Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Kepler™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Kepler™ Jacket

Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.133 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good but... I would prefer a few tweaks for downhill skiing

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
ActiveTim
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality, fit, looks, weather proof-ness, durability are all top notch. I have never been cold or wet in this when layered appropriately.
I use this 100% for downhill skiing (about 30 days with this coat so far), yet this shell is marketed for winter sports in general- so take my comments with grains of salt. Might be perfect for other sports, or maybe its like all-mountain skis - good for all, not greatest for any.
My skiing reservation is solely with the hood and face protection when its zipped up all the way.
1) The hood is "helmet compatible" but its very awkward to wear over or under my top of the line Giro ski helmet. Maybe all shell hoods are goofy this way now days...?
2) I wish the collar went higher on my face when it is zipped up all the way so that I could hide more of my face from the cold when on the chairlift. This one only goes to about my chin. Yes... neck gators and balaclavas were made to address this gap...
Summary: I will buy MHW shells again, but I would check their alternative shells more carefully to see if there were a better choice for skiing.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall good shell

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
phxeric
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far I've been really pleased with this jacket, with only a few drawbacks. The fit is great (I'm 6'0", 170 lbs) with just enough room to throw a midlayer on under it, but slim enough to toss a puffy over it for belays or to look good around town. Haven't been rained on yet, but it kept me warm ice climbing in ouray and biking to work in 30-degree temps with a light baselayer underneath. Only three notable drawbacks--the inside face of the pockets is mesh, not nylon or fleece, so I've found that my hands get cold in the pockets when air seeps up under the hem.Also, the chest pocket is a little too small for my wallet to fit comfortably when wearing around town. Last note is that while I really like the neoprene cuff lining, the inserts are too short for me to be able to comfortably use the thumbholes.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light and Functional

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
climber1234
Location: Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would highly recommend this product. I am a climber/skier/mountaineer and got this jacket as a work jacket-of-all-trades. It's very light with a little bit of fleece lining. I would not want to wear this in freezing weather without something on underneath. Seems breathable and it is very waterproof. Fit's very slim, especially in the sleeves, with plenty of room in the trunk for extra layers. I'd buy it again.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a universal jacket

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
newport54
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is a good jacket… I'm not a climber, but spend as many days in the back country chasing trout and steelhead. I wade in Norcal winter rain in this jacket and it keeps me 100% dry. i have hiked through eastern sierra thunderstorms and stayed cool (sweat-free) and dry. This is a universal jacket! i would like to see the "Butter Jersey" cuffs become a neoprene material…
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

first shell ever

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Colorado1
Location: Colorado
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well I have had two of these jackets thus far the first one suffered a zipper issue in the first month,sent it back for new one, now I noticed some material flaking off the sleeve about the size of a dime,dont know why as of yet but I just sent in a email about this issue and I am gonna send this one in for repairs or a new one.All in all its a great jacket feels great and its wind proof and water proofing are a perfect five this jacket is used over my new Ghost Whisper along with a wool base liner when wet and cold weather are anounced.Will post on how the company responds and deals with this new issue with the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As expected from MHW

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Simmo
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lots of strange reviews of this around - some say long arms, some short. Tight in the armpits, really boxy cut. Softshell or hardshell.... I'm 5'11'' - 98kg with a solid build...this is the perfect cut for me, i have big arms and it fits well everywhere, i'd say it's fit is slightly large (as i toggle between L and XL on most brands)....but if you've had MHW before in a L, this will fit the same....a brilliant piece that i use for everything....a bit heavier than my old MHW Berrillym Pro shell, but so much more breathable. Hardshell (nylon) with a soft touch....really great jacket, highly recommended.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice jacket but short of great

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
mturoamer
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The good:
DryQ fabric does breathe very well and is waterproof
Brushed (fuzzy) interior is nice against skin, adds some warmth
Alpine cut is slim and mobile
Butter cuffs are comfortable
High quality feel, fabric is soft, quiet.
The bad:
Pockets are EXACTLY where a pack waistbelt sits and are not "high cut" as described.
Hood is OK, but when put over a helmet, the neck of jacket falls under the chin, with no space for a neck gaiter leaving the chin exposed. Not very good for cold mountain days.
Butter cuffs thumb loops are non-functional - the cuffs aren't long enough to allow them to be used
Brushed interior doesn't slide over fleece very well. And the slim cut makes it a very snug fit with an R2 thickness fleece underneath.
Overall:
not for super-cold weather due to hood and neck problems. Not for BC skiing due to waist belt problem. Nice for medium cold to mild weather. Fix the butter cuffs, and a little more height to the hood and neck, and move the pockets to a true "high cut" position and it's a winner.
I do not recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rain Jacket

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Whiskers
Location: San Diego. CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is great. Being a tiny bit heavier than just a shell, it is perfect for those rainy days here in southern CA. Been through a couple storms and sheds water like a duck.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Amazing quality and design... still not sure if I will keep it

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
JGrods
Location: Boston, MA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a really hard review to write. Full disclosure: I have yet to wear this for it's intended purpose (skiing, ice climbing, etc) but I know just based on the construction and holding it in my hands it will be totally BOMB PROOF.
When you order it form the site, it's categorized as hard shell yet is described as soft shell. At first I thought it was a typo, but there is actually no better way to classify this thing. You need to feel it to believe it yourself.
So why might I not keep it? The fit is extremely aggravating. The entire jacket except for the mid-section is absolutely perfect.
I am 5'11" and 190lbs. Athletic build, but not skinny. I generally fluctuate between a large and medium depending on the Brand and function.
I bought the Ghost Whisperer along with this jacket to be used in conjunction for my winter activities. For the most part, the GW (size medium) is perfect. The Kepler though is just plain frustrating... I ordered the large, because of some other reviews, plus I knew I would have a couple layers underneath it. If it weren't for the mid-section of this jacket I think I would have nailed the fit perfectly. Unfortunately, it feels like I need to gain an extra 25lbs in the stomach area to make this thing fit...
Why not get a medium??? I'm afraid that the medium will restrict my arms, shoulders, arm pits and back too much. These areas are perfect in large.
I ordered this online, so I'm struggling with what to do next. I may try to find a local store to try on the medium but it would be sweet if MH would do free returns to account for things like this.
I want to give this jacket a 1,000,000 out of 1,000,000 but the size thing is really throwing me off... If you can find a size that fits, BUY IT.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shell

