Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Jovian™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Jovian™ Jacket

Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall rating:
3.938 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
5 out of 7(71%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All around performer

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
SawtoothScott
Location: Boise ID
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am just a tad over 5'11" and I weigh 200 lbs.. I am very pleased with the fit and function of the large. Arm length, waist, and placement of the pockets are spot on for me. The hood is an easy on and off with my BD helmet. The jacket breathes well and there is minimal moisture build up during cool or cold weather activities. This is my primary alpine mountaineering, winter ski/snowshoe, and backpacking rain shell. I still use my old MH Synchro soft shell for skiing, but this jacket would be fine there as well. I do will wear a fleece under it when needed (it and the Densa seem to work well together) but I throw the puffy over it while climbing during breaks. The fabric stands up well to my pack and I have noticed no real wear and tear over use.
I am very pleased with this jacket and I expect a number of good years ahead in use.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Odd Sizing

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Simpydog
Location: Virginia
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have never had a problem with sizing and Mountain Hardwear jackets until purchasing this jacket. I am 5'11 and 170, w/ an average build. All of my Mountain Hardwear attire (jackets/shirts) is size L. After taking it out of the box and trying it on, I noticed two major issues right away. The length was extremely short and the opening for the arms was tight. I was only wearing an oxford shirt and do not have Hulk Hogan 24 in pythons for arms but immediately noticed that this coat had an odd cut. No way would I be able to wear additional layers underneath. Anyway, not for me, and will be returning it.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Try foul weather sailing jacket first

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
pete101
Location: san Francisco
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I just bought this jacket because it was recommended by avid outdoor people I know. A few days after I bought it I went sailing (in the San Francisco bay). I had a cotton and wool shirts under the jacket. I felt that the wind seemed to go through the MHW jacket as compared to a foul weather sailing jacket.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable and Simple

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wolteroutside
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got the Jovian to be my do-it-all shell in the Colorado high country. Primary use will be resort skiing, but felt this was a better choice than MH's ski specific shells due to its durable material and simpler design. I'm 5'8", 165, even though medium size fits me fine in Patagonia and Marmot, I had to bump up to a large for MH to allow room to layer my Marmot Zeus (medium) down jacket underneath. I ski with a Monkey Man (medium) underneath and I've been plenty warm on a zero degree day. Going with the large also compensates for the shorter back length some complain about, and gives unrestricted movement which I was concerned about with the alpine fit. The hood fits easily over my K2 ski helmet which is great for cold lift rides, it gives enough peripheral vision to ski with it if necessary. The hand warmer pockets are huge and go all the way up to the chest seam, which would work great for fitting skins or a soft water bottle. I have not had a chance to hike with the jacket so I can't speak to the DryQ heat management. Also have not had the jacket in wet conditions yet. I feel like the jacket will handle anything I throw at it in the future from backcountry skiing to ice climbing to winter Fourteener ascents, and is a quality product.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small jecket

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Justin
Location: New Hampshire
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am 5' 10" 162lbs and even without an insualtion layer this jacket was tight. It is a trim cut and a thin fabric but I am sure it will repell wind and rain well.
I would recommend this product.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tate
Central Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about Tate is loaded.
Additional information about Tate could not be loaded.
What size
Posted November 28, 2012
Did you order a small, or a medium? I am the exact same height and weight. I am not sure if your title "small jacket" means size small or it is too small. All MH gear in medium is spot-on for me.
Also, jacket is spelled with an "a" not an "e" so I am not sure if this is a legit review or not.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hooligan
Location: Honolulu, HI
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Recently wore this during an extended stay in the mountains of Papua New Guinea, and it did everything I expected it to. It kept me dry in some serious rain and was quite comfortable while doing so. The pockets are huge and don't get in the way when wearing a harness. The hood is large enough to accommodate a helmet but can be adjusted so it fits just fine when you're not.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Price = Top Quality

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve25
Location: Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just got this jacket a few days ago. I've taken it through excessively windy hikes and through snowy conditions, and I can already tell this is my new favorite jacket!
Soft to the touch (not like other 'trash-bag-like rain jackets) and never overheating, yet never bitten by the wind either!
My only complaint (if you want to call it that) is that it runs SHORT. Being 6'2", a size Large is able to cover my back well and holds snug agains me (while wearing a sweater underneath), but doesn't sit much lower than my belt-line...
I can't say I'll be riding my bike in the rain with this thing on, unless I want my back dripping wet.
Other than that, it's an excellent jacket for any activities where you're upright and not stretching out too far.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hardwear for Hardmen

