Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket

Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
39 out of 39(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best fleece on the market

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chewster
Location: Virginia
Who doesn't like a fleece jacket?
This one beats the competition easily. You can't find another fleece with the same features as the Mountain Tech.
You can even wear it in light rain without getting soaked.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Razor
Location: Boston
Finally had some nice chilly weather to test this jacket. Very warm for a lightweight jacket, but best of all it completely stops the wind (unlike my Denali fleece). Love the fit, and the easy stretch material does not constrict when reaching or climbing. Watched the sunrise on Cadillac Mountain in late October and was perfectly warm despite some very high winds and cool temps.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite Jacket

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
TechJacketFan46
Location: Loveland, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This review is for the purchase of my 2nd Mountain HW Tech Jacket. I am still wearing my 1st jacket, after more than 5 years. Aside from fading due to sun exposure at Colorado altitudes, my first jacket is still in perfectly functional shape. I have not yet worn the 2nd jacket, as my wife bought it for a holiday present. I tried it on, and the only difference I see is one less interior zip pocket, and MH is using a little different material for the shoulder and arm strap. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great as long as you can keep it

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
AkHillBilly
Location: Wasilla, Ak
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So I was wearing this jacket for a week and during that week it preformed like a champ. kept me warm in the cold ocean wind although not waterproof it sure seemed like it. All around one of the best jackets I have owned. During a nasty storm as I was navigating a river way and I lost my pack. As you can guess my jacket was inside as well as my sleeping bag, clothing and a few small pieces of gear. I am reording this jacket today as well as a bag from MH. If the bag is as good as the jacket ill be set for years to come.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent 3 season jacket

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
MisterMoose
Location: Lafayette Indiana
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my third Mountain Tech jacket. I really like the improved fabric and fit. I've had my first jacket for five years and use it for hiking, paddling, and skiing.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Plesantly surprised

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
AaronCZ281
Location: Houston, TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable fit throughout; runs a bit larger than expected. Warmer than expected as well. Pocket design is a little weird - they sit higher than I want them, more in middle rib, and the zippers on the pockets are hard to get to, and seem like they run upside down (would be easier if they ran other direction). Overall, I love the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
tribe407
Location: Cleveland
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat. Thin, Durable, Warm. I wear all the time. Holds out the cold in very low temps (as low as 15 F). 5'8", 160 lbs, - Med fits well.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Big and Tall Choice

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
mrclean
Location: Crossville, TN
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket. I am a big guy, but it is not restrictive. The best feature is the ability to pack and travel from cool climate to cold climate.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ranic
Location: Phila, PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for the wind protection. I use it for cycling and hiking in the fall and winter. Even in cold strong winds this jacket works great to keep me warm. It is a close fitting jacket. I usually wear just a t-shirt under it and a light hoodie over it. The pocket position is great for cycling. I can have items in my pockets without them bouncing around while riding.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Love Love

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dani88
Location: Truckee, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this jacket. So far, I've worn it everyday since it was shipped to me. I wear it at work and out on the town. I'm a petite female and the Small was a perfect fit. It is warm against the wind, but light enough to wear on the sunny days up at the mountain. Recommend it to all!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Review .. From mn

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mnorth9
Location: Mn
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
I'm 160 6-1 ... First I got an x/l but the belly was way to big.. the arms fit good but it was to big to keep the heat in .. Now I have another one in l/g it fits way better .. Supper warm best mid wear you can buy that works! ... I just wish there was a tall men's size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Fleece I've Owned