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eric
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Kepler shell is fantastic. It has a streamlined fit that I appreciate as a climber, fitting nicely under a harness. The hood is spacious, fitting very well over a helmet. The DryQ fabric is exceptionally waterproof, and seems very breathable, certainly more so than any gore-tex shell I have used in the past. The fitting in the arms, the forearms in particular, is snug. I may have larger than normal forearms, but not abnormal for a fit climber. Over top of a couple of layers the forearms feel snug, and when reaching well overhead (think high ice axe placement) they pull quite tight and therefore pull the tail of the jacket out from under my harness. Although described as a softshell, and having the feel of a softshell, the Kepler is not "stretchy" at all. It's not a deal breaker for anything up to WI5, but this won't be my mixed climbing jacket... I have a MHW softshell that will pull that duty, as it's far more flexible. All in all, this is a fantastic jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!! A++

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
kjlanda
Location: Chicago
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another addition to my arsenal of MHW jackets...LOVE the State Orange color, although it is in fact quite loud. Looks like a walking highway safety cone! anyways, product is very good, shows MHW's dominance in super high quality, functional mountaineering jackets. I love the several pockets, as I live in the city and carry cell phone, keys, sunglasses, and ipod pretty much everywhere I go, every time. Highly recommended product, looks cool, functions great, cannot wait to wear it this fall & winter.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Even More Breathable than Windstopper

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jon9000
Location: Seattle
I got my Kepler to replace an old Dragon. Since the Kepler is ostensibly the replacement for the the Dragon, I thought I might share my impressions on the Kepler in comparison to the old jacket.
The Kepler seems to be a hard shell with a soft touch. On the MHW website, you can find this jacket in the shell section, described as a softshell. While that seems confusing (in no small part due to the fact that the site has a separate section for softshells where the Kepler is NOT located), it makes a lot of sense once you get your hands on it. It definitely has a soft feel both on the inside and on the face fabric, but the Dry.Q Elite membrane itself is rather stiff and a bit crinkly. The jacket overall is a lot softer than any hard shell, but it definitely is a shell. It's a lot more shell-like than the outgoing Dragon, but the face fabric feels more solid and the interior is softer against bare skin.
The fit is basically what I expected based on my experience with the Dragon and other MHW alpine jackets. The length in the back is long enough for bike riding. One thing that keeps coming up in reviews is the arm width/length. I definitely could have gone for narrower arm holes (where sleeves meet chest) because the jacket does lift up quite a bit when I lift my arms, but otherwise, the arms are perfect. I'm a pretty big-armed guy and the sleeves are plenty wide and long. I think when people talk about the lack of proper arm length, they mean when using the thumb loops. The butter jersey cuffs are recessed pretty far behind the wrist, so the thumb loops seem like an afterthought. The arms feel way too short when I use the thumb loops. When I forgo the loops and use the butter jersey cuffs as cuffs, the arms feel fine (and my wrists are ridiculously comfortable). Overall, I would say the fit and feel of the Kepler is an improvement over the Dragon.
It's waterproof. There is no doubt about that. My old Dragon was clearly not waterproof. It didn't even have a watertight main zipper. It did take a pretty serious rain to wet out the Dragon, but the Kepler is waterproof in all rains. The 40,000 mm waterproof rating means you could put a 130(!) foot column of water on the shoulder and not a drop would get through.
The Kepler is also significantly more breathable than the outgoing Dragon, which used Windstopper instead of a waterproof membrane. The Dragon, while more breathable than any waterproof-breathable I had tested up until now, still developed the microclimate problem common in shells. There wasn't any airflow so my body heat and sweat made the inside of my Dragon much like a tropical jungle. This happened to an even greater extent in my various waterproof-breathables. But in the Kepler (I suppose due to the air permeability of Dry.Q Elite) no microclimate develops. I took it on a serious bike ride on a foggy rainy day, and the only place I felt moist was under my backpack. My head was dry, my chest was dry, and my armpits(!) were dry. This crazy breathability and the lack of a microclimate means two things: 1) Overheating and the fatigue that comes with it are non-existent. You really can go harder longer in Dry.Q Elite. 2) Body heat and sweat escape so quickly that you might want an extra layer compared to a Gore Tex shell. It completely blocks the wind, but that plastic bag effect you probably are used to in waterproof-breathables just isn't there.
Overall, the Kepler is an outstanding piece that delivers on all its promises. There's not much to complain about, and it's all minor stuff. It's definitely a massive step forward from the Dragon and the status quo.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sizing is a little tight

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brandin
Location: New Jersey
A great waterproof jacket and has been reliable. I had to return it for a size larger because the sleeves pulled down when you reach. I'd go a size bigger if you planned to layer too, an athletic fit
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Kepler Jacket

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
ajdeboer
Location: Lowell, MI
Fit is great, A little tight in the arms. I love the material and comfort! I also love working with Mountain Hardwear. They have great cutomer service as well as top notch products
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-only reviews for Men's Kepler™ Jacket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5