on. Though they fit my shoes weirdly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-only reviews for Ascent™ Stretch Air Perm Gaiter
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5