Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket

Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.581 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 117 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
33 out of 34(97%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can you love a jacket?

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
thatnatureguy
Location: East Tennessee
Absolutely my favorite jacket/fleece I own. Extremely warm, especially with a lightweight, windproof shell. I listed fit as "just right", but keep in mind that the fit is made for layering, therefore a little more tight-fitting than your average outer layer. I'm 6'1" tall, 177 lbs. I usually wear a large, but opted for an XL in this jacket. The XL fits like what you would expect a large outershell to fit, except the sleeves are a little longer, which doesn't hinder due to the snug fit at the wrist. I wore this fleece camp-side with a MH Power Stretch Zip Tee and MH Typhoon Shell when temperature was 27 degrees and my core was nice and cozy. My wife tried to take it, so I bought her one so I could have mine back. Oh yeah, great makeshift pillow while camping.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Xtian
 
Please wait while more information about Xtian is loaded.
Additional information about Xtian could not be loaded.
Posted January 20, 2014
This jacket needs a shell like the comment says b/c the air just passes on by
-1point
0of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Monkey Man

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
KyleS
Location: AR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Honestly don't know if I've ever been more impressed with any individual purchase I've made. This jacket is comfortable, extremely warm, has a streamlined fit, and layers well if needed, all with excellent workmanship. I wear this with just a t-shirt underneath down to 35 Fahrenheit and I stay warm. On a windy day I will wear a thicker shirt or sweater underneath; you can't expect a fleece jacket to be windproof. I wore it as a midlayer skiing in the Rockies at 11,000 feet and it performed magnificently; we skied with heavy snowfall and I didn't even notice the cold. It also was great around town and the lodge. I am 6' with broad shoulders/chest and a narrow waist and my medium fits like a glove. Planning on ordering another!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Goodlooking
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice product. Expensive, but worth the money.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Monkey Man Jacket

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
M0184
Location: DC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All I can say is I simply love this jacket. Its warm, wears well and looks great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so much

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Xtian
Location: Portland Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have the monkey man and the air just flows on through! It is nice and fluffy, but not warm. good for around the house. but then again, paying close to $200 for that is a ummm…….
I do not recommend this product.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best fleece I ever had

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
BIKO
Location: Prague
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this fleece. It is so soft and warm that it is a pleasure to wear it both when I go to mountains or when I am in the city. I highly recommend it
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty Fleece

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
sawboywv
Location: WV
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much heavier than expected and that's a good thing! Plenty of room to move around in. I'm 5'10 165lbs and a lot of large sizes are too big, this one fits like a glove.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long arms, but other than that, perfect!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joe08
Location: Kansas City, MO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket online without ever having tried it on. I usually don't do this, but I liked the discount I was getting.
I am very glad I bought it. Not only is the material soft and light, it's very warm. Like the descriptions say, it does not do well with a lot of wind, but it's the perfect first layer to throw under a hard shell or rain jacket for the wind.
The only downside for me was the arms. I bought the medium. I am 5'7"-5'8" and weigh 150 on the nose. That being said, my wingspan is about 5'10" and the arms are still a little long on me. After a couple weeks of wearing it, I have stopped noticing.
I'm excited to use this product under one of my hard shells come winter time. It's got a great feel and fits tightly enough to fit under most other jackets.
I would definitely recommend this fleece to someone looking for an everyday fleece or something warm to wear under another jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Fits Well

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
joninthedacks
Location: Adirondacks, NY
Experience: Avid
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worn for everything from hiking, hanging out on belay and sleeping in the car. Nice athletic fit (I'm 5'10, 170 and medium fits perfect) and good warmth for weight. Not totally windproof, but not expecting it to be.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent sweater. Lightweight and very warm.

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Glo87
Location: Vallejo, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I specifically bought this sweater for the great benefits of the MonkeyPhur which allows it to be lightweight, yet the warmest sweater in my closet. I am very happy with this purchase and it has become my go-to sweater when heading out the door.
The only reason I did not rank it a full 5 stars is that I wish the bottom hem was a bit tighter, perhaps it could have had a draw cord. I was expecting it to fit a bit more snug like the MonkeyMan Grid. Aside from that, I love it and plan on buying it in another color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only fleece I wear

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
JDA1
Location: The berkshires
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
So I know it is essentially summer but I always wanted a fleece like this and I am very pleased with it. Excellent maneuvability and outdoor capability. I am always worried to ruin it so haven't gone out to the backcountry (yet) with it. It is a little small for my build but then again, I like that it is fitted and close to the chest/breast area. However, it does not look especially waterproof/resistant so I would layer it if I am wearing it. I love the blue/navy too, great color!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Monkey!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Toad
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You can't go wrong with the monkey! I have 3 monkey jackets and my wife has 2. They are the best. The quality is great. I am 5'7", 155lbs and I wear a medium. You will not be disappointed.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not consistent fit

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
patmc
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought the X-Large, expecting it to fit just like my other X-Large Mountain Hardwear jacket. It ended up being way too big and unfortunately, I'm unable to return it for a smaller size.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Monkey Man Two..

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
DSV1
Location: Norfolk, VA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have owned a Monkey Man for a period of time. We recently bought our twelve year old one. HE LOVES IT. Once again, Mountain Hardware continues to lead with quality and comfort, well done Mountain Hardware.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Design that is intelligent and inspired.

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
banditti
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket itself is a wonder. High quality materials. Higher quality construction. Design that is intelligent and inspired. If you use it right, it will take care of you.
First, it is not a "me too" fleece. This fleece is made to be very breathable. It dries extremely fast and is perfect for layering. It isn't designed, nor will it stop much wind or any water. It does provide great wartmth under a shell and feels amazing. For nastier elements I pair it with my MHW Android.
It is designed for mountain climbing, which I don't do so I can't talk to its effectiveness in that area. However, being cut that way, it has shorter torso for a harness and long arms. The pockets are well thought out and very usable.
I have to buy one for my wife, she has stolen mine and I want it back. :)
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and sturdy

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ochre414
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wear Mountain Hard Wear for my work. I am a Metalsmith who works in a very cold studio. This is the second "Monkey Jacket" I have bought. They hold up under harsh working conditions. I never have to worry about going up in flames, I know a spark will only make a small hole. The features I like the most is the close fit of the wrist part of the sleeve and waist band. It keeps dirt and small scraps of metal out of my sleeves. Moving around easily with the feeling of lightness and warmth is great for my work. I am a woman, who needs the workmanship of the men's jacket instead of the light and less well made women's similar style jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent fleece jacket

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Benjamin
Location: Boston, MA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this in the mail a few weeks ago and it fits great. The fleece is so lofty and fur-like that the jacket is currently holding it's own during January in New England. Throw some goretex over this jacket and you'd be set for anything. Also digging the "grill" color. It looks gray or green depending how the light hits it, very cool.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy!

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Active
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a superior jacket when it comes to men's fleece jackets. It is extremely comfortable, and fits very well under my Mtn HW Shell. The only thing I wish it had was some type of integration into the shell. For example, The North Face has the sleeve buttons and the zippers making their fleece/shell completely integrated; it's a nice feature. I'm not saying that it would sway me to purchase that product over Mtn HW, but it would be a great add-on.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Meemaw
Location: Taylors, SC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I ordered two of the jackets for my grandsons. They loved them and I was pleased with them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Monkey Man™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Furry Love

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patio
Location: Bend, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutley the best fleece I've ever known! It's insanely comfortable and super warm. Some may complain that the arms are too long, but I actually prefer it as I have rather long arms with a +3 ape index. I'm 6'1" ~180lbs and the large fits perfect
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next ›