Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Compressor™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Compressor™ Jacket

Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.405 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light weight and warm

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mjswhite
Location: Sherwood, Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Second jacket for me, had some problems with zipper on first one, different zipper now all is good.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looking jacket, MH performance

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
AllanR
Location: SF Bay Area
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love all of my MH gear, so I wanted a jacket I could use for nights out as well as during activities. I tend to like color in my jackets, so that often times can be a little too much for going out to dinner or hanging out. I wanted a jacket that looked super stylish while still providing the warmth and performance of my other MH gear. This jacket, in black, fits the bill perfectly! The black has a shine to it that just looks cool. Perfect for going out and looking good without looking like an outdoors nerd when you just want to blend in.
I haven't used it for anything more than keeping warm at night, but I'm sure it could perform as well as any other MH jacket. The medium fits perfectly for me (5'9", 160lb athletic build), as I like my clothes and jackets to be a trim fit. I prefer my hands to sit high when in jacket pockets, and the pockets on this jacket are perfect, not too low. It's a slightly bulky jacket, but not too puffy, and great as a stand alone piece. Fully zipped, the collar comes up a nice height, without being constricting. Highly recommended (in black!!!).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

jacket

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
orono
Location: chico,ca
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 24 year old outdoor adventurer son is on his second compressor jacket and loves it as they wear well, versatile, and light weight as well as
decent looking. I got one and so far really enjoy it,
tho the armpit openings are just a smig tight for anything bulkier than a thin t-shirt or long sleeve shirt. I got a medium and am 5'9" tall and 155 lbs.
and athletically built, so I am surprised by the snug fit in that area. otherwise, a really nice, warm, light and functional jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

One annoying flaw.

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Darrel
Location: Minneapolis
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great jacket in every respect with one exception. The left sleeve cuff constantly turns up into the sleeve. The right sleeve cuff is ok.
I now have three Mountain Hardware compressor jackets, including this latest black one.
With this sleeve problem, I'm sorry to say I can't recommend the jacket.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My son loved this jacket

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
DonnDonn
Location: DC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
I had all but given up buying clothes for my teenage son. There is something wrong with everything! This is a complete hit. The fabric is great and can take a beating. It's warm but doesn't add pounds. It's perfect
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Jacket, bad fit.

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Schrades
Location: WI
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'd love the jacket if it had a more athletic fit. I have relatively wide shoulders and a small midsection/waist. Jacket seems to be made for someone with narrow shoulders and a proportionally large waist. Not going to send back, but wish it fit better.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

All Around, Looks Good.

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
NotAvailable13
Location: Boise, ID
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slightly Large Around the Mid-Section/Torso (Small Adjustment i.e.: Form). No Need To Order a Size Larger or Smaller. Great Product Thus, far.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Go-To Jacket

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
onlymica
Location: Medford, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I find myself using this jacket more and more for everyday use. It is lightweight and acts as an excellent windbreaker and insulator without being too warm. I normally wear a large top (6', 180lbs) but get extra large jackets for the sleeve length. I use this jacket bicycling around town and the extra large sleeve length covers my arms to the wrist while leaning forward on the bicycle. The pocket placement is excellent and the ability to secure pocket contents with zipper closures is great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light weight and warm

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
DocOhio
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is ver light weight, yet still warm. I've been wearing it the past few weeks in midwest windy winter weather. Temps from 15-35 and the jacket is plenty warm with just a t-shirt underneath. In fact, prepare to sweat if you're layered or doing physical activity with the jacket on.
Fabric seems a little thin and like it would snag if caught on something. Time will tell.
I'm 6'2 and 205 lbs and the XL fits great. Big enough to layer underneath if needed, but not so big that it feels sloppy without layers.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

About as comfortable as it gets

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
akwolfhugger
Location: Faribanks, Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great jacket with a multi-use capacity, even up in Alaska's Arctic. Works great for an afternoon ski at -10 or casual warmth at +30. Fantastic versatility in a diverse region.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Light Weight Jacket!

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
jimd118
Location: Ohio / Asheville, NC
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Been using this for about two years now and love it. Super light weight! Perfect level of insulation for cool days and when its really cold I throw on a monkey man under it and it performs outstanding. Only issue at all with the jacket is the cuffs on the sleeves have what feels like just a ring of cardboard or something inside and taking the coat on and off this ring tends to twist and rotate. After putting the jacket back on I always have to fix the cuffs, but not a big deal. Sizing is a little large, I typically wear a medium and the medium just seemed to fit a bit loose, I went with a small which feels slightly tight but works. I am 5'9" and about 145lbs.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compressor Jacket

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
AGuyInAlaska907
Location: Alaska
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live and work construction in Alaska. I have two of the previous version of these jackets. I have used these jackets over a couple good base layers and under a good shell while working around -30 degrees. It is the warmest (jacket) midlayer I've ever owned. The jacket is also great for year around. They're not to warm for the cooler, not cold temperatures. When its warm out you won't overheat while wearing the jacket. They also dry very quickly.
The only complaint, and the reason I have two, is because the zipper is weak. definetly not sturdy enough for the constant use i put the jackets through. After the zipper blewout on the first jacket, I still bought another one because theyre that good.
I have now bought my THIRD, updated, Compressor Jacket. It looks like they fixed the zipper problem with a beefier zipper, the shell itself seams a little tuffer too. If you're ruff on your cloths like I am, keep in mind when buying this jacket, I don't think it was meant to be a full on outer jacket. It's not meant to be worn while snowboarding where it might be snagged on trees frequently, ect. As a mid-layer Its awesome.
I really like these jackets. I use them year round, from working in subzero temperatures as a mid-layer, to hunting to fishing all summer and fall without overheating. When its not needed it 'compresses' very well in my pack.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hiking Trip Warmth

