Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Cordoba™ Gene

Mountain Hardwear Men's Cordoba™ Gene

Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
11 out of 16(69%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Review 1 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The website does not show the true Abyss color

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mowgli
Location: Chico
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
On my browser screen the Abyss color looks more like a dark gun grey which is a fine tone for casual wear. What I received was a pair of deep navy blue/black pants. They fit well and seem sturdy, but it will take some time before I figure out how to wear this formal hue anywhere other than in the rough.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

relook the sizing

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dizzy
Location: NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As many reviewers have posted, the sizing is off on these pants. I took advice from the reviewers and ordered 2 sizes down and still have room to play. I will be getting them resized because I like the material and durability.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love these pants!

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iws24
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off I should say I am a stocky built individual. My legs are naturally pretty thick, my waist is around 33 and I'm 5'11. I ordered these pants hoping for some comfortable, stylish climbing pants. I'm pretty satisfied with the purchase and I intend to buy a couple more of this product. I ordered the cordovan color 32x32 and it fits excellent. The waist was very snug when I first put them on but it streched some to a very comfortable fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cordoba gene

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeronimo
Location: Chico, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
These pants seem to be good quality if you can get the right size. I ordered two pairs both in size 30 30. When I tried them on however I found one pair fit like a 34 32 and the other like a 31 32. Personally sizing discrepancies from a company like mountain hardwear is unacceptable, at least the two pairs shoud have fit the same even if they do run big. The only way i would purchase these pants is if you can go into the store and try them on.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor sizing

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
jamesc
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I never got a chance to try these pants- I ordered a size 32 and the tag identified it as such, but the fit was significantly larger, probably 34 or even 36. I suspect it is simply a case of poor quality control but I wouldn't recommend ordering these online unless you're ready to mail them back for an exchange.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Functional faults

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Travis
Location: Corvallis, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
First off, these are bouldering pants. They only have right-hand belt loops for use w/ a chalk bag on your left hip. The articulated knees are awesome, along with the durable, comfortable cotton. Sizing was accurate, with my 31/32 fitting my 5'10" 165#.
On the downside, the existing belt loops aren't very durable. Even worse, the snap closure pops open just by bending over! And since the built-in belt only pulls in the right side by up to an inch, it pops open the snap also. So I've settled for wearing a lightweight 1" webbing belt all the time with the pants: problem solved, but with enough frustration to not recommend the pant until it comes w/ a button closure and stronger loop stitching.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poor Size, Average Product

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
SeanClimbs
Location: Ogden, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought these pants and the Yumalino at the same time. Both are a 32/34. The waist measurements were both about the same, but the length differs by at least 2 inches! The Cordoba was at least an inch too long and the Yumalino are at least and inch too short. Based on my experience and other review, I think they have some sizing quality control issues.
The pants themselves are nice. They are obviously of better quality than a regular pair of jeans, but I don' find the function to be much better. I don't really think the gusset improves mobility significantly.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pants

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
dsr1811
Location: USA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fits a size or two larger in waist and length. I'm usually a 34W/34L. The 33W was still a bit roomy and I probably could have done the 32L as well. The cordovan color is nice but looks dirty easy. Other than those two things, great. I especially love the front pocket notches that make it easy to carry my Skeletool and Surefire in the front pockets and still comfortably put my hands in too. Will probably get another pair. Thx.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Waist sizing too loose

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
TrailRunner7
Location: Chester, CT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
I love Mountain Hardware products (I'm wearing a mt hardware top right now that fits perfectly). However I was disappointed with the fit of these pants. I have a slim/athletic build and have a tough time finding pants that fit well. I figured this company would be sizing products for active individuals but the 31 waist on the product left several inches of space around my waist, which is actually about 31.5. You will need to try these on or order several pairs and find your fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Soft and Comfortable

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
shskydiver
Location: Colorado
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice casual pants but the waist runs big
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Going for a swim

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
StHubbins
Location: Iowa City, IA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a pair of Cordoba pants from a couple of years ago that fits very true, so I ordered the Cordoba Gene in the same size. It's unbelievable how big they are. Unwearable. In addition, the canvas material appears a bit more flimsy than before. I noticed the country of origin has changed too. Highly recommend you order 1-2 sizes smaller than your true size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice and casual

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
chops
Location: Alameda, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the cordoba pant and gene are great products, but they do not fit the same way. I already own the pant and 34x30 is perfect for me...I ordered the Gene in the same size and it is rather baggy in waist and the length is longer than the pant sizing. I am not sure why this is, but it is. Both models have gussetted crotch through the length of the leg. The pant is more to my liking. I like loose and short, but not baggy and long. Other than that, this is another great quality product by MH.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good sturdy pants

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
spuds
Location: chester ,ca.
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfortable fit; sturdy fabric with a nice soft feel;good freedom of movement
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Little Big, But OK

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
nanomountain
Location: Seattle
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These pants fits slightly more baggier than expected. Not too shabby for cooler fall hikes when you want to wear a wool lining underneath. It would've been great if they had a 28-29 inseam without me having to pay extra to get this altered.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cordoba Genes

PostedApril 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered the Cordoba Genes and they are at least 38 waist and not 36.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pant, Sizing Inconsistencies

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MountainMan123
Location: Colorado
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these pants - great feel and comfortable, however the consistency in sizing is terrible. I ordered a pair of the Khaki as well as the Shark, both in 34x32. The Shark fits great (like other brands I have in that size), the Khaki was tight in the waist and is shorter (by about an inch). I'd expect sizing within the same product to be a better from MHW, but didn't find it with this product and that is why I'm giving it 4 stars.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product, but actually fits large

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
AKMac
Location: Anchorage, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am not sure if the complaints about these pants fitting snug were from previous versions or what, but I just got a pair of these on 2/23/2012. I am a size 34 (measured with a vinyl measuring tape) and I ordered a size 36, trusting the prior reviews. The pants engulfed me! I am going to order another pair, but may even go with a size 32 as these were just huge. I will say that they look very good. You could almost wear them as casual slacks if it weren't for the exterior rear pockets. The material is very heavy and feels like it will hold up to repeated abuse.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sizing small

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
algonquin80
Wear a 34 size jean. Ordered a 36 which was still to small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice pair of pants

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
ut91t44
Location: Amarillo, TX
Nice pair of pants, everything I expect from Mountain Hardwear. May run a little small in the waist but it isnt too bad, after I recieved and wore my first pair I orderd another pair a couple of days later.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Cordoba™ Gene
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very comfortable and versatile pants

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
catskillcycles
Location: Catskill, NY
I love these pants, the fabric is soft yet very tough and as always with Mountain Hard Wear, constructed very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.