Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Exposure™ Parka

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Exposure™ Parka

Men's Exposure™ Parka
Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Exposure™ Parka
Review 1 for Men's Exposure™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Breathable Jacket

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rollie
Location: Edwards, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket for better breathability, especially in the winter when we snowshoe in cold weather up steep hills. My previous breathable jacket would leave me with water running down the inside and my layered clothing soaked. This jacket leaves my layers relatively dry and has no water running down inside. It has more good features than other Event jackets I looked at. It runs a bit big, but that has left lots of room for extra layers, even heavy ones.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Exposure™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

as always....

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
kamel603
Location: White Mts NH
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
as always another great product from MH....i bought an XL as i like to layer underneath and also i like a bit of eaxtra room for snowboarding....length is perfect....all my jackets for the past 18 yrs have been MH including the old Mithril FTX parka which lasted for about 14 yrs before finally giving up the ghost...i look forward to good service from this jacket as well and will continue to be a MH walking ad!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Exposure™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product with one major shortcoming

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
raftman
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this jacket to replace a Gore-tex 60/40 style breathable rain shell that I've owned for over a dozen years. Breathable and completely watertight, it delivers as promised, but I am frustrated by what I consider to be a major design flaw. This coat has no hand warmer style pockets - traditionally placed near the bottom of a jacket just above the hips (see Men's Maximalist for example) Instead, it has two long left and right pockets placed about mid-chest. While they will suffice, and will hold a lot, they are definitely cumbersome to access and not nearly as comfortable for warming ones hands as traditional hard warmer style pockets. I find this a major design flaw in an otherwise fine coat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Exposure™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Everyday Rain Parka Yet!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
LarryB
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Over the last 40 years I've used a dozen or more rain parkas, starting with a Frostline kit.
Living in Portland and being outdoors a lot throughout the year, I spend a lot of time in a parka. I've always been mildly disappointed by the clamminess, damp feeling inside, even with very expensive Goretex models.
Last year I was ready to try an Event parka, but couldn't find one with the features I wanted, then came upon the Mt. Hardwear Exposure at a very reasonable price.
Sensible conservative color combo, slightly heavier/more durable material, pit zips, highly functional hood, longer parka-like (vs the current style of "jacket"), room to layer a fleece or down, fleece-lined pockets, internal mesh stretchy "stuff" pocket for loose gloves, hats, etc, and a marvelous mesh liner.
All in all I was so impressed that I bought another for my daughter (you should make a women's model with the same material/features!) and strongly recommended one to my long-term hiking buddies.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Exposure™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bombproof? Really?

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nick31
Location: SE Ohio
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I looked around for weeks for a "Bombproof" hard shell jacket. I live in the outdoors away from the tourist trails. After seeing several people call this bombproof, I went for it. I've had this parka for almost a year now, and it has yet to fail me. Herding cattle in a solid downpour, everything on me was soaked except for what was under this coat. Size is a bit large... I'm 6' 2", 240lbs, and 52" chest, and I'm swimming in the XXL without layers. Sleeve length is good though. My only concern with it is it feels very lightweight for "Bombproof" status. Just don't catch it on a thorn.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Exposure™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Another Great Parka by MH

PostedJune 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
tomast
Location: chicago
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off, I love the feel of the fabric and the non-restrictive fit...The is the most comfortable Parka I have ever worn and I have had many. I tried this on with all my fleeces and never did I feel restricted or binding anywear. I tried it on with poly fill vest and polyfill MH compresor jacket and hunker down vest and still felt confortable. I have not had a chance to try this in any cold weather but I did get a chance to wear it in a 80 degree rain strom and I was in awe as to this fabrics beathability. It shed water very well and with the pits zips open I wasnt overheated even in 80 degree weather. I olny fear this parka may be too cold in winter unless active. I will post another review once I use this parka in the field.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tomast
chicago
 
