Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Elkommando™ Kilt

Mountain Hardwear Men's Elkommando™ Kilt

Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall rating:
4.881 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
42 out of 42(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Review 1 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice lightweighty hiking kilt

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
DougTheBug
Location: Santa Cruz California
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fabric is great, lightweight and very comfortable. I love wearing this kilt on hot days not just when backpacking. I find the modesty snap crucial. My only complaint about this kilt is that if you squat down you will expose yourself, at least without the modesty snap set. More fabric, like in a traditional kilt, would help reduce this problem. I should also mention that the fabric dries quickly, just rinse in the creek and hang to dry! All in all I love the kilt.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Hiking Kilt

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
BeardedCanadian
Location: Sutton, MA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not much to say about this kilt. It is well made, durable, stylish and great....most of the time. Despite it being a "Kilt" and "airy" it is very warm. I had trouble wearing it in the summer.
The first trip I took it on was a ten day backpacking trip in the spring in Canada, the temperature didn't get above 60 F and it was about the warmest I would/could wear it. In the warmer months I couldn't wear it. The material was just too thick for a cool hike. I love the kilt, I just wish they made one out of a lighter quick dry material. This material is thick and durable, not airy and light, which is a good thing for most guys, since we aren't used to hiking in kilts we aren't quite as aware of the dynamics that wind have on them, so the weight helps hold the kilt down during windier sessions.
I would recommend it but if you are a warm person be prepared.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kilt!

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
DMDS
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been wanting to purchase a rugged and functional kilt for some time. Traditional kilts are usually hand made still and come with a high price tag. The typical "utili-kilt" is too heavy and cumbersome. This kilt has exactly what I want, durability, light weight and without the price tag of a traditional wool kilt.
The fit is a little small. It would be a good idea to buy a size bigger. I'd like to see different colors as well.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not a skirt

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
JFish
Location: Denali,AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
One of many things I have purchased from Mountain Hardwear and as usual the fit and finish is excellent. I was impressed that it is both light and durable. The pockets are of adequate size to carry necessities and close securely. Looks good the only draw back that I have found so far is that it appears to attract every stray pet hair in the house but whatever. Perfect for after run wear when you want to get your of your wet shorts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A true sport kilt

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cymru
Location: Brush Prairie, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wear 3 different kilts, and this is by far the most comfortable, and the easiest to care for of the bunch: It's much lighter than my utility kilt, and cooler than the wool tartan, (neither of which can go in the dryer). I just wish it came in different colors. Khaki or black, for example. I rated the function as "good" only because I find the two side pockets just a bit inadequate, and would like to see a pair of hip pockets added. Maybe a zippered security pocket?
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent & Comfortable

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
DanZ99615
Location: Kodiak, AK
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
It took a while for some nasty weather to subside, but once it did I was able to really get out and enjoy this kilt! I'm completely sold. It's comfy, breezy and best of all - you cool down really fast. Just remember bug spray for those legs!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another Satisfied

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Criminal
Location: Puget Sound
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hiked to the top of Mt. Zion this weekend to give the new kilt a whirl (not literally) and absolutely love it. The freedom of movement you get with a kilt is very noticeable on the steep uphill parts of the trail. I will never go back to a bifurcated garment again. As others have mentioned, MORE COLORS PLEASE!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
rosie123
Location: central Pennsylvania
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I own 10 of these kilts. 10? Yes, because the first 5 are now too large due all the weight I have lost while walking in them. I am looking forward to buying another 5 when my weight goes down another size. They are worn around the house and on trail. They launder well and are dry almost straight out of the washing machine.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You won't be disappointed

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
airforcejake
Location: Travis AFB, CA
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Absolutely LOVE this kilt!! Wish I'd bought this BEFORE I paid $200 for my utilikilt. It fits so much better and wears nicely on my waist where jeans ride, instead of higher up like a girdle...like the utilikilt. The fabric is so much thinner and lighter than a utilikilt...although some might not like that. The thin fabric makes hiking in hot climates nice and breezy, but i found myself being careful around branches and stuff after i squatted and the stitching in one of the pleats in the back came apart. It didn't rip through the fabric, just lost a pleat. I'm a short stocky guy...5'5" with a size 32" waist and the MEDIUM fits me perfectly. The waist would probably actually fit up to about 34" comfortably and it hangs just to the bottom of my kneecap when standing. If I could improve anything it would be to add pleats to the front to improve the authenticity of the look, and offer more color choices...brown, black, tan and camo. I will definitely be getting another of these...hopefully more color options come out and the price stays where it's at! The pleat that came apart on the first trip out and the limited color options are the reasons for the 4 stars. Double or triple stitch the pleats…(anything other than make the fabric thicker)....and offer more colors and it'll be a perfect 5-star product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
grouchster
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All this kilt needs is MORE COLORS and then I'd order more so I would have flexibility to wear the kilt more often, especially while working. Very impressed for my first kilt and am trying to find others of similiar quality and price but its hard.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best garment i have