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
wesgoestowa
Location: Tacoma, WA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a great light down jacket but wanted to check this one out because it was not as bulky. I also liked the look of the orange and grey. I am 5'11" 180 lbs and based on past orders with MH I knew a large would be big. I ordered the medium and the sleeves seem to be about half an inch short. Otherwise, perfect fit. Guess I'll just have to live with being between sizes.
On the warmth side, combined with a MH wind stopper beanie, the Mesa Convertable Pants, and a short sleeve hiking shirt I stayed perfectly warm as temps dropped down to the upper 30s. If I had a warmer sub layer, I would trust it to the upper, or maybe even mid 20s.
The color of the orange/grey ended up being a little brighter than the picture on the website but still looks good.
So now my only issue with this jacket. Why is it not designed to stuff down into one of its pockets??? This is a great jacket for cooler nights but without that functionality it is annoying to pack. I still tried to fold it in on itself but only got about 90% of it stuffed before I thought the seems would bust. There is no double sided zipper so even if I had gotten it all in the pocket it would probably have just come right back out.
Bottomline, perfect for cooler nights and looks great. I would still recommend this product but just be aware of the packing issue.
Recommendation for MH: make the pockets just a little bigger and put a double sided zipper on them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Crusher
Location: New York, NY
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just picked up today at REI on sale. Got it in black. Very nice color for this jacket. I am not a big fan of different shades of blue on my clothing. I am 6'0" and 206 pounds. The large was tight in the shoulders and the waist. The XL fits nicely without being too loose. Was drizzling/raining in NYC today. Temp was in the low 40's. Wore it out with just a baseball cap and a 100 weight fleece and t-shirt underneath. I was walking around aimlessly for around an hour. Was very warm. Water beaded up on jacket and i did not get wet underneath. No problems with zippers or the wrist cuffs. I love this jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for everyday use

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
CMHNomad
Location: Powell, OH
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this specifically for days when it was a little cold for my Alchemy jacket, but not cold enough for a heavy coat. It was between this and the Nitrous, but I needed the extra pockets that the Nitrous didn't have (phone, etc.).Extremely lightweight, warm without being too warm; just about perfect. The only complaint I have is the wrist elastic is a little loose, so you do get some air in, but I'll live. I may still get a Nitrous to shove in my pack for biking, but for just being out and about, I don't think this can be beat. I found the fit to be true, but I prefer my jackets form-fitting, so YMMV. I easily layer a silk weight base layer and long-sleeve T without a problem. I highly recommend.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect lightweight jacket/versatile

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: MN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This produce does fit slightly small, I had to purchase an XXL when I have never bought something of this size. I really like this jacket, exactly what I was looking for. It can be worn alone or with a base layer. I wear it with the monkey man underneath to my kids' hockey games or outdoors when the temps dictate. If it ever gets cold here again, it would also work well under a shell.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around outer layer

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deathproof
Location: Honolulu, HI
I bought this jacket for a winter trip that would cover everything from moderate temps in AZ, to snow and wind in Ohio, and it performed well in all climates. It was actually a little more than I needed in AZ, with the temps in the 40s and 50s (my Patagonia nano puff was more suited to this), but in Ohio with the wind and snow it was awesome!. It was surprisingly warm on even the windiest days (40 mph), without ever feeling overheated. It packs down pretty well, considering the amount of fill in the jacket. It seemed to run a little on the snug side in the chest shoulders, but that may have just been my frame. Overall, a great multi-climate jacket.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just About Perfect

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reedchex
Location: Chicago, IL
I purchased this jacket after owning a couple other Mountain Hard Wear products that I love and this is no exception! It is a very lightweight jacket that amazes me with how warm it is as has almost no bulk and is very low-profile. I have had this jacket on with just a t-shirt on underneath down to about 15-20 degrees and I was fine. Aside from general cold-weather use, I use this all the time while shooting outdoors (I'm a camera operator) and I've had it in about every condition imaginable and it holds up very well. My only (very minor) negative is that the collar is just a tad large for my liking, as I don't really like collars. But that's just personal taste and I'm sure many would have the opposite opinion! It's certainly not too large and isn't a flawed design at all. Looks very sharp and fits me perfectly! Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wrist elastic tends to twist up occasionally

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
urbanhikerbiker
For the most part, I like my new Compressor Jacket very much. The only gripe (albeit relatively tiny) so far is that the elastic band in the wrist cuff seems to twist up somewhat easily. I'm not sure if this is a design flaw or a sizing issue (the jacket seems to fit well otherwise). So far I have only used the jacket day to day urban winter activity but look forward to taking it hiking or snowshoeing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Compressor™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Frails
Location: Denver, CO
After returning another puffy coat, I am very happy with this purchase. I am 6'4", 210 lbs. with really long arms. 36/37" dress shirt sleeves. I got an XL and it fit really well. Normally I order L Talls. I would say this runs a little small in the shoulders for most, but it fit me fine. Features to note and reasons I went with this coat. It has a soft fleece collar, which is much nicer than most. However the fleece adds those few ounces. It has an inside pocket and an ouside chest pocket. It packs but not as small as some. I was able to stuff the XL into a 2.5 L stuff sack, but thought the sack would split with time. I did buy a 4L stuff sack for traveling so there is room for gloves and hat too. With layers this coat can handle below 32. Above 32 it is fine on its own. I haven't gotten hot in it, while running in and out of stores. Not bulky. Buy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.