Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Epic™ Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Epic™ Jacket

Epic™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.147 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
18 out of 20(90%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor H2O resistance, lining flaking off

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
jm188
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought this jacket in '09. The jacket has steadily lost water resistance and the inside lining continues to flake off (see photo). I tried to buy some time by using the recommended waterproofing spray, but it only helped for a month or so. I've had other MH gear that's done well, but this shell didn't stack up.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
glds
Location: South FL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket. Wind and water proof. Great quality!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great rain jacket

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
chris2012
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lightweight and stowable. I actually wore it in a heavy snowfall over a fleece shirt and it worked out great. very good waterproofing. I like it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Slight flaws in design/manufacturing

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
OCDesign
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great coat, but the Velcro on the cuffs starts to tear at the fabric over time.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rain jacket

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
teamream
Location: Walhalla, SC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is perfect, except it fits a little large.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Jacket

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
bugboy152000
Location: Jay Peak, VT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I've had this jacket for about 2 months now. I live at Jay Peak ski resort in Vermont. I've used the jacket for biking, hiking and every day use. It truly is water PROOF. I feel into a brook wearing it and didn't get wet. Not quite breathable. It’s a water proof jacket, what do you expect?? Wears very light and with the side vents your torso will breathe. Sleeves don’t vent as well but again, WATER PROOF. Durable material and very comfortable. Good fit for me. 5’10” 215 and I fit in a large perfect. Plenty of room for layering. I would recommend that you not put the jacket through a washing machine. Wet cloth and a little dish soap will clean the jacket and keep it like new. I really love the product and I’m happy that I bought it. You will like it too. I have lots of MH gear and all of it is well made.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent travel jacket

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Zeph
Location: København, Denmark
Experience: Avid
Employee: Yes
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my epic as a backup to my Spinoza when I didn't want to have to worry about taking a nice jacket out for a night on the town. The price point on this coat is fantastic and its every bit as waterproof and functional as I need, even in the sudden torrential downpours of Copenhagen where I live now.
Most of all though what I have really come to appreciate about this jacket is it's weight and packing ability. You can literally pack this thing up and fit it anywhere, I've even found myself packing it on days when I was all but guaranteed not to need it simply because it made so little difference to the weight or capacity of my day bag.
Only negative is that it's only DryQ Core, so if you're going to be moving around you might notice some vapor retention and the membrane start to cling to your skin a bit, but for $100 you really can't ask for anything more.
Bottom Line: It's a perfect every-day jacket for unexpected precipitation and affordable enough you don't have to preoccupy yourself with protecting it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Singin' in the rain

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Puko
Location: Novi, MI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has exceeded my expectations in all areas, function, fit, flexibility, and form.
I usually look to Mountain HardWear first and have never been disappointed.
Highly recommend for the outdoor enthusiast.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Crinkly

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
SWMontanaDave
Location: SW Montana
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket makes me want to roll around in the wet autumn leaves. The material is so nice an waterproof-crinkly right now! I just replaced my ultralight hiking jacket with this one and I can tell that it's going to be better in cooler temps because its less breathable but it's also probably more waterproof and half the cost. For a mid-upper price range jacket geared towards cooler temps I give it a thumbs up. Love the color, zour. The zippers are durable. The elastic waist adjustment pulls are quality and so is the stitching. Downside? None, if its cooler outside. Maybe we'll see how quick it disintegrates and I'll write back. Think about sizing down one size. I did and it's still a generous tube.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for windy and wet northern Japan!

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
AFScottD
Location: Aomori-Ken, Japan
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice lightweight hard shell. I've used this in some cold, wet, and windy mountains in northern Japan and this jacket held up wonderfully.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Jacket!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
GrizzlyMac
Location: Boise, ID
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This jacket performed as advertised, and even exceeded my expectations. It kept me dry during a very wet backpacking trip through Glacier National Park, and also protected me from voracious mosquitoes! Packs small as well, so easy to transport while backpacking.
In summary, great rain (and bug) protection, so I highly recommend it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket for rainy climates

