Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Mesa™ Pant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Mesa™ Pant

Mesa™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.311 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
19 out of 22(86%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
TJ11
Location: Africa
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are great. The material stands up against the harsh conditions and I have not found a pant that keeps you as cool as these in the heat. Have been using these in Africa from the 110 degree dry heat to the 90 with 100% humidity. Over all they are a great fit and true in size, the material feels great and has a slight stretch for when you need to move around quickly or bend down. The only thing I would like to see is the ability to add a personal belt to the pants, the current system in them does not support much weight and makes it difficult to carry items on you waist line.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around pant

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
rhino
Location: High Point, NC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very versatile pant. On the trail or on the streets, it's all good!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pants

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Whiskers
Location: San Diego. CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are great. I spend a lot of time in the field pushing through brush. SO far these pants have held up great. Love the built in belt and soft fabric inside the waistline. Both are great when carrying a full backpack.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

belt is only weak link

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
mikem
Location: DC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
love the pants- belt is kind of weak- thin and precludes you from throwing a knife or anything else on.....a belt. ditch the little internal belt and put in a good number of belt loops to support a real belt please
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Pants

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Huli
Location: NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I dislike things that are single purpose. These pants are not that! I am able to exercise, hike, go to the office, walk around town, everything in the pants! they look as nice as they feel, the first time I wore them to the office I thought I would get bad comments on not wearing slacks... I was wrong! Everybody commented on how nice they were and that they wanted to know where I got them.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of best light weight pants I own

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
BigFish
Location: California
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's hard to find a good pair of light weight pants that truly fit well. Most are made to fit everyone which usually results in fitting no one. These pant fit as sized, have well placed and functioning pockets and are very comfortable.
I originally bought one pair and after I wore them once, bought another.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The picture showed a zipper on each leg but there was none when I recieved the pants. Very dissappointed

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve5676
Location: Sidney, Ohio
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The picture showed a zipper on each leg but there was none when I recieved the pants. Very dissappointed
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Lightweight Pants

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
WOOD
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking for a lightweight backpacking pant to wear on an upcoming hike, but I liked these so much I had to buy three pairs so I could wear some everyday. The belt does twist sometimes, but I was willing to sacrifice some luxuries to save on weight. I like the look of the tan (cigar) ones for around town because they look like regular pant material more than the dark ones. The only sign of wear so far is on the side where I hold my skateboard and my grip tape rubs, but they've held up better in that respect than regular jeans. I also love that they dry so quickly I usually don't even have to put them in the dryer. All around great hiking pants.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Baggy Fit

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Moose17
Location: Missoula, MT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am tall and slim and I do not like the fit of these pants at all, I have not problem believe the material and everything is great, but don't think that I would want to take them on a hike, just because of how they fit. I will be sending these back, I wish they fit better because I want to like them, but fit is the most important part.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair of pants

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
johnny1
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fit was a lot larger than I wanted. The in seem was a little to long. They are very durable and work perfect in any environment. It dries very quick, and is compressible so it can fit in any pack.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Add belt loops to your pants

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blaster
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would have given this product an excellent, but I like wearing a belt and there is only 1 belt loop on these pants. The belt provided is weak. Great pants will definitly buy more, but will continue taking to tailer to sew belt loops on.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mesa Pants Have Changed

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mountainman40
Location: Lake George, NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The cut and fit of the older Mesa pants was great. I am disappointed in the change. The pants are now baggy through the hips and seat. I would love to find a couple of pairs of the older style. They are my favorite hiking and working pants. I returned the 2 newer pair that I ordered.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bring back the old Mesa Pant!

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hogie
Location: Canadian Rockies
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had a pair of pre-2008 Mesa pants since then. I've worn them for hundreds of days of climbing from the gym to the alpine and have loved them. I got given a new pair for my birthday and was so disappointed I returned them.
1) The cut has been ruined. Three of my climbing partners wear this pant as well, fits us all perfectly. The new ones fit huge in the legs and crotch, makes us look sloppy like mentioned in another review. MH can make pants for lots of other body types, but keep these in a climber's physique.
2) The fabric on the old Mesa is bombproof. Chimneys, ice axes and sharp branches from 5 years of use barely touch these pants. The new fabric looks like it would wear through in a month or two.
3) The old pants had perfectly placed and sized cargo pockets. Useful for many things, Guidebook, light jacket etc. And above the knee joint so you can walk freely with the pocket filled.
Bring back the old ones and make the climbing community stoaked again please.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hiking pant

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
WYOCB
Location: Wyoming
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fitting & light weight. Perfect 3 season hiking/backpacking pant!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MESA PANTS ARE GNAR GNAR!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Richie
Location: Afghanistan
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These pants looked great as soon as I felt the material, super light, and yet not stringy weak feeling. I've been wearing my pants for the last few days because they work so much better in the mountains of Afghanistan than a lot of other ones in my expedition clothing arsenal. The fit is spot on and I do not recommend trying to size up because your a muscular built person as is the case with a lot of climbing gear. Im a fairly muscular guy and the room in the crotch and thigh area is perfect. The waist is a comfortable fit with a soft microfleece liner around the inside portion.
Get your Gnar Gnar on with the Mesa Pant.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mountain Hard Wear Rocks!

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
PeterPo
Location: Ashland, Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mountain Hard Wear products are the best. Fit, function and fun. I am sold on the quality and practicality of their products.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Baggy Pants!?

PostedApril 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
volcanovaulter
Location: Asia-Pacific-Americas
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I really want to love these pants, but they are just a bit over sized from the usual MH pants products I've owned in the past. I have a 32in waist, wearing a medium pant and I have to cinch the belt up quite a bit. Length is good (I'm 33in inseam), but the pants are a bit baggy and loose in the rear and legs, giving almost a sloppy look to them. Not the outdoor professional look I was aiming for!
I agree with other reviewers that cargo pockets would be more useful and MH should add the option back for these pants. The design looks nice, great lines and materials, but not as functional as field pants!
All that said, MH always has excellent products and this, despite the design flaws, is no exception and other reviewers love them! Now the hard choice for me...bring the pants to a tailor and lose some of the quality or give these away and try a different MH style pant?
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants. Fit well. Don't wrinkle.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
dodette
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking for casual, comfortable, good looking pants for my husband for years. I didn't like the warmup pants he wore for casual daily wear. My daughter came up with these. He likes wearing them. I like the look.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An awesome hiking pant.

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joshua
Location: Massachusetts
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are pretty awesome for hiking. I have been wearing them for the past several weeks while hiking and backpacking and they have been perfect. The pockets have ample room for anything you may want easily accessible while hiking, and the zip pocket on the leg is awesome for stashing a cellphone or lighter or an energy bar. The material around the waistband and in the crotch of the pant makes them incredibly comfortable to wear, and definitely helps with comfort when wearing a pack. The DWR finish sheds water surprisingly well and it also does a decent job blocking wind.
These pants are pretty awesome. If you are looking for a good backpacking pant this is the one to go with for sure.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Mesa™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

comfortable

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
ShaNaeNae
Location: Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: Yes
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these for my husband. He had a pair from last season and liked them so much we ordered a 2nd pair. He said they run slightly smaller in the waist than his old pair, and the khaki color is a little darker. Otherwise, comfortable, dry quickly and has a little stretch. Overall nice hiking pant.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.