Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Hestia™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Hestia™ Pant

Men's Hestia™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
5 out of 7(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Hestia™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Hestia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, versatile winter pants

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kayakid
Location: New England
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have had a pair of Hestia pants for several seasons now and they are still going strong. I use them for lift-serve telemarking, overnight backcountry ski, snowshoe and hiking trips, and the occasional ice climbing trip and they have been excellent. I would recommend these pants for their great versatility - being unlined they take whatever base layer you want to insulate with and the side zips make them fully ventable, particularly useful when you heat up during a climb. Some think the legs are cut too wide, but I like that about them as they do not bind your legs at all during any activity. When they wear out, I will not hesitate to buy another pair.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Hestia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Recommended

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
rck18
Location: Seattle,WA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these to use as rain and snowboard pants, and they are excellent.
First, the bad:
- The side zips aren't taped. However, the flap has kept the inside dry during 3 days of Pacific Northwest rain and during the deepest powder days.
- The sizing is odd. I did my research, and ordered a medium/short. Baggy enough to move easily while snowboarding, but have to be rolled up a little bit so they don't drag when hiking. Perfect for a 5'9 32 waist, but if I didn't do my research, I would have gotten them way too long in a medium length.
- Initially, they seemed to bind up in the upper leg when standing in a wide stance, but I think they stretched a bit or I got used to it.
Now, the good:
- They are waterproof. Straight up waterproof.
- They breathe better than any waterproof pant I have ever used. So well that I won't buy any membrane that isn't Dry Q, it's that good. No clamminess while snowboarding or hiking hard through the rain.
- The fabric seems tough, but the pants aren't that heavy. I've only worn them for 4 days, but I wasn't very nice to them. No issues yet.
If you only need a rain pant, you could go with a lighter option, or if you only need a snow pant, you could go heavier. These work really well for both, and don't look as "bell-bottomy" in person as they do in the pictures. I work outside, and I'll use them in the summer, too.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Hestia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

unsure of the drop bottom and suspenders

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
PEP1
Location: Boston, MA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Love the dry feature but am planning on sending back. Perhaps we are not high tech enough for this product. My husband uses suspenders all the time but he is used to them attached to the back of the pants and front Having them on the front and side was confusing and the back of the pant gaped. Perhaps the idea is if you need to drop trow then this is the theory so for the use he would intend for he felt for the cost and fit this was not for him. All other features of the pant were great.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Hestia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Men's Hestia Pant

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
crit
Location: Bend, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I wanted to like these pants, I really did, but I feel like they fit how a women's pant should fit. My problem with them is that the upper front part of the leg (where it bends near your hip flexors) is too low. For them to feel comfortable I have to wear them higher on my waist which leaves very little room for the bits and pieces in the crotch area. If I bring the waistline down to where it should be, the flexor part of pant doesn't line up with my leg and is VERY uncomfortable. I'm a 30" waist and bought a small. I liked everything else about the pant, but fit is something too important for me to sacrifice. Kinda wish I would have returned them but the inner gaiter ripped on like the third day of use.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Hestia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome appearance and fit but havent used them yet

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Freeskichile
Location: Santiago, Chile
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wont start the south american ski guiding season for another week or so but wanted to inform potential buyers that contrary to a previous reviewer, these pants have FULL SIDE ZIPS and come completely off. They also have a great fit and if they breath as well as they say, this will be a great heli, cat, resort and bc ski pant. Only one wish so far: more pockets! At least one more!!! I find this such a critical flaw that I am considering trying to add one, even if inside! Theyll be great anyway!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Hestia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
mountaineeringcustomer
Location: Vancouver
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These pants are great in that they have a pocket, removable suspenders , water resistant zippers and internal gaiters; however, I have no idea what the point is of having full-length zippers if they are not detachable at the ends. For skiing, they would be great. For mountaineering, it would be nice if they were detachable since you will want to be able to remove your bottom shell without removing your crampons. If MHW included this small feature, these would be THE perfect pair of pants for me. Just a note: if you open the zipper upwards instead of downwards, it is possible to fit your boot and crampon through, but you run the risk of ripping your pants.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
crit
 
Please wait while more information about crit is loaded.
Additional information about crit could not be loaded.
side zips
Posted November 29, 2012
They do unzip all the way, maybe you had an older model but mine come completely apart
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Men's Hestia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good gear

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
silky
Location: Salyer, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Me: I am 5"8' 160lbs with a 32 inch waist.
I ordered a medium and was consumed by extra material and way to much length. I went to a local shop in Redding(Sport ltd) on my way to mt brokeoff in lassen np to see if they'd help me out with an exchange. They did and the small fit me pretty good, not perfect but good.
I sweat like a mad man and absolutely hate goretex. So for this trip I had these pants and a goretex NorthFace shell. In any activity level I had the NF fully unzipped in a blizzard b/c of sweat build up and the rain forest feeling. The Hestias kept me dry on the inside. Only in extremely high levels of activity did I open up the leg zips to help out with breathing but I'm not even sure I needed to, just did.
Waterproof: as far as snow goes I was 100% dry
Construction: Seems solid with minimal restriction. I feel even with the smalls the legs have just a bit much material. Nothing to bad just a petty gripe.
My main complaint is the suspenders rubbed my nipples and my other minimal complaint is the sizing isn't perfect but like I said not bad.
I am happy I bought these and feel they will hold up in all activities ie snowboarding, skiing, snowshoeing, tele, mountaineering ect.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Hestia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Breathable

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Backcoutrymama
Shortly after my purchase I wore them on a 8 mile ski tour. Normally I sweat A LOT, but these pants allowed my legs to breathe. I never felt the wind or got cold. I only had a polyester thermal layer on underneath. I thought that XL would be just right but turns out I could have got a L. They fit a bit large in my opinion and I am 38x32 in Carhartt. I would recommend these pants to anyone who wants a breathable shell.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Hestia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Hestia Pant

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wirkus24
I just got done with a 6 day backcountry camping and skiing trip- wore these pants the whole time. Chart says to get the small (waist 30 inches) - so I did. The pants feel a little tight in the thighs and long in the legs. I was worried about not being able to fit a layer of insulation under the pants during the evening, but I never needed to try to make that work. The pants performed perfectly- They kept me dry as I sweated my way to the top, and dry when I missed a turn and ate snow. I couldn't have asked for a better functioning piece of equipment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Hestia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too much differential between small and medium

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
cebootsw
Location: San Francisco cA
Let me say that the small size fit my small son perfectly along the waist, although length was too long. So I got my also-small husband the same thing, and the small was too small and the medium was too big and the length was WAY too long.
Aside from fit, the pants are good. My son loves them and although he specific said he did not want pants with suspenders, because these are thin and detachable, he is sold on them. He is considering getting them shortened, but if the price for that is as expensive as I think it would be, he may just suffer and bunch them up around his boots.
Mountain Hardware was my go-to place for small men's outdoor wear. I sure hope they will continue to consider that good things come in small packages and consider making some outerwear for the small men in my life. Thanks.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Hestia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
PacNwSAR
Location: Seattle
I Like:
These pants fit well, stretch, are water proof, wind proof.
I would add:
I wish they had an extra layer of abbrasion resistan material in the knees and rear end....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.