Please wait while more information about tomast is loaded.
Additional information about tomast could not be loaded.
Post Review
Posted July 1, 2012
I wanted to add a note as to this parkas performance. This weekend I went camping and it was a horrible 98 degrees with 90% humidity I knew there was a chance of rain and decided to take my my exposure parka instead of my epic jacket just in case it rained and so i could once again test its performance...It turned out better than I imagined we were hit with a severe thunder storm that trashed our tent we had 100 mile an hour wind gust and heavy torrential rain and pea sized hail. We had to evac the tent and get out from under the trees because of lighting. I was amazed at how well this parka performed it never leaked and not once did i get over heated or clammy while running around the camp site stowing gear and equipment so the storm would not carry it away. we sat in a depression just bellow a clearing for over 3 hours waiting for the lightning to stop in what we later found out over the weather radio were 100 mile an hour wind gusts and hail we never saw a tornado but figured the best protection would be this depression. I could feel the sting of the hail on my back and my wife wore her epic jacket and actualy had to put on her back pack to stop the hurting from the hail after the storm passed and we made it back to our campsite we found our tent torn up from big branches that had gotten tangled in the rain fly and due to wind just tore holes every where. Thanks mountain hardwear for the great products like DryQ elite it was flawless I could not ask for a better product. The only other time I have felt rain like this was in a Florida Huricane that had turned into a tropical storm.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Men's Exposure™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT!!!

PostedApril 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Aiello
Location: Boston
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work in one of the toughest environments on earth - driving zodiacs in Antarctica. It is nearly impossible to find a good jacket that will work well in these very cold and wet conditions, but this parka is perfect. It is totally waterproof and since I got a size larger than I would normally would, it fits over my down parka with ease, but giving me plenty of room to maneuver while working.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Exposure™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features on an outstanding shell.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: KC, MO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The fit of this shell is perfect! I wear a 48 jacket and ordered an XL. The fit is perfect to layer under or be worn alone (on me).
I'm 6'4" and 220 pounds (medium build) so I often find that xl is large enough but the sleeves are too short. Not so with any MH products. Sizing is the best of all the big names in my opinion.
It's also slightly longer than my under layers which provides a bit more protection.
Performance of this shell is also top notch. Water rolls right off, even in high wind. The pit zips are nice too for when really active. But it breathes so well I've only used it when I'm really working hard.
I've been out in temps in the teens, high wind, and high humidity with only a base layer and micro-stretch fleece (both MH of course) under this shell and I was toasty.
This also layers nicely with a compressor jacket underneath. Great design and features.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Exposure™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Parka

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
CaptainSea
Location: Washington DC
Great fit, not heavy for normal activities. Nice material, right amount of pockets. Only thing I did not like was how the hood rolls up and is stored, would be nice if it rolled up smaller into the collar.Otherwise a perfect companion to any outdoor activity.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Exposure™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Outer Shell

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
BooBoo2011
Location: Portland, OR
This shell is a solid outer layer jacket for most pursuits. It is one of the longer MHW jackets, and by far the roomiest. On a super cold expedition or a freezing day on the mountain, being able to comfortably fit several layers underneath this parka is a huge benefit. The wrists have nice wide openings allowing for great versatility. The mesh lining is very loose, however once this parka is on, it seems to breath really well with the DryQ Elite laminate. Definitely size down unless your putting on some major layers underneath.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Exposure™ Parka
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Small size is too big!

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
cebootsw
Location: San Francisco
Recently purchased a Mountain Hardware soft shell jacket in small for one of the small men in my life. It was such a hit that I bought this parka, but sadly, it is way too big. I don't know what the excuse is for the inconsistencies in sizes. There are very few manufacturers who make small clothing for men and I thought Mountain Hardware was my go-to- place. I am sure that the parka has many fine qualities, but if it is too big, it is useless for our purposes.
-18points
2of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Exposure™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Parka

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
mike2727
Location: Mcmurdo Station Antarctica
This is a great outside layer to add to your system! Tough outer that is water proof AND breathable so you don't get soaked from your perspiration. I use it with various layers under it or just as a shell.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Men's Exposure™ Parka
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5