Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant

Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall rating:
4.317 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
18 out of 20(90%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Review 1 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great light wieght pant

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
shon
Location: NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Over all I like the way the pants feel and move. They are lightweight and are good in hot weather. I bought them for the Kuwait desert, which can reach 130 degrees or more.
Fit: The fit chart did not help me at all. It said M was 32-34. I am a 34 inch waist and I ordered the M. It came and I was surprised to find they were extremely tight on the waist. I reordered the L (36-38) and hoped for the best. They fit perfectly and I purchased both the zip offs and the regular pants.
Improves: not a big fan of the lack of belt loops, would like to have the option to add a belt. And I am not a huge fan of the front pockets. I love the pockets on the Piero pant. The top down pocket is not as comfortable for me.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Mesa

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
MtnAddict
Location: Littleton, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fit is a little large, do not like that there is no cargo pocket and the straight flat front pockets are a little weird. The integrated belt has got to go, useless. The pant leg openings could be a little larger as well. Overall quality is typical MH great, but the design leaves much to be desired...
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding!

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
BigRosey
Location: VA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent fit. Right on the money. Love the convertible option. length of the shorts with the legs removed are a socially acceptable length as opposed to other convertibles I've owned. Very durable, great rock climbing as well as hiking or casual wear. Color representation was outstanding as well. Very comfortable, lightweight and water repellant.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight & no chafing!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mason
Location: Houston, Texas
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son loves these pants. We couldn't find them at the stores in Houston, so we ordered them online and they were delivered right on time! My son swears by these. He says they are much lighter weight than other brands (like Columbia), which means that they dry out very fast. He also likes that the waistband has a soft fabric lining, instead of a gathered waistband. He says this means he doesn't get chafing at the waistline like he does on some of his other pants. This is the only brand of hiking pants he will wear. He's wearing them in Patagonia, Chile' right now!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable Fitting Convertible Pants

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
AndyC
Location: Franklin Massachusetts
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased these to replace older model Mountain Hardwear Pants that were about 6 years old. There was nothing wrong with the old ones - I dropped some weight (diet and exercise) and my waistline got smaller. The new version is a little lighter in terms of nylon materials but seems to be just as well made. I did unzip the legs and remove them on a hot fall day, and they were pretty easy to put back on when the temps dropped later on. The front pockets are deep but they are top down entry (like jeans) instead of a slant or side entry. Back pocket stays shut with hidden velcro tab. I personally would prefer the back pocket shifted more to the side so that you don't have to sit on a wallet when you are driving. Some other retailers make gear with that feature. Overall, these pants look good, are just plain comfortable and can be worn outdoors or on the trail, and work equally well at most restaurants. They do a decent job in terms of keeping the wind out, but I haven't found them too hot on a warm day. They pack very well in a suitcase or backpack. I have several other convertible pants from other major retailers and these pants top them all.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants!

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rimshot1
Location: North Alabama
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
We broke these pants in on a 4 day, 3 night hike through the Smoky Mountains during 75+ degree days and our last day we woke up to 38 degrees and a wind over 25 mph in a drizzling rain. The pants were warm and are comfortable, quick to change into shorts and probably the only ones we will take on future trips. No issues with the belt as some people have mentioned. Great color choices in them as well! The photo has me and my 2 boys on top of Chimney Tops wearing the Mesa convertible pants.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 19 year old son loves these

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
ma53
Location: Tiskilwa, Il
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 19 yr.old college student asked for another pair of these pants. the first pair is in good condition but he got some paint on them. He said that these were great this past hot summer and would love a second pair so I just bought a pair for under the Christmas Tree and I'm sure they will be a hit. He also esp. loves the little bolt stitched on them.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
yarian
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had a bit of bad luck with this product. A few uses in, after some light scrambling, it developed fraying and a hole or two.
However, I have since worn it a ton, including thirty days almost back-to-back, all day, and it has held up since then extremely well.
MH advertises this as a lightweight back-packing pant, so it shouldn't be a surprise that it does not stand well to rock. If you find scrambling bits while on a hike, be careful.
I have used these almost exclusively as shorts, since it has been way too warm for pants. The length as shorts is perfect, not too low that it rubs when you sit but just right.
It also stands well to rain. It's not waterproof and rain does not bead, but it dries fairly quickly. It's fairly odor-resistant and if you sweat a lot you'll be glad to know you won't feel clammy in them.
Overall I am happy with the purchase, and I expect these shorts (or pants) will continue to serve me well for hikes to come.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Add belt loops to your pants

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blaster
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would have given this product an excellent, but I like wearing a belt and there is only 1 belt loop on these pants. The belt provided is weak. Great pants will definitly buy more, but will continue taking to tailer to sew belt loops on.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super comfortable waist

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sunny5326
Location: San Diego, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I loved the fabric and shape of the waist. I did a quick hike with the 3 year old on my back. No bunching or chaffing under hip pads.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very satisfied

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
kurt
Location: berkeley, ca
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i'm roughly a 31-33 in pants, and SM-Long fits me near perfectly. Overall I'm very very satisfied with these. I got the grill color, and it's a great shade. I have two small gripes with them,
- they're ever so slightly baggier than I'd like (I tend to wear slim fitting things)
- pockets are ever so slightly larger than I'd like, making it a tiny bit difficult to fish things out
Stil, incredibly comfortable, look good, very satisfied with them.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent backpacking pant

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
patrickabq
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly functional and well-designed -- belt, zips and pockets are all perfectly placed and comfortable. I just returned from a 5-day backpacking trip to the South Colony Lakes & Humboldt Peak in southern Colorado, and the pants performed well in all conditions, from temps in the 90s to the 30s. Material seems a bit lightweight, so I don't know how well it'll hold up to repeated use. But overall this is a terrific piece of clothing for hiking in variable conditions. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tent like material awesome!

