Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Chockstone™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Chockstone™ Pant

Chockstone™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.062 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
3 out of 5(60%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pants

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Uberime
Location: New Jersey
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
My experience covers several extended backpacking trips in the Winds, climbing in the Adirondaks and home use, shoveling snow, etc. Generally excellent overall performance: material is comfortable and durable, length one inch shy of perfect. -for me; when i lost the belt clasp (it is under designed), they promptly repaired & returned. When paired with gaiters, they are effective in keeping one dry and warm. Stand up to rock abrasion, great stretch material. If i did not have them, i would be searching for something comparable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the serious climber

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
JFailing
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I've had these pants for over two years now, and they've seen some pretty heavy abuse - big-walling, long alpine routes, sport, even in the gym - and there isn't a single hole. The knees and butt are wearing somewhat noticeably thin by now, but that's to be expected.
They're just the right amount of stretch, good breathability, and they dry quickly. I may add that they're the perfect length for me. so I don't have to roll them up while climbing. I also think they look pretty cool...
Only issue I've had with them is that the stitching on the back pocket unraveled about 1 year into owning the pants. I don't carry a wallet when climbing anyways though, so NBD.
When they eventually wear out, I'll definitely be buying another pair of MH pants...
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Chockstone vs Warlow

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
MikeP
Location: Oakland CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought these pants (via internet) because they have more pockets than the MH Warlow pants. Overall the pants are servicable, a bit thinner than I'd expected but comfortable. The problem is the pockets. They are very small. They are so small and oddly positioned that if they did not have zippers anything you put in them would fall out. Maps, glasses, gps, wallet, pretty much anything larger than chapstick just barely fits. The pockets are lined with a warm soft material, intended to be hand warmers but only half a hand can fit inside. For $125 give an extra inch in the pockets.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cargo pocket seams are glued

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
JP27
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was eager to try these pants out. found them to be ok. Weren't my favorite pants. By the 3rd hike in these pants both cargo pockets on each leg seams came undone. They are glued so.......... Lost confidence in these pants wouldn't buy again.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great pants, but one leg is shorter than the other.

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
bjbkkb
Location: Sicily, Italy
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was really excited about these pants. The material is robust enough to survive extended time in the wilderness backpacking or on the crags. Plenty of pockets for storage and very comfortable to move in. My only complaint is the right leg is 2" shorter than the left. I was hoping the pair I was shipped was a one time defect. The replacement pair had the same problem.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional, great fitting outdoor pants

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bendrix
Location: Greenville, Maine
I've tried on lots of lightweight sports pants and these are the first pair that fit. Other brands have fit in the waist, but all were "high water". I step in high water a lot, but I don't want my pants to advertise that, or the color of my socks, or the skin on my leg. The pockets are just right. The zippers are SOOOO cool. Very low profile and clean working. I don't know how they will stand up to a year or more of sand and grit, but they sure look like they'll last.
ONE NEGATIVE - BLACK ONLY????
Someone must have told MH that bugs like black, love black, lust black and will find any moving black object and stay with it for life. Come on! Give me a nice olive green, a forest green, faded blue-jean, even a tan or light (very light) brown. The black is good looking for town wear and OK for nighttime camo, but its not a bush color. If these were available in Green I'd by 10 pair and wear them in place of jeans.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed in durability

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
cdmike112
Location: Estes Park, CO
I like the way the pants fit and the integrated belt. However the durability of the pants is a major issue. I wore these one day climbing and somehow put two holes in the pants without ever knowing the cause. For a pant that is built for climbing I would expect a little more durability.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Chockstone

PostedMay 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Comet
Location: Mexico City
Lightweight and comfortable pants (size L) with some stretch.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice pants

PostedMarch 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Culley22
Location: Nome, AK
I'd compare these to a running pant. Flexible and breathable. Not super warm, but a nice light pant!
I'm 6', 38" waist, 32:-34" lenght. The XLs are little big, but fit well. A little long, but not "walking on the cuffs" long.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mountain climbing pants

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
ScubaSully
Location: cold and wet NY
My friends and I just completed two days of mountain climbing and trail hiking in upstate NY. The weather was just right at first then by next morning when we woke up it was raining and foggy. Long story short... these paints worked very well, even covered in mud and snow and still kept my legs dry and warm. Just wished that they had a clip on the bottom of each leg that could fasten to my boots.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Climbing Pants

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Twap
Location: Berchtesgaden, Germany
Those pants work perfect with a harness! My favourite climbing pants!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite Pant

PostedJanuary 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
bpmaniac
Location: Bay Area, CA
Just wondering what I did before I got these pants! They're amazing in every aspect - perfectly stretchy, durable, and super comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good, light pants

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Morgan
Location: Portland, Or
I have the mesa (very light, summer nylon-type pant), the piero (thicker, stretchy-type - closer to regular pants, jeans thickness) and now these, the chockstone. These pants are very stretchy and thin. They seem sorta like wearing nylon, stretchy pajama bottoms. They would work in the winter with a baselayer for warmth. Very comfortable and do shed light rain. I'm a 33" inseam and the long was VERY long - they'll need to be tailored. Very good quality pant that should last a long time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Climbing Pant

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
ClimbAndSurf
Location: Seattle, WA
First time climbing with these pants the day started about 45 deg
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chockstone Shell pants

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Willy
Location: Webster, NY
These pants are GREAT! I ride my bike to work rain or shine. Recently after purchasing these shell pants I rode home in a torrential down pore. Together with a rainproof coat I returned home bone dry and completely compfortable. They are light weight, stretchable and breathable. I HIGHLY recommend these to any outdoor enthusiast.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Chockstone™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Active Pant

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
ClimbColorado
Location: Front Range, CO
I use these pants for almost anything outdoors. They feel super lightweight, but have been consistently super warm. Recently, I was actually a little worried about them when on a glissading adventure, but they held up wonderfully (Not that I would recommend using these pants for that, but just knowing that it's an option sometimes helps). My final test for these babies was indoor bouldering because I usually get way too hot in pants when inside, but they kept me nice and cool. You can't go wrong with Mountain Hardwear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.