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Samburger
Location: Dahlonega, GA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this jacket 2 years ago for Christmas. It was one of the coldest winters in GA history, & this jacket was what got me through it. It's relatively wind resistant for fleece, incredibly warm, & still somehow the lightest jacket I own, in weight & in feel. I used this underneath a textile motorcycle jacket as my only way of keeping my arms & torso warm on highway speed motorcycle rides as low as 13 degrees Fahrenheit.
Then, the next spring, I made the mistake of letting a friend borrow it. Long story short, I just got it back today & I'm ecstatic. He admitted to me that he had been wearing the jacket regularly the past year & a half not remembering where he had gotten it, & the thing still looks new! That should speak for the durability.
As far as features, the mid-level hand pockets serve as a comfortable way to warm your hands (zippers zip upward so no cold metal rubbing against your wrists) & a sort of mobile arm rest (because they sit up so high). Everything zips & fastens as it should & doesn't feel cheap, & the armpit vents are a GREAT way to reduce sweating on cold hikes. The fit was perfect (I'm 5'10, 145lb & medium fit great).
I'd buy this jacket 100 times over if they don't change anything about it & would recommend it to anyone but my worst enemy!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
OldMountainGuy
California
 
Please wait while more information about OldMountainGuy is loaded.
Additional information about OldMountainGuy could not be loaded.
Hasn't changed
Posted December 10, 2013
I got this jacket in 1999 and just lost it. It was my go to jacket for all that time and it was still great. I'm about to buy a new one to replace the lost one and it looks like it hasn't changed in 14 years so hopefully they will keep this one around forever.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andrew24
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket because of the great reviews that I have read on the company and the overall quality. I needed a jacket that would work well with my pack for SAR and it seems to fit the bill. it ran a little small for me but I can live with it my next one will be an XL.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, excellent excellent!

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
bdhill78
Location: Vienna, Austria
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought one of these in 2003 just before going back overseas, and it lasted me 10 years of hard use, both hiking and city life. I finally had to let it go because the pockets had finally worn through. This is a perfect autumn/ spring jacket. The fit was like a glove, and I really liked the ventilation zippers under the arms for those times when you got too hot. Definitely worth the money, because these jackets are a long-term investment.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fall and moderate warmth winter jacket

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Theman
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The jacket fits well, is brushed on the inside and comfortable. I plan to use it xc ski and enjoyed it during cool evenings. It repelled light rain and stopped wind.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What I expected

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Martin
Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought this in the summer and live in the hot Sacramento area. We went to Lake Tahoe for a few days and I wore it every night outside watching the stars and a Shakespearean play. It kept me warm and cozy in the 50 degree temps. I wear an xl in most clothes, so I bought that size. It seems a little larger than other xl's, but not too large. I'm really enjoying it and recommend it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

wind and water resistant jacket

PostedJune 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Garyindiana86
Location: Greenville, SC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect jacket for the south. Very lightweight, but does an excellent job of breaking the wind. Is my go to jacket on windy days. It is also a plus that the jacket is water resistant enough for wear on wet rainy days with a light rain or drizzle. The pockets are located a little to high for me.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Workhorse

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
andicepipedon
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this jacket since it was first put on the market several years ago. It is just now starting to fall apart after almost continuous use for about 5 years. It's been one of the greatest investments I have ever made in my life. I am short and stocky and wear an XL. I still have enough room for mid-weight thermals and a Pendleton wool shirt or a thin fleece. It is not a stand alone. When I lived in a rural cold mountainous area it wasn't warm enough Dec. to Feb. I wear a Mountain Hardware shell over the top when it rains as I live in the Pacific Northwest now. I love it so much I am still wearing it raggedy and all. I haven't decided if I'm going to upgrade or buy the same one again since my hard shell still has a lot of life left in it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Out of this world classic!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
WanderingAlbatross
Location: locations everywhere
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is a classic that should be part of any outdoor enthusiast's gear. From casual to extreme hiker, or from someone who makes a living working out in mother nature to life on the town. This jacket looks good, has as solid of materials as they come, blocks the wind, fits well, and allows great range of motion. While working on wind gust mountains to chilling and damp offshore islands I basically lived in this jacket. Wouldn't trade it for anything!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jack of Most Trades

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
pdxnative
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit, good cut, the material is better than any regular fleece, it's somewhere between a fleece and a jacket. Some might not realize, but the lighter segments of cloth are just fleece with a cloth backing. The fleece itself is a very dense high quality, and the segments of darker fabric (is this nylon?) are very wind resistant - I was surprised at how little air gets through. The jacket will get you through light showers, and the underarm vents are great for keeping cool without having to take the top off.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.