Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Elkommando™ Kilt

Mountain Hardwear Men's Elkommando™ Kilt

Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall rating:
4.797 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
58 out of 59(98%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Review 1 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this kilt!

PostedJanuary 12, 2016
Customer Avatar
Location: Tigard, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its really comfortable, really utilitarian.
The only wish I have is that it had belt loops instead of making me rely on its built in belt, especially given the tradition of kilts to have specially made belts for them with attachments like Sporrans.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The freedom of the Kilt

PostedDecember 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Bay Area, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've never worn a kilt before, but I had high expectations for this one, and it has met and exceeded them. If you are already considering a kilt, I can't imagine how you could go wrong with this one. Great quality, fit, and design. If MH could offer some more fun colors than gray, that would be awesome. I am 6' tall, 172 lbs, size 31-ish waist, and the medium fits me great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Kilt!

PostedNovember 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Recieved mine in the mail and immediately took it for a test, at CrossFit. Had no issues running, jumping, or lifting things. Hand stands are not a good idea...lol. The only issues I had was the modesty button is not very strong and the two waist snaps rubbed quite badly. I had to tuck in my shirt to keep the metal snaps from cutting into my waist, they rest right where my leg bends. other than that, great utility style kilt. I will be trying to figure out how to shield the snaps, they won't stop me from wearing it. I do suggest wearing it around before going backpacking, I have not tried yet, but I do see the snaps interacting poorly with a backpack waist belt.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Kilt!

PostedNovember 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Asheville, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabric is great. Construction is great. The material inside the waist band is super comfortable. If they bring back the other color, I will get a second.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charles Jackson

PostedOctober 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Baltimore, MD
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love you Elkommando Kilt I own four pair
very comfortable and great style the pocket and belt are great I plan to wear it all year. Please in the future can make the kilt in black and brown. I also brought many of your shirts and Love all .
Thanks,
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

compromise

PostedOctober 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: HI
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought a medium, and I'm kinda on the large side of a sporty medium. I have to take up some of the extra slack with the adjustable belt, and it bunches a little. Under a pack's belt, that might rub.
So that's a little big in the waist, right? At the same time, when high stepping or deep squatting the lower snaps are a little restrictive. The will pop loose, which is fine: the aren't super important. The middle snap, for those modest enough to use it, connects the front to the back, making the kilt a little like shorts, but that snap pops loose too. If one were so concerned about modesty that one used that snap, that self same one might be disappointed by the snap coming undone.
I sweat a lot, so when I climb Koko Head the front of the kilt looks like I spilled a liter of water down it, but it doesn't absorb. It might be breathable, it might not, but it's a skirt! If you're moving your legs, especially if you have a wide gate, the kilt ventilates well.
I'll be using it lots for speed hikes on open terrain. I'd buy another one if it came in another color.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I don't hit the trail without wearing this product

PostedAugust 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Yellowstone, WY
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy this product you will not be disappointed! Just hope they bring back the od green color so i can buy another.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really enjoy this

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Niagara area, Canada
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really enjoy wearing this kilt. I haven't had it long, but have worn it to work (it gets hot in the office & the a/c doesn't work), social gatherings, meetings, and around the house. You get some comments, but mostly just "look what he's doing now".
The only criticism I have is that the "modesty snaps" don't work at all. The snaps come apart as soon as I bend over, or sit down. The only time they stay together is if I snap them and stay totally upright.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great materials, poorly designed.

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Dundee, IL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The good: This kilt is very light weight, and made with premium materials. I love how soft the area around the waist is. Additionally the DWR is fantastic and this kilt washes really well, no ironing required! I like the design of the modesty system as it's easy to use and not bulky like other brands.
The bad: There are only two pockets, which if you're like me is not enough. No belt loops is another thing that turns me off to this kilt and integrated belt is terrible, it's very flimsy. Since it's such a small size you can't even switch it out with something firmer.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My sweltering crotch thanked me.

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Florida
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Probably the nicest piece of clothing i've ever put on. Softer than anything else I own next to the skin. Just spent 30 minutes trying on different shirts with it for my girlfriend. Her only comment is that the fabric on the front doesn't leave much to the imagination when going elkommando. YMMV. Doesn't bother me a bit! Love the color (Shark) and getting used to the length (about where cargo shorts hit back of my calves at the knee, worn on hips about 3-4" below waistline - 5'11")
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable material

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: North Carolina
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased for my husband for Father's Day. He picked me up at work in it and when I saw his he looked 10 lbs slimmer. The girls at work went nutty over it and wanted their husband to have one. He says he loves the fit, quality, material and says it's cool and comfortable. This is not our last kilt!! I think it's sexy!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

JUST GET IT

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was like you once. Checking out the kilt every few months, reading the reviews.
Wondering if it could really be worth it.
The answer is YES. Once you wear it you'll never go back. The freedom of movement is incredible. Yes, some people give you strange looks. Who cares. Don't knock it till you try it, this thing is life changing.
Typical MH quality. Surprisingly water resistant. Super durable material. A wee heavy, but not bad at all. For this level of toughness you can't expect much lighter. This thing has held up on some seriously gnarly hikes..just get it!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 2nd!

