Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Returnia™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Returnia™ Pant

Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ski and Work Outdoor Pant

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
AcesPal
Location: Lander, WY
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used the Returnia Pant for both Skiing and work. The weather conditions were from -20F to 50F, in wind and calm, light snow to wet thick snow. The Pant was cool in the extreme cold, but warmed up after some time. I wore a mid-weight base layer during the coldest times, and a lighter base for the warmer times. The pant was both durable, protective, and had plenty of movement for skiing, hiking, and outdoor work.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A week with the Returnia Pant

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
myshkingfh
Location: Montclair, NJ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got to ski in my new Returnia pant over the weekend. It was below freezing the whole time, so the pant wasn't tested in the wettest conditions, but it seemed to repel water nicely. I wore it just with some not very fancy long underwear and my lower body stayed warm and dry. The pockets for your hands are not very deep, but its nice that they are fleece lined. I found the thigh pocket very handy for my cell phone and the key leash in the left pocket made me feel a lot better about not losing my keys.
The fit was a little tighter than I expected. The pant has velcro adjusters on the waist so it might be better to size it a little bigger and wear it with a belt (it has loops) or suspenders to keep 'em up if the velcro isn't doing the trick. I got the medium waist and found it to be quite tight if worn over pants. I think the lesson is when they say 34, they mean 34; not that it fits over clothing that a 34 waisted person wears. I decided to stick with the size but I better not gain any weight.
I also got the long inseam which is a really cool option for pants like this. If you have long legs like me, the pant really will reach to your ankle. There is, as others have said, a lot of fabric in the lower leg, maybe sacrificing some function and weight for a preferred baggy look? In any event Mountain Hardwear, it might be worth taking future designs in along the lower leg.
Cheers!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good ski pant

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
ytjhguy
Location: Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These work well for skiing with big plastic boots! A couple things not explained in the description: They are fully lined with light nylon, double layer so fairly warm. And they have three zip closure pockets, two hand warmers and one on the thigh.
The weight and double layer means I wear them skiing with only briefs underneath when it's over freezing in the day. Only when the high is expected to stay under 0 C, I add a long base layer underneath. Don't want to sweat out.
Fit is normal - I'm 6'1" 165 lbs and medium regular length works as usual. The bell bottoms may be a little extra wide, maybe even more than needed for really beefy ski boots. Also, the pocket openings are little narrow, hard to get your hand in and fish for change. Otherwise, just plain works.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Waist is small pants are big

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
KingofSpain
Location: Paris
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The materials for these pants are great but there are some sizing and design issues. Functionally they were fine and totally kept me dry but here are some of my picky issues. The 34 inch waist is a bit tight but still does not stay up without the assistance of a belt. The Velcro on the side is great for tightening them but they will eventually start slipping off your booty after a long day of skiing. I solved all this with some suspenders, but had to use clip-ons as there are no buttons. The legs are massive (as is the fashion of the times) so you definitely cannot duel use these for cross-country unless you want to scare all the animals with your rustle. Finally it would be nice if the vents had a mesh inside so that if you fall while they are open, you do not fill your pants with snow. Other may disagree but I am a faller.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

returnia pant

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
jason1234
Location: jackson,wy
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are great I use them to do my winter chores in and guide hunters all fall in them. I also use them in winter for snowmobiling. They are perfect and never leak.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ankleitis?

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
TheBeardedOne
Location: App Mountains, East Coast
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love MH products. Been buying them for years without issue; however, the Returnia pants have RIDICULOUSLY GIGANTIC bell bottoms. May I ask what the function is for such copious amounts of fabric? If I tried to ski in these, let alone walk, I would be tripping in excess fabric. And for no apparent reason?! The fit of the waist and length are PERFECT but the bell bottom moonboot cut is horrific. The cut of the legs ruins this seemingly otherwise perfect pant.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kept their word

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
lgtwgt
Location: Iowa City, IA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great snow pants overall. The only thing I wish were different would be less fabric near ankles. I use my snow pants to walk my dog and just seems like there is an excess