Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest

Mountain Hardwear Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest

Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
20 out of 22(91%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Review 1 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great vest & fits well!!!

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hamburger
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have many vests, but none of which cost as much as this one, or made with such quality. When I saw this vest I fell in love. The construction is nice, the fit is "active" (I am 5'6" and 155 lbs), and it blocks wind well.
I have owned this item for at least 2.5 years and the only signs of wear are the rear collar from rubbing on my hair and helmet, and fading of color. I can't really attest to the water resistance since I usually pair the vest with some type of shell or by itself when it's not raining.
Bottom line, if you wear vests more than a couple times a month, you need to do yourself a favor and purchase this! I am frugal, but even I paid full price for this puppy and I havce never regretted it (I do regret buying a cheap tri-climate TNF jacket though).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pure Quality

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
VinnyB
Location: Douglas. MA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding product ... nothing else beats Mountain Hardwear!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fits is VERY small

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
oregonhiker
Location: portland, oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Small
True Fit
Too Large
this might be a nice vest, but the size is very small, so I'm sending it back. Order one size up. No more blue in stock, so I'm out of luck.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Russ574
Location: Washington, DC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BLUF: Blocks wind like a champ, and great price on an exceptional product. Fits like a tailored cut...I usually wear just a med t-shirt or LS shirt, and the large fits great over them. I ride my bike in it and it's not snug, but doesn't bellow either. Haven't run in it, but don't know if it would chafe the pits or not. Highly, highly recommend.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Vest

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jack59
Location: Tennessee
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This vest was exactly what I wanted. Slightly snug but for layering it is perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm going to get another one...

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Birdman4U
Location: Portland, Oregon
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The look (both colors and style) and the quality of manufacture is really good. So good, in fact, that I plan on purchasing another one. Must have a spare, you know.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for back country skiing

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
dematson
Location: Fresno CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this vest primarily for Back Country Skiing in the Sierras. Being wind proof, it works great combined with a long sleeve merino wool base layer. Having zipper pockets is important in snow conditions to keep items secure. Never carry keys in an zippered pocket in snow conditions. I keep my wallet in the front pocket, my car keys in one side pocket and a map with glasses in the other pocket. It is also a nice looking vest and I wear it around town in the winter. I could have gone with a "Large" but always order XL for jackets and shirts because my waist and arms are long.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Black should be black

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
CaptainRon36
Location: Portland, Maine
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
I have loved my previous mountain hard wear black, size large vest. It is stylish, garnering compliments. Fit perfectly and very functional.
New black vest does not fit as well. I am slim and it is a little baggy. My biggest disappointment is the bland light grey liner ( as opposed to previous black on black ). This grey liner shows at the collar area even when zipped. A very disappointing, clashing look for anyone wanting basic black.
I am having it tailored to cover the grey liner.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome vest!

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
willco99
Location: New Hampshire
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had a Mountain Hardwear Tech Jacket since the late 90's and love it. It has worn like iron. When I needed a windstopper vest I naturally went with the Tech vest.
Nothing else to say but that it is the best WS vest you could buy. Light and thin enought to layer. Warm and wind stopping enought to wear as an outer layer in all but the coldest weather.
Looks great over a flannel too!!
Please don't ever stop making the tech stuff MH!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A truely great vest

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
BodeBoy
Location: Gladwyne, PA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a vest guy,,,, and this my new favorite vest.
If you are a vest guy this is a must buy.
Get it in your size now before it is backordered.
It is for sure a best buy for anyone who loves living life without long sleeves.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Vest in the East and West

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
MattD
Location: Dover, NH
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second MHW Mountain Tech vest (my old one, with the Gore Windstopper, was stolen), and I absolutely love it. The Airshield Elite fabric breathes incredibly well and protects agaisnt wind just as good, if not better than the Windstopper. What I like about the vest has so much "warmth" for its weight - since it's windproof, no cold air permeates, and the microfleece gives enough warmth that it makes for a great go-to piece in spring and fall and an incredible midlayer in winter. Works great for climbing all season as it has no ride up and you have maximum moveability. the breast pocket is a must-have and all the pockets are comfortable placed and of good size.
The Softshell fabric over the shoulders shed water with ease, and the whole garment is quick drying.
I owned my other vest for nearly 3 years and wore it pretty roughly, and it never faltered or wore out.
Bottom line: Really good looking and bombproof construction, and completely worth the money.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
bprobertson
Location: Bountiful, Utah
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This little guy is awesome for what it is, a completely windproof vest. I use mostly for biking and have only had it on one ride, but it performed flawlessly, kept my warm and wasn't restricting. I normally order small in mtn hardwear gear and i got a small in this and it is a little snugger than other pieces, but it is still about standard.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

nice fitting vest but horrible material

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
merks
Location: Southern California
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this vest about a year ago and found that it fit true to size and was a nice weight for Southern California. While the vest performed as advertised, the material is horrible to work with. No matter how you wash it or how many tape rollers you use to remove lint, etc. it still looks perpetually ratty and unkempt. It is a total lint magnet. For this reason, I have retired it in favor of a Patagonia down sweater vest. This is a much better option
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mountain Tech Vest

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wheels
Location: Georgia
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Perfect for those cool but active days. I also found the vest in combination with a soft shell or outer shell jacket gives more options for varying weather protection than most will need. Excellent.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Value

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
MarkM
Location: La Crosse, WI
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
It's is a great piece fro doing everything from running errands to snowshoeing.it keeps your core warm while allowing you to have freedom to move your arms. The wind-resistant is great on those blustery days!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great everyday vest

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Frails
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great everyday vest for that in between weather. The wind stop fabric is noticeable when windy. I ordered the titanium, which is a great neutral color. Hem draw cord is extremely nice to tighten up the bottom. This is my second MH vest. The other is a puffy. I see wearing this one, more as a sweater, and indoors when it is cool. The zippers are sturdy with the flaps that cover them so there is no rubbing. It is very thin and will be great for layering. Chest pocket is nice addition that others don't offer. The addition of an internal pocket would be nice. I like the small collar. It stands up on its own for extra wind protection on your neck.
I am a 44 in the chest, the XL fit nicely, with room for layers underneath, but not so baggy that you can't wear it under another jacket. It is a straight cut, and not a sport or tailored cut.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tech Vest a hit

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
MountainManTim
Location: NM
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Tech vest is sized well. It is great for layering.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Vest

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
croppie
Location: Columbia Kentucky
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second vest and I love them. Being a fishing guide I use these all the time and they are great
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Vest

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
KerryQ
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great vest for cool days. 5'8" and 160lbs and this vest fits a bit snugger in the midsection than the MT Tech Jacket. It is perfect for layering. Cuts the wind as promised. Use it under a softshell on cooler days.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Mountain Tech™ Vest
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mountain Hardwear Vest

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
brew
Location: pennsylvania
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the second product from MH that I have purchased. I have the "jacket" version of this vest. The jacket is much roomier than the vest. Not sure why there is a noticeable difference but there is. Vest appears to run too small. Ironically, I typically wear a XL, but ordered up one size just to ensure the fit was comfortable and could accommodate layering. I will only be able to wear a base layer
and nothing more.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.