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
snipi
Location: california
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
  • Employee
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this kilt for hiking and for work, ive had it two days now and i love this thing its great. I do have some wishes for mountian hardwear, i love your product and i know that you make your pants in many colors, i need these kilts in at least three more colors, and my second wish is maybe another version with more pockets and a bigger exposed belt loop i think this version could compete very well with other kilts on the market like the 5.11 kilts and others,this version competes well but some guys like me that carry epic amounts of junk with them all the time would like more pockets.
overall i love this thing if you are on the fence buy one.
if mountain harwear made at least three more colors this is all i would wear to work, and i would prob buy one or two of each color. please make more.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

not sure I'll hike in anything else

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Outback
Location: South Carolina
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So, I was hesitate but decided to pull the trigger on MHW's cool hiking kilt. Just returned from 3 hard days on the trail and verdict is, as my title suggests, that I'm not sure I'll hike/backpack in anything else. I love it!!
This kilt is mega comfy, airy (no chaffing to say the least!), and has a unique style (obviously!!). Over 34 miles, I ran into 5 different hiking groups and I received compliments on the kilt from every single group. As other reviewers have mentioned, the cargo pockets absolutely ROCK. They are much larger than what you find on hiking shorts/convertible/pants and their location is far more useful in my opinion. And MHW's proprietary comfort/belted waistband is where it is at...even with about 26-28lbs. of backpack on my hips, the kilt was very comfy. Actually the biggest compliment I can give it was that I found myself not thinking about my comfort; I was just plain comfortable the entire time.
I also wore the kilt once out and about in town a couple days before my hike and again, lots of compliments and smiles. It looks GREAT with boots or say, Chacos.
The one suggestion I would give the folks at Hardwear: PLEASE PLEASE make more colors. I would love to own more than one of these.
Sizing: I'm 6'2", athletic 210lbs., and a size 36-37" waist, and the size LARGE is spot on.
Great job MHW, now just give us some options for color PLEASE!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comandokilt

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
GrayWolf
Location: Concord NH
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great freedom of movement, plenty of pocket room . with the extra snap gives a true gentlemans tuck.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted!

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
DMKilt
Location: Buffalo, NY
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first (and likely only) kilt!
Very reasonably priced
A good fit
The snap between the legs allows for some modesty.
All in all, a wonderful purchase!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than shorts, why didn't I do this sooner?

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wumbomusic
Location: Vancouver, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The reviews are all good but I wasn't prepared for how much I would love wearing this kilt. My first hike was 10 miles in 40-ish degree weather and it was amazing. A pair of over-the-calf hiking socks and I was plenty warm especially after some climbing. It feels great and the material is really substantial feeling without being heavy. Just so comfortable and SO functional, now I'm wearing it to mow the yard (my wife thinks I am trying to freak out the neighbors) and hanging around the house. Can't wait for the real cooling benefits as I start hiking St Helen's and Mt Hood this summer.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
HikerGirlieGirl
Location: Ohio
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Bought this for my boyfriend and he's worn it multiple times around the house. He has yet to wear it on a hike, but by the look on his face every time he has it on, I'm sure he's going to love it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

elkommando kilt

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
miami33
Location: miami, fl
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great fit. great lightweight fabric. do not care for the thread colors used in the logo embroidery(i would prefer the thread be the same color as the fabric; or no logo at all). would take one in khaki, for sure. and gray.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfy and practical

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Supafly
Location: Oklahoma City
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been wearing my kilt around the house and town since I got it a few weeks ago. It has fit great and is super-comfortable.
The privacy snap isn't really good for much - I've snapped it and it usually comes unsnapped pretty quickly.
The pockets are nice and huge and designed really well.
Range of motion in the kilt is amazing.
I'm wearing the XL and my waist size is around 37. The XL fits perfect with a bit of room to grow into.
I'll be taking it hiking in two weeks and can't wait!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Own Four of These

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dagda
Location: Missouri
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought my first Elkommando a couple years ago when I was living and hiking in Colorado. My first hike up a mountain in pants had my legs chafed by the end of the trip. I did a web search for hiking pants to see if I could find something more comfortable for this type of activity and I came across the Elkommando kilt. I read the reviews before making my purchase and decided to take the plunge into kilt ownership. I spent the next couple years wearing the kilt on every hiking trip and loving every minute of it. There is a freedom of movement wearing a kilt that you just do not get from wearing a pair of pants or shorts, especially when twisting, stretching and climbing over mountainous terrain. I will admit that I have gotten some "looks" while wearing the kilt, but I have also had a lot of very positive comments from women and men alike. I even had a guy recognize it as a Mountain Hardware kilt while I was in a computer store (yes, I have made the leap and now wear my kilts around town instead of shorts during the warmer weather).
I have found this kilt to be very well made and I have not had a single failure on any of the 4 that I own. If I had one complaint, it would be that it is only available in even sizes and I am an odd size. This means either purchasing a kilt that is too large and tightening the belt, which causes the waistband to bunch and is uncomfortable under a pack's strap...or buying one that is too small. I would like to see a couple extra snaps added so the kilt can be adjusted to the "in-between" sizes without having to bunch the waistband. I would also like to see a few more color options and maybe a few style options as well. These last two are not complaints, just wish list items.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brave Males only

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
JonBear
Location: Massachusetts
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the greatest garment out there for hikers who want better movement and breathability on the trail. It's not culturally common or usual to see a kilt on a man in the United States, which is a shame.
I love wearing it as much as possible. I wouldnt hesitate to get another or talk enthusiastically about how comfortable it is.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.