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wallflower
Location: Eastern Sierra
This is to date the best hardshell I've ever owned! FINALLY, the umbrella hood we've always wanted that is functional and fashionable. This new breathable fabric is unparalleled both in performance and weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Really bad outer material fabric

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andy1234
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Hello!
I tested this jacket for 4 days in Macedonia and here is my quick conclusion. This damage happen in 2-4 hours easy walking in heavy snow with backpack on me. It was a new Deuter backpack with good straps. Outer material get rugged after this walking really badly. Please see pictures. I am really in doubt if this jacket is really so good as MH says. Really disappointed in MH quality.
Outer and interior material get really wet when hiking so I really have a doubt if this dryq works in waterproof area. It breath really well because I can stay in jacket in room quite a long before I get hot. If I would do this with goretex it is no way I can hold that long.
See picture of how external material get wet (also inside and it was not my sweating inside!!!) see damage of a jacket after few hours of walking with it. Jacket was new, never washed!!!!!
-2points
11of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Relly bad outer fabric

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
cayysi
Hi! I used jacket 2-3 hours in heavy snow with backpack and outer material get damaged under arms.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nato
Location: argentina
This jacket is great for everything. The new fabric works really well. Its breathable and also repels water nicely. I walked for hours in the rain and stayed dry from the inside out and also from the outside in. Its great for daily alpine missions and long expeditions when you need to rely on your gear for multiple days
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light on Weight, Heavy on Function

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mhowiejr
Location: Beaver Creek, Colorado
I was looknig for a all around, do it all, light weight shell and the Jovian hit it right on the bullseye! Ultralight and strong. So far this is my new favorite jacket for everything this season. It breaths well with heavy activity and is keeping me dry on those soggy days. Volumous hood to fit over a helmet for those super windy ski lift rides.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Jovian Jacket

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
SwissT
The most breathable jacket I have used, totally waterproof and looks great. Does run a bit small in the arms meaning difficult to get gauntlets under cuffs. If this is an issue check out the Victorio jacket which has a more generous cut to the arms.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No match for Ecuador!

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
reconronin
Location: Orange County, Ca
Just returned from Ecuador's volcanoes and took the Jovian as my shell. I am at a crossroads with my gear in that I am trying to reduce my loads and the argument between soft shell / hard shell ALWAYS seems to come up in my group...more on that later. The Jovian found its way into my pack and here are my initial thoughts.
Size runs a tad on the small side. If you are reaching up over your head to place an ice tool, the jacket will lift on you. Also, there is not a ton of room in the neck when it is fully zipped and it was hard to unzip once all the way up. Had to take off my gloves to do this.
Pockets are good and out of the way of your harness. Hood was just the right size. We got hammered with weather from rain to lots of Sierra Cement type snow and the DryQ Elite was bomber! This of course is the most important reason for the shell and it did not disappoint! More later!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable jacket!

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
GuybrushThreepwood
Location: Portland Oregon
This jacket will blow your mind! It fits perfectly, it's incredibly light weight, completely waterproof and looks awesome! A great fit for alpine climbing, or for just around town. Very durable material too. I only wish it was a tiny bit warmer. But at 1lb 1 oz there's not much room for insulation! Still enough room to throw on a warm base layer with it. All around great jacket! Well done MH
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Jovian™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First impressions

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
tnewkirk
Location: Vancouver, BC
I primarily purchased this as a backcountry outer shell, but as the season is still a ways out I figured I'd put it to use as my do everything shell. The seasons are changing here in Vancouver and as a bike commuter this time affords me ample opportunity test it's durability and 'weatherability'. Well..... I find it to be the perfect high-activity foul-weather shell. It sheds the torrential rains of the North Shore and handles my heat output on my daily commute. I can't wait to see if it helps out with the moisture laden air of the Coastal Range this winter -where last year- I had a difficult time adjusting my gear to deal with the variable climates I work in.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.