Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Sarpa™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Sarpa™ Pant

Sarpa™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Sarpa™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Sarpa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Waist needs elastic

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
momojones
Location: Eugene
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants. Love the construction/materials. Only drawback was the waist. I am 6' and 210 with muscular thighs/butt. I wear 36 in every other pant out there, and ordered a large which was too tight. Would have been fine if it had any stretch in waist. Then I ordered in an XL, and it was waaaay too baggy everywhere. Returned and got the Large Warlow pant. That fits awesome. Very stretchy! I give that pant 5 stars! This Pant would be 5 stars if it fit me.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Sarpa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really satisfied

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
LFTX
Location: SoCal
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these pants for two December trips---a weekend on Mt. Baldy in SoCal, and Christmas in Whitefish, MT with hikes planned on the ski mountain there and in Glacier NP. They worked perfectly. They're *a bit* baggy for me, but that's owing to my really skinny legs. Otherwise, I think they fit true to size. For the coldest parts of my Baldy and Montana trips I wore a Patagonia base layer and didn't overheat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Sarpa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, almost great ski touring pants

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cliff
Location: Alta, Utah
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like these pants a lot. Good fit, the double snap at the waist is great, the pockets and cuffs are good. The suspender loop is good for hanging the pants on a hook. I'm 5'9", 145 lbs and the medium short is a good fit. These pants are going to be terrific for cold dry ski tours, spring and fall in the desert, high altitude xc paragliding. The medium heavy fabric and black color are probably going to make them too warm for everyday ski touring here in the Wasatch. Just a few changes or a different version would make these the perfect ski touring pants: a lighter and more water resistant softshell fabric; a light color option; and a good inner cuff edge guard patch.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Sarpa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pants for Sailing

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
T2013
Location: San Francisco, CA.
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a US Coast Guard certified Sailing Captain and Sailing Instructor I need pants that are comfortable with plenty of flexibility and ruggedness. After 3 years of wearing an older model from Mountain hard ware and loving its versatility, they finally had to be replaced. So I searched all over for a replacement. Through this process I remembered why I choose the Mountain Hard Ware product in the first place (style, warmth, breathable, durable and comfort) and came back to the MHW product again. This time the latest version was the “Sarpa” style and its better than the style I had used in the past. They are just as comfortable and warm but seem to be a bit more durability in the outer panels. The soft fleece on the inside provides a degree of warmth and comfort while allow it to breathe on warmer days. The zippers seem very durable and the pockets and seams seem very strong. I chose the Long inseam which seem a bit longer than I need but that was my fought for not measuring myself properly. Overall I’m very happy with these pants for what I need them for – sailing in shore and off shore.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Sarpa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Suspenders ???

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
riverdog
Location: Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great pant< I'm 6' 170lbs and the M 34 inseam fits well. The only thing lacking are suspenders that would work well with these pants. I have been unable to locate suspenders that really seem to be a good match for the Sarpa's,they have suspender loops so it would be nice if MH were to offer a suspender just as they offer belt's
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Sarpa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What I've been looking for!

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
stoneman
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great winter hiking pants! comfortable, warm but not too warm, water resistant
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Sarpa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Cozy

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Theo
Location: Portland OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are warm and cozy. Very comfortable and flexible. They are a soft pant lined with warm fleece:)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Sarpa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great softshell pants basic outdoor use/needs!

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
kjlanda
Location: Chicago
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these pants! I heard they don't shed water that well, well I suppose that's what hard shell are for...however, they fit great, have a belt which cinches or relaxes based on waist size etc, two hip pockets at least, nice style, and very, very nice quality one always gets from MHW. I cannot wait to try these outside this winter.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Sarpa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

REALLY like them!!

PostedMarch 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Culley22
Location: Nome, AK
I was trying out a few different pants to see what suited me best. These are REALLy nice pants. Not water proof, but shed the water REAL well. I'm guess in rain they might get wet, but for a sprinkle they'll do great. Really quite warm, and wind proof! They are lined with soft fuzzy (not a fleece liner), and are comfortable. They don't breathe great, and my guess is that's due to the water resistance and wind proofness. I wear these out and about in winter (here in Nome, where it's windy) and they are great. Not super warm, but real warm if active. And nice in the wind. Seem durable, but haven't used them on a hunt yet, but will. REALLY like these pants.
I wear a 38" waist and am 6' tall 32"-34" length. Got the XLs, and they are a little big in the waist for me, but not bad. They have a belt system that works well to tighten them up. They are a little long, but not too long.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Sarpa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty Decent

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
JonnyC3
Location: Rhinelander, WI
I was looking for a different pant but went with this one because it is all they had left in medium. Fearing the worst and thinking I would have to send them back because of lack of function I received them and fell in love. The brushed fleece lining is sweet. on warm days not long johns needed, cold days plenty of room with the gusseted crotch. Definitely only snow pants. I use them for back country skiing and snow shoe demos and they keep the powder off great and still work like a normal pant and snow pant in one. I have applied more water proofing to try and keep up the repellent finish, Seems to be working. I would never trust a softshell with any type of long term rain as the other review berates these pants for.
Of course it isn't going to hold up, it isn't designed for that. You have about twenty to thirty minutes tops in these in any type of rain before you are soaked.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Sarpa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

More soft than shell.

PostedOctober 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
sean
Location: washington
Do not wear these if it might rain. yesterday I did a day hike/climb in the middle of fall. The forecast was for probable rain/snow in the afternoon, so I figured this pants would be appropriate, as I wouldnt be in the snow or rain for very long. As we summited, it started to sleet/snow on us. As we descended, the snow turned to slushy rain and then rain and within an hour I was wet on my quads/knees. Within 2 hours I was completely soaked. It was by no means a deluge, but it was raining. To be quite honest I was rather disappointed and i wish i got hard shell pants instead. I imagine they would keep you dry if it was ONLY snowing, but not so much if it starts to rain at all. Also, you cant put them on over boots.
On a more positive note:
The fit is great and they are very comfortable.
They also breathe nicely.
-12points
2of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.