Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Epic™ Pant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Epic™ Pant

Epic™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
3 out of 3(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Epic™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Epic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I thought there would be pockets

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
CalFireandSAR
Location: Central California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I admit that I had to remove the tags before I put it on while attending SAR training in pouring rain. I stayed absolutely dry and it was easy to don the pants over my size 10 boots. I was surprised that there aren't any pockets in the pants though. The pass through areas to get to your pants pockets are a little small for a larger hand. The regular length pants are perfect for my stumpy 32" inseam though. I didn't even need to wear gaitors
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Epic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Performs very well

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
keifers
Location: Claryville, NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These pants perform as well as advertised. I am outside all day in all types of weather and these pants keep me very dry in the rain. The pants are big in the waist but fit well in the legs.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Epic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Protection

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Windchill
Location: Spokane, WA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I spent 24 hours in the rain at 65°f and these epic pants did a great job. I wear medium pants but got large epic rain pants. I put the epic pants over my regular pants and the fit was great. I like the ankle zips, they open enough to fit my large alpine/hiking boots through. Hiking in the woods I thought these would work like a vapor layer, but my pants and legs were dry all day. The DryQ works very well for me, I perspire quite a bit and it kept up. I recommend these pants to anyone looking to stay dry in the rain. These epic pants did so well I’m looking to buy the matching jacket.
If I could make an improvement: I do wish it had a small drawstring or belt loops to snug the waist a bit.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Epic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Waterproof, but very poor breathability

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
RainyRide
Location: Seattle, WA
I bought these pants for bicycle commuting in the rain. As far as I can tell, this membrane does not breathe at all. I used the pants yesterday for my morning commute. The temparature was 42 degrees and the roads were wet. It was not raining at all. I rode 6 miles at a moderate pace with shorts on under my pants. For my top I was wearing the Effusion Hooded jacket made with DryQ Active. By tht time I reached my destination, my leg hair was soaking and my shorts felt wet to the touch. I would classify it as more than just damp. My top, under the Effusion jacket was virtually dry. The difference was stark! Bottom line, use these pants if you expect heavy rain and don't expect to be doing aerobic activity.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Epic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good fit but not very breathable

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dipendra
Location: Portland, OR
These pants are lightweight and fit great. However, they are definitely not as breathable as claimed. I bought them to replace my Showers Pass cycling pants, which were horrible. The Epics are slightly better but not by much. I still get that clammy, wet and nasty feeling when I ride in them. Alas, a good measure of breathability has to be sacrificed for waterproofness in the wet Portland area. Definitely not for high aerobic activities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Epic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

First DryQ

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
CBugs
I do not have the matching bottoms to my Typhoon jacket(paclite goretex). Since MHW does not offer the matching pants, I went with the Epic pants made with the new DryQ. I think MHW has something here! I wore the Typhoon jacket and Epic pants today in light to moderate rain, low 60s. No pants underneath the Epic pants. I had just a Canyon short sleeve shirt underneath the Typhoon jacket. Eventually, I did feel that common feeling of clamminess/stickiness under the jacket at my arms. With the pants, not one bit, felt dry against my skin. I was stationary the entire time.
Fit, it is a little snug with pants underneath. I would like to see a little more room for those of us without "tooth pick" legs. The material is light, no doubt about it! Time will tell how durable the product will be. However, I have a lot of products from MHW and it is very difficult to justify buying the n
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Epic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome pants

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
muteone
Location: Marshall Islands
I live on a tropical island in south pacific where we get torrential rains often and of course, fairly warm so need a waterproof pant that is lightweight. These are excellent for this situation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Epic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jack of All Trade

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
JWright
Location: Portland, OR
I love these pants. I am 6'1" 200 lbs and these fit great. I have used these snow shoeing, hiking and backpacking. The ankles are nice and slim to keep out unwanted debris/water, or fit well under gaiters. There is plenty of room in the hip area for needed mobility. They are extremely light and pack up very small. Couldnt really ask for anything more.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Epic™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Epic

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
datdude
Just as the name says, these things are epic! They can for sure handle a downpour, and I can tell that the fabric is stout and will take a lot to tear em. All in all, can't say anything bad about em, just what i wanted for a backpacking rain pant -- compressible and sure to keep dry
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.