Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Nut Shell High™ Gaiter

Mountain Hardwear Nut Shell High™ Gaiter

Nut Shell High™ Gaiter
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 7(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Nut Shell High™ Gaiter
Review 1 for Nut Shell High™ Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gaiters

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
MartyXian
Location: Glengary, WV
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just wore my Nut Shell High Gaiters for the first time this morning. I love how easy they are to put on, and the fit is fantastic! Thanks for making a great product at a reasonable price.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nut Shell High™ Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is closest, but doesn't stand up to the original

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bobbi
Location: Endicott, NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these gaiters because they had the following features which I found necessary from my original MHW gaiters.
1. The up-hook far out-performs the down-hook where the gaiter attaches to a d-ring or to laces. The up-hook is more accommodating, it attaches and holds the gaiter in place so much better and doesn't chew up your laces. This one feature is why I didn't buy your more rugged options.
2. The snap at the bottom front is a must-have. Your original gaiter lacked it which caused the Velcro to keep coming apart at the bottom without it.
3. The one-handed, top drawcord cinch is a much less cumbersome way to adjust the fit at the top than the strap. This is the second reason I didn't buy your more rugged gaiters. Who wants to spend more time putting them on or adjusting them?
But with the necessary features this gaiter does provide, it also lacks the following necessary features of the original.
1. It lacks the more rugged waterproof material that holds up much better than the waterproof coating.
2. It lacks the lower profile around the bottom that keeps out debris better, especially when wearing lower profile footwear.
3. It lacks the attached adjustable under-arch strap that adjusts to proper-fit the various footwear on the fly.
I hike year-round and like the tall rugged waterproof gaiter that stands up to deeper snow, wet fields and anything unseen underneath. I don't like to spend a lot of time putting them on or adjusting them for various footwear. A friend borrowed my original MHW gaiters and was amazed how quickly they went on and off. I also feel they provide some protection against ticks. These gaiters are great for the casual hiker that's looking to save money. But I believe you would corner the market with a little attention to detail. Your MHW gaiters are still far superior than the competition! Hope you'll keep it going!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nut Shell High™ Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple gaiters that accomplish their purpose

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
np21
Location: Seattle, Wa
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used these gaiters very often for the past three years for hiking, snowshoeing, and mountaineering. They have help up perfectly. I currently run a rental store that rents out other brands of gaiters and these MHW gaiters have held up extremely well in comparison. The other gaiters have gotten noticeable wear and tears on them after only a few uses. My MHW gaiters still look close to brand new.
The drawcord cinch at the top works very easy and is quick to adjust, the snap closure at the botton keeps the velcro from separating.
The only improvements I would like to see is a snap closure at the top of the gaiter and MHW using uncoated nylon for the top half to improve breathability (serious water protection isn't needed that far up). The only problem i have run into is the velcro coming slightly apart at the top and then getting snow in the velcro. Once this happens you cannot re-close the velcro and it risks peeling further and further down as the day goes on.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nut Shell High™ Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, Effective Gaiters- Excellent Value

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vita
Location: Utah
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these for a trip on the West Coast Trail in BC. If you've done the trail, you know how important gaiters are to the hike. These held up really, really well. Kept the mud and water out of my boots, even when sinking almost up to the knee. Also kept all sand and pebbles out of my boots, which was a big deal with all the beach hiking involved. My overall feeling was that these gaiters far outperformed their price point. I recommend them without reservation.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nut Shell High™ Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Mud Gaiters

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
BooBoo2011
Location: Portland
Experience: Casual
Employee: Yes
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These gaiters held up to 3 days of slogging through the mud on the South Olympic coast with no issues. Every night wash em off, and they're good to go the next morning. These are not waterproof, meaning won't be a pure supplement on a deeper stream ford, but plenty of protection for the harshest mud.
The only issue I had with this product was the bottom strap being the equivalent of a shoe lace. This doesn't feel like it will hold up well, but of course time will tell, but not a knock on the gaiters as a whole.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nut Shell High™ Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
MOffen
Location: Bay Area, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than other gaiters twice the price. Simple, functional, and effective.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nut Shell High™ Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
JMiller
Location: Michigan
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these a few months ago, mainly for snowshoeing. So far I absolutely love them. They were 1/2 the price of other brands I was looking at and have performed flawlessly. I prefer the quick-pull tighting strap below the knee over competing brands. I thought the instep cord might be an issue, but now I think its brilliant. It seems durable, it stays tied, and if I need to replace it at some point in the future, it will be an inexpensive repair. Great value for the money.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nut Shell High™ Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
BPKO
Location: Colorado
I bought these gaiters before going on a yurt trekking trip about a month ago. Through rigorous and relentless plowing through snow and some ice, these gaiters help up like a dream. The velcro on the front is easy to put on, adjust, and take off. I have used products in the past where the velcro is weak and thin and wears out in no time; so far, the velcro on these gaiters means business. The elastic heel strap is very nice and it has stupid sticky rubber to keep the back of the gaiter snug against your heel. I am a large fellow at 6'5" and the large size fits perfectly. Awesome set of gaiters, highly recommended. Mountain Hardwear never ceases to amaze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nut Shell High™ Gaiter
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice for winter.

PostedApril 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
GSMNP
I got a size 12 boot, large fits well. Great gaiter for winter. Not very breathable at all for summer or long distance hiking.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nut Shell High™ Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple is Better

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
FNSCAR260
Location: NW
I've had these Gaiters for about two and a half years now.
These are perfect for most outdoor activities and have never failed me whether it is bushwhacking through Seattle's dense vegetation, the wet snoqualmie pass.
These may not be waterproof but they are more than adequately water resistant and highly breathable.
Also, the construction is of excellent quality and have yet to see any signs of wear.
There are however two negligible cons.
~The fit is rather like a tube, the very basic construction form fitting would not be expected and it does not interfere with there function.
~The instep strap is only a piece of cord, however unless I am walking through snow i usually make it simple and leave it off.
I have never had a problem with Mountain Hardware Products and I find that they meet and exceed the intended purpose.
I also have a pair of Rab Latok Gaiters.
These Gaiters have
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nut Shell High™ Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

In a Nut Shell

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
jmcgriff
Location: New York, New York
This is my first pair of gaiters I've ever purchased that's why I opted for the cheapest one's. I was having a bit of trouble trying to secure the velcro. As I was lining the velcro up it would bunch up on me and/or just jump the track. Once I started using them more often the practice took care of that issue. So far, I'm very pleased with them.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.