Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter

Mountain Hardwear Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter

Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Overall rating:
3.769 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
6 out of 8(75%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Review 1 for Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for Grand Canyon

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Em1033
Location: Northern Arizona
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I ordered three pairs for three different Grand Canyon rangers. None of us got more than a few hikes in with these before we trashed them. I don't know if it was the fine dust of the trails or what, but the zippers failed on all six gaiters. Also, the velcro on the heel failed to stick to the velcro on the gaiters. Unfortunately, this is by far the worst MH product any of us has ever used, and we use a lot of MH. Try something else.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great UL Option

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
DaveR
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I put these gaiters to the test on the Wonderland Trail a few days after purchasing. The goal was to go light and fast and these gaiters fit the bill.
The fit was true and comfortable. Once I put them on I completely forget about them. The velcro/adhesive system seemed odd at first, but was very effective. I loved being able to leave the gaiter on my shoes when I took them off at night. I only had to put them on once at the beginning of the trip, the rest of the time it was just zipping them up or down.
No issues with water or abrasions. These performed as advertised.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfecto!

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ana666
Location: Mill Valley-Ca
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got a gaiter for myself and liked so much that I got another one to give to a friend. We use it for long distance running, in rocky or sandy terrain, it works great and fits it's purpose. I love the 2 little straps in the front to secure that the gaiter doesn't move up. The zipper is perfect if you want to just change socks of check your feet, you unzip it and voila`! you don't have to strip the gaiter off!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Some important drawbacks

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
RavBard
Location: Tivoli, NY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
In theory these gaiters work great to keep stones and other detritus out of shoes while running. In practice, the sticky tabs that velcro the gaiters to the backs of your shoes do not stick well on mesh, and many shoes (notably my New Balance 1020's) have a back that is mostly mesh. And despite the review I read that claimed that they work great without the sticky velcro tabs, they do *not* work without the tabs. If your shoes have a solid or almost completely solid back, these gaiters are great. If there's a lot of mesh across the back, think twice about buying them.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seta Strapless Gaiter

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
BirdMan
Location: Colorado
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
They work great but are still too short from front to back of my shoes. I wear a size 11.5 which should be well within the range of the XL but they are not long enough.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product. I only hope the included velcro will continue to stick to my shoes with use.

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Finnmark
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the size large for use with my size 12 shoes when the XL was recommended. I wanted a snug fit and actually the large is perfect for my needs.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice light weight gaitor but needs a few changes

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karunak
Location: Fort Bragg, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good job making a light weight gaiter. Though i would change a few things, the velcro tabs at the toe are really small and finicky so i sewed a nice hook onto the edge of the gaiter so that i can easily take them on and off. The zipper seems really tiny, like on a women's skirt, i hope it holds up. It would be nicer to see a more substantial zipper. Otherwise the fabric is great and the size of the gaiter is nice. I am a women with size 9 shoes and got the large, and glad i did, the medium would be too tight.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as good as old version...

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
JOPh
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I own two pairs of the Seta gaiter, the first being from a couple years ago when the front piece (towards the toe) that connects to the laces was a small plastic hook. This worked much better than the velcro pieces they've since put there. The current velcro strips are small and a pain to attach/detach, and tend to bunch up in the center after walking.
Otherwise this is a nice gaiter. I really like the clean finished edges on the top and bottom that protect the stitching from abrasion well. I've had other gaiters where the stitching on the inside gets shredded from walking and inevitably scraping there. IMO gaiters should be as stitch-free as possible. These after held up well over the seasons, just wish they'd go back to the simpler front connection.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for long distance hiking

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
TideWalker
Location: Huntsville, AL
I got these gaiters for my thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail, but I ended up using a different brand. I did not like how tight they fitted as well as the hassle to get them on and off every time. I still have them and will most likely use them, but I'm glad I had others for the AT.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seta Gaiter

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shylo
Location: Old Lyme, CT
Albeit quite expensive, the new light-weight gaiter is a great addition. I use it with my desert boots on twice-weekly AMC hikes in CT. It easily stays in place. It is better than the short gaiters which are heavier and puffier. The only item that is not explained is that it comes with a velcro piece one must attach to the heel of his shoe. So, I am limited in using it with only one pair of hiking shoes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but for one thing...

PostedMay 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
They need to come with more 3M Dual Lock fasteners. I want to be able to use these for several pairs of shoes and the 3M fasteners are not readily available. Please provide more fasteners or the option to buy extras.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light and effective

PostedApril 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
FoxShadow
I use these to guard from burrs, sand, scree, snow, anything other than water. They're not waterproof, but they are light and breathable and stay in place -- I'm very happy with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Seta™ Strapless Running Gaiter
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect for Trails in the Sandhills

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
SinkorSwim
Location: NC
They are great for keeping the sand and pine needles out of your shoes. Light and cool; they are perfect for their intended purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.