Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter

Mountain Hardwear Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter

Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter
Overall rating:
3.917 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
3 out of 3(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter
Review 1 for Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, pay attention to sizing

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Flightmedic007
Location: Eastern Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great, sturdy product. I bought mine for snowshoeing and hunting in the snow. I wear size 11 shoes/boots and the large fit perfectly over regular pants.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Gaitors

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
MountainManMikey
Location: Creede, Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have size 11 boots and ordered the XL, and they are a little large. They have been durable so far, i am a backpacking guide in Colorado and they have stood up to my demands so far. The only annoying thing is the rubber strap continues to fall out of the buckle while hiking, but besides that, they have not let me down
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice product

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christian
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product, fits well if correctly adjusted
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Gaiters, Except For A Few Issues

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jerry
Location: Corvallis, OR
I wear size 10 or 44 mountaineering and plastic boots and the medium size fits correctly. I normally use a large gaiter, but large was too loose around the base of my boot. The gaiters are a close fit which helps prevent snagging a crampon point. They are very waterproof and the boot lace hook is easy to use. There are two issues. The first one is the ladder lock buckle on the top strap is a pain to adjust, especially with gloves on. A cam lock buckle would work well here. The second issue is the instep strap (runs under the boot) works loose during the day. It can get loose enough to form a loop that is an inch or two long and create a trip hazard. Having to tighten this through out the day is a real pain. Still, I really like the style of buckle since the standard buckle with center pin gets bent and breaks easily on mixed routes with rock.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome, but huge

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
George
Location: Chicago, IL
These are super tough. The material on the inner ankles can take tons of abuse. The strap at the bottom is very thick and infinitely adjustable. Very cool.
But they are very,very big unless you're wearing mountaineering boots. On size 14US North Face Flow Chute boot, or 14US Asolo TPS 520's the bottom opening is so big it goes to the ground and beyond. Impossible to get it tight. Order at least one size smaller if you're not wearing these with mountaineering boots.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Buy

PostedJuly 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doc8404
I received them in the mail and immediately opened them up. I tried them on over regular pants and they were a little large. I then put on my snow pants and they fit perfect. I can’t wait until it snows so I can try them out and put them to good use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great

PostedApril 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
jonnyp60
light and strong. would buy them again but they run large. I bought a large for my Lasportiva size 44 and they are a bit lose around the bottom. Its not too bad but not as tight as i would like. The top is a bit large under the knee. I'm 6ft 180 and I need to adjust them all the way in but once i put them on they dont budge. I have used them in every thing from post-holing in knee deep snow to loitering in three inches of slush and have found nary a wet spot on my pants or upper boots.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Questionable

PostedApril 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
USFSMYSTICFIRE
Location: Rapid City, SD
We purchased these for crew members of a timber marking crew (dredging through snow, up and down hills, uneven terrain etc.) A couple of our crew members had the rubberized bottom "Boot Strap" break on them in less than 2-3 days of use...
The material on the actual gaitor really held up and kept legs dry, however, so it was just a strap issue. If you are using these for casual use kind of hiking/backpacking etc they would probably be good, but not for rugged use in extensive terrain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pinnacle XT

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
RangerJoe
Location: Northern WI
Only used these a few times since i have got them. First thing i noticed is that these run very large. I generally have trouble finding gaiters that will fit over my calfs, but these i had to tighten up very much. the have seemed to be holding up perfect on the 10 miles or so ive used them. breathe very nicely, very light, and ive stayed dry. whether snowshoeing in deep powder to hiking in warm slush and crossing rivers. would give 5 stars if i had more time in on them and they were still holding up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great winter Gaiter!

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jefe
Location: Vermont
Very nice gaiter for larger/winter boots. They are extremely durable, breathe well and stay in place VERY WELL, which may actually be its best attribute. They look good, and also are easy to put and easy off. The bottom of the gaiter forms a very nice interface with the boot. I've used with Keen hikers, Scarpa leather and plastic boots. Great gaiter, and I highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

!

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
splidlock
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
I got these gaits for general winter outdoor activities. The other day, I had a good solid base of snow and decided to try these out. At first, the fit was a bit annoying. The bottom of the gaiter didn't seem to fit my boots very well. I were a size 11, so the large seemed floppy. The cinch at the bottom that runs through the instep seemed poorly designed and I fought to get it taut enough. Once that was taken care of, the fit at the top, too seemed poorly designed and sloppy. BUT!!! I underwent a 2 mile uphill climb, with several creek crossings and glissades, some icecraft was practiced as well. At the end of the hike when I took the gaiters off, a COMPLETE SURPRISE...DRY DRY DRY boot midsoles to top!! The leather, DRY to the Touch and a completely different color than the uncovered boot segment. I was completely blown away. GREAT PRODUCT. Maybe a velcro closure at the top? GREAT GAITS
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pinnacle™ Stretch XT Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent gaiters

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Morgan
Location: PDX, Or
Had their trial run yesterday - all day bucking brush off the trail - raining and 42 degrees. I'm 6'3"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pallbearer
Passaic,NJ
 
Please wait while more information about Pallbearer is loaded.
Additional information about Pallbearer could not be loaded.
The Perfect Gaiter
Posted February 25, 2012
Perfect fit......(M)..size......Im 5'8 and I have a size 11 Boot size...No hang and very firm fit...I dont even notice they are on,.Backpacking,Hiking...and Ice Climbing they do the job every time Im outdoors..Dont even bother to look at other brands...this is the only one you will ever need....Pinnacle Stretch XT..
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)