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tyr0981
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wicks away moisure with ease (i sweat hevily) tough abrasion resistance, great fit i was looking for, i have an older pair of these pants that where a lttle too small for me, buti loved them so much i continued ising them, these are the best quality and most usful for their intent, cloths i own.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love them

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
x60ce
Location: WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I really like these pants for hiking. I wish the shorts part was a little shorter but othe than that I love these pants. I think they are a little thick but that helps with the brush.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Short guys get no respect

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tarkmyler
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used to love MH convertibles and buy at least 1 pair per year. They are the best. Unfortunately, now, there is no reason to buy a convertible. I have to buy shorts or another brand. The 11" inseam is a knicker for short men. When I'm hiking up hill it binds over the knee. I prefer a 6" inseam, but can go 8". 11" is a joke.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

watch the size

PostedMay 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Berrnard
Location: New Albany, IN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product and i love MH. but watch for ur right size. i wear a medium in everything but for pants in MH, i need a small. needless to say i just blindly ordered a medium without looking at the chart. Anyway, overall great pants. belt works well and interior there is a microfiber material that is comfy and wicks sweat away. very light and durable also.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Pants

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
caamot
Location: Boulder, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A little long for me. Although they are great quality they are longer than the 30's I am used to.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great casual pant for all seasons

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Washington
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love the functionality of these pants, especially for summer!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I will be buying more

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Digmy78
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are excellent. I originally bought them because of the zip cuff at the bottom of the legs. I was recovering from an injury and needed to find some pants that would fit over a walking cast. I have owned a few other brands of convertible pants (Cabelas, Columbia, REI and North Face) and these are by far my favorites. I have owned them for several months now and used them in the Rockies and the Alps. I love them. They are amazingly versatile. You can put a base or mid layer under them for cold weather, or convert them to shorts when it is warmer. They are also light and thin enough to wear under some over-pants if it gets really rough, or are transitioning to a snow sport. When they get wet, they dry very fast. I like the front pockets. They are positioned so that stuff doesn't fall out of your pockets when you sit down (unlike my REI or North Face). My only complaint it that if you don't wash them exactly according to the directions, they shrink just a tiny bit (in the length). The two recommendations I have to Mountain Hardware are these;1. make the belt a little wider to avoid belt twisting and the pants rolling over a bit at the top of the waist. 2. Consider zippers on the back pockets instead of Velcro, which can be uncomfortable on cold hands. Thanks MH, I will be buying more in the future!!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Mesa™ Convertible Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pants --- Bad Belt

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
BeardedCanadian
Location: Sutton, MA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am a professional guide and lead trips that are often a month in length. Generally I wear shorts, but this past season I spent several months in Northern Canada and wanted something that had a full leg and some substance to it. These pants are perfect for that. The shorts are not short, they come just above the knee, which I like. The material is a little thicker than some nylonish pants and was perfect for the conditions I was in. I do get hot easy so for mid summer in the lower 48, I probably wouldn't wear these.
The pants are durable. I wore them scrambling with a 70lb+ pack over class 4 terrain high in the mountains, every day for almost two months and they are still like brand new...except for the funky smell. I really wish MH could fix that for me.
The only gripe I have is with the belt. Some reviewers stated it dug in. I didn't find that at all. What I did find was that it got twisted with no way to turn it without taking it completely out. I didn't do this in the field opting to try it at home. I am sure it will turn out fine, and to alleviate the twisting I will be sewing tha back of the belt into the pant itself. Hopefully that will make a difference.
For those people giving these pants a low rating because it doesn't have belt loops and has an internal belt, all I can say is, don't buy pants that have those features if you won't want them. That is totally your fault, not the pants. I hope your judgement in the backcountry is better than when shopping or there could be some lost hikers. ;)
Overall I really like these pants.
Recommended Uses:
Backpacking in cooler climates (below 60 degrees for me).
Drinking beer around a campfire.
Smelling up the tent after a few weeks in the backcountry.
Sizing:
I am 5'9" and 180 lbs of pure outdoor adventure and the medium short fit perfect...after a couple weeks in the field they were a little lose.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MountainDreams
Pleasant Grove, UT
 
Please wait while more information about MountainDreams is loaded.
Additional information about MountainDreams could not be loaded.
bring back the old style, PLEASE
Posted February 24, 2012
I have been a loyal Mountain Hardware customer though various distributors. I am very disappointed in the sacrificing of function in the new style of the mesa convertible. It seems the cargo pockets and hem draw cord have been eliminated in an effort to decrease costs. In my opinion the new style is missing the 2 most favorably distinguishable atributes; expanded cargo pockets and the draw cord at the leg hem. If cost is an issue you would be better served to past the cost on to the customer rather than eliminate the atributes that defined the funcionality of the product. Please bring back the old style. I hate to think Mountain Harware would sacrifice function for any reason.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)