PostedJune 11, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
  • Employee
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved my first one so much, I bought the other color! Fits me very well, as I have high hip bones and the design compliments them, or at least I think so, as the girls often give me a second look (some of the guys too).
Functionally, the kilt increases my stride by about a foot since there isn't any resistance down yonder and I've even opened it up and used it to haul firewood. Bombproof construction!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pleased with the product

PostedJune 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: mapleton utah
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On my initial order I found the kilt too small and the exchange/return process was amazing. The is the first time I have done business with you folks and it was a great experience. I wear a kilt for hiking and got a lot of comments to say the least.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very little leeway in waist sizing

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: San Diego
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The sizing for the Elkommando differs from traditional kilts. Traditional kilts' waist sizes are measured at the thickest part of the waist, usually under the belly button. I ordered med at first, but was so large and it fell off (at home thank goodness, not on the trail!). Reordered size small (30-31 waist). There is very little margin for error on the waist sizing. It has two snaps for the waist and one snap lower on the front for flap control (modesty ). Suggest in future production a couple snaps for variations in waist size since how a kilt hangs differs body types (I'm med/slender). I usually don't snap the lower snap as it pulls, bunches and restricts movement.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Shark comparison to old Otter

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
Location: Albuquerque NM
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received wore and washed my new Shark ElKommando.
The design and fabric seems identical to my original Otter color. Compared to the Otter the Shark weighs exactly the same. The only differences I can spot are, with the Shark, the Mountain Hardware logo on the lower left apron is in color matching grey instead of the light grey and yellow of the Otter and the belt is solid black instead of the black with grey stripes of the original Otter.
My Shark fabric seems slightly more pliable than the original first run Otter. Ergo the weighing.
I think this kilt looks better than the dark olive Otter and will see more use about town. Like the USAK Sterling tartan, the Shark grey goes with everything.
Looking over the Otter, 5 years old, used in several camping/fishing trips and washed a lot, I am quite impressed with the spotlessness. Only a slight amount of fuzziness is visible from wear and tear! The DWR treatment on the fabric has shed all stains from coffee, cooking, cleaning fish and frying bacon. It still sheds water well. DWR must mean Durable Water Repellant. I am either careful around grease or the finish also keeps grease from setting in this nylon microfiber.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just get it!

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Location: Yellowstone National Park, WY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the most comfortable garment I have ever worn hiking! It fits well, the pockets are big enough to fit a my quart water bottle in, its super light and airy.
Guys if your thinking of getting this kilt, quit thinking and just get it!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice lightweighty hiking kilt

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Santa Cruz California
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fabric is great, lightweight and very comfortable. I love wearing this kilt on hot days not just when backpacking. I find the modesty snap crucial. My only complaint about this kilt is that if you squat down you will expose yourself, at least without the modesty snap set. More fabric, like in a traditional kilt, would help reduce this problem. I should also mention that the fabric dries quickly, just rinse in the creek and hang to dry! All in all I love the kilt.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Hiking Kilt

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Sutton, MA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not much to say about this kilt. It is well made, durable, stylish and great....most of the time. Despite it being a "Kilt" and "airy" it is very warm. I had trouble wearing it in the summer.
The first trip I took it on was a ten day backpacking trip in the spring in Canada, the temperature didn't get above 60 F and it was about the warmest I would/could wear it. In the warmer months I couldn't wear it. The material was just too thick for a cool hike. I love the kilt, I just wish they made one out of a lighter quick dry material. This material is thick and durable, not airy and light, which is a good thing for most guys, since we aren't used to hiking in kilts we aren't quite as aware of the dynamics that wind have on them, so the weight helps hold the kilt down during windier sessions.
I would recommend it but if you are a warm person be prepared.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Elkommando™ Kilt
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kilt!

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been wanting to purchase a rugged and functional kilt for some time. Traditional kilts are usually hand made still and come with a high price tag. The typical "utili-kilt" is too heavy and cumbersome. This kilt has exactly what I want, durability, light weight and without the price tag of a traditional wool kilt.
The fit is a little small. It would be a good idea to buy a size bigger. I'd like to see different colors as well.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.