Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Chillwave™ Parka

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Chillwave™ Parka

Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
3 out of 4(75%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Review 1 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great parka

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
acn8s
Location: Philadelphia, PA.
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I wear this coat all the time in the north east while hiking with my 2 dogs
the real test was when I went to MT.Tammaney in the delaware water gap.
early january, 25 deg day, 10 below night with constant 30-40mpr winds all night and morning 10 " of snow and got 3"more that night i kept quite warm and didnt spend the morning hugging my self
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Warm

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marko
Location: marko
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is very well made, comfortable and very warm. 5' 9"" 175 lbs - Medium fits perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

sleeves are too short

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Makawao
Location: Ketchum, ID
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is a nice jacket, but the sleeves are too short relative to the body. Arghh.
The sleeves are fine when your arms are hanging by your side, but with any reaching activity, the sleeves are way too short.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket feels like a hug from a beautiful woman

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
DK27
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the most comfortable, warm things ever. Super crazy warm and insulated, yet it packs down small. The stuff sack they include is fine, but it can get smaller with some other sacks. I have found myself wearing around the house just because its so comfy. Highly recommended.
I'm 5'11 180lbs, and the medium provides a good fit with room for layers underneath, but isn't baggy either.
The orange and black color scheme looks pretty neat in person too. The picture doesn't do it justice.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Cold Weather Jacket

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Outdoordude
Location: Littleton, CO
I received this jacket about 2 weeks ago, so far have used it one fridgid day (-7F) with wind chill in Colorado. Felt like I was still in bed under down comforter. The fit is perfect ( 6'0" and 170lbs) with maybe 1/2" too short on the cuff length for arms. Not enough to bother me but enough to notice. I am going to use this jacket mainly for freezing temps, cold weather camping and any winter mountian actvities. I can't wait to test this in the extreme winter weather Colorado mountains are known to offer. I know I won't be dissappointed. 2nd Mountain Hardware jacket I own and love them both.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cold Winter Nights

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Browski
Location: Wisconsin
I work 3rd shift in WI and a majority of the time I am required to be in the cold for long periods of time.Although it is not the most arid conditions, it can get quite cold with sub-zero temperatures. This parka is by far the warmest jacket I have ever purchased. If you are in the search for a parka that can keep you warm throughout the night or in sub-zero weather, I highly recommend this jacket.
I have had this jacket for over a year and so far the only thing that has gone wrong with it, is the drawstring on the bottom of the coat became frayed and almost broke in only a couple months use. But Mountain Hardware replaced the drawstring with no charges (except for shipping). I am extremely pleased with their customer service
The only thing I did not like about this jacket was the hood, while extremely warm I am unable to secure the velcro in front of my face. But still a good jacket.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Heatilator

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
walksbythelake
Location: South Hero, VT
Yep, it's warm. I don't dread going out in the single digit, 20mph winter weather anymore. The wind protection works quite well, and the hood is fantastic. I wish the pockets didn't have the microfleece lining. It makes it harder to get things out - my hands stick to it. I don't need the zipper that separates from the bottom (who does need those, anyway?) I also don't need all the extra pockets. I was tickled to get the stuff sack, though; I can always use another stuff sack. I've been looking for THE Winter Coat for years, and this will do it. BTW, I'm a 5'6" 170lb female and I bought the men's large. I hate the styling on women's clothes these days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good.

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mani
Location: Newark, NJ
Its Good. Warm. I like it. But there is one which is more warm than I got. But even then, Its warm.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Warmth Top Quality!

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff4Warmth
Location: Long Island, New York
The Mountain Hardwear Chillwave Parka is the # 1 Mt. Hardwear Parka for 2011 to protect us from winter's frigid temperatures and icy wind chills.
Reasons It is A Great Parka:
1) Lot of Down Fill - roughly 13 ounces of 650 down fill - Keeps you toasty warm.
2) Baffled Construction: Prevents cold air from penetrating this parka!
3) New Air Shield Technology
4) Great Hood: Head and Face Protective
5) Water Repellant Finish - Has a DWR (Durable Water Repellant Finish).
BOTTOM LINE:
The Mt. Hardwear Chillwave Parka will protect you down to wind chills of minus 30 degrees Farenheit. It is comfortable and lightweight also.!!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Chillwave™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice parka

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
ugocamping
As I looked to remedy last year's shivers while ice fishing and dog sledding, I needed a jacket that would be warm, durable, and somewhat packable. After reviewing my options, this jacket turned out to be the winner. Since it is only October, I haven't tested it, but from the looks, it should meet my expectations.
Good placement of more durable materials (bottom hem and outside of sleeves), lightweight/packable material for most of the body, stuffed with 650 down. The hood is attached by zipping toward the center- two zippers start at wearer's shoulders and meet at the back of the neck- no possibility of being ripped off by the wind! Very nice feature.
The only negative remark I have regards the fit. I'm 6'4", 170lbs, with long arms. The Large did not fit. Probably my fault for not paying attention to measurements. I'm going to the XL.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.