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
BAPaik
Location: Newark, DE
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Background: I purchased an Epic Jacket in August 2011, and this was prior to the jacket being made with the Dry-Q material. In December 2011, I got another because I wanted to have a brighter jacket for biking at night, and I really liked the previous one.
All that is to say, the Dry-Q material is fantastic. While the older material was a little rubbery on the interior, The Dry-Q material does not feel that way at all. This leaves the jacket feeling much lighter and more breathable. The armpit zippers are perfect for ventilation on days when it might be 60 or 70 and you get a nice spring rain -- you don't feel like you're hot-boxing your core.
I've primarily used this jacket for biking in the rain. And with the Epic pant, I actually look forward to rain rides as I get to whip out my great gear and stay dry. I keep one jacket in the office, and one jacket at home, just in case rain comes in midday and I wasn't prepared. I can't complain about either jacket, but the Dry-Q material ultimately feels better.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
tomast
Location: chicago
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a forestry surveyor and I was invited to a forestry conference in Copper Canyon Mexico in the state of Chihuahua, Copper Canyon is part of the continental divide and has some spectacular views we were stationed about 7700 ft above sea level during the monsoon season with average temp in the 50-60's at higher elevation the average temps were around 40-50 degrees fehrenheit with heavy rain during the day and nightly temps at 25-30 degrees fehrenheit. t rained heavy everyday and had snow at night two nights in a row. I purchased the epic jacket specificaly for this trip because of dramatic weather changes in this area at lower elevations the weather would jump up to 75-80 degrees fahrenheit and trun into a lush tropical rain forest and at high altitudes all apine forest. While there I took several tours of the area with the group in heavely forested areas and did some rock climbing and hiking. The epic jacket held up to heavy rain for 7 days it blocked cold winds and with a heavy midlayer worked perfectly in snowy weather.When we ventured to lower elevations I wore a wicking tee shirt and my Epic Jacket while enduring 75 degree weather and heavy rain the pit-zips helped dump heat and ventilate. In the hot weather moisture inside my jacket was a problem the jacket didnt work to well in such a hot and humid eviroment but any thing blow 60 degrees it was perfect.This jacket is tough and took some abuse during the trip and held up well. It was the perfect shell for this enviroment anything thicker or heavier would have been uncomfortable in the lower altitudes and maybe overkill at higher elevations during this time of year. I would recomend this jacket highly.Back home I used it with my denali fleece to shovel 4 inches of snow and 28 degrees and was not overheated or cold, it worked perfectly and never leaked. The sizing is perfect for a fleece midlayer and loose enough to breath well in warmer climates. (as long as the temps were below 70 degress.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Epic Is True to Its Name

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nick2308
Location: Allentown,PA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is really well built and does what its suppose to(keeps the wet out). The jacket itself fits true to size but the arms seem to be a little long and I have long arms for my height, but the adjustable Velcro straps help. My only complaint about the jacket is how the hood is designed. It lays weird when its not up but it is not that big of a problem.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

hood containment

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
ivie2012
Location: boston ma
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
jacket fit well, but the hood's velcro fastener when it was folded in, was irritating the back of my neck with virtually every movement. sorely missed the zippered enclosure from the original jacket. my negative recommendation is based purely on the hood. the jacket was otherwise well designed.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Raincoat

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
seehorse
Location: Marquette, MI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got back from a two week long backpacking trip and I wore it almost everyday. I never got wet and it blocked the wind the whole time.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a good value

PostedMay 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deacon
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great priced rain jacket, fits true to size. This jacket is much improved with the Dry Q technology. Now much more breathable.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Epic jacket

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
JLew
Location: Fairfield, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is amazing. Day one I wore it to run in the rain. It kept me perfectly dry. I packed it with me on a trip to Europe. It rained the whole week. The jacket was great for me because of the weight. Also, the pit zips worked great after the rain left and the humidity set in.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Light Hiking Jacket

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
nanomountain
Location: Seattle
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Torso length of this jacket is about 1.5" - 2" longer than previous years model. Luckily, the drawstrings underneath the jack allows for proper shortening to make it an ideal fit. Overall quality is pretty good with a great does of ventilated features on the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Epic™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Epic Jacket

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bushie
Location: New South Wales, Australia
Had this jacket for a while now...
I haven't had any problems with it, personally..
A great lightweight jacket, and easy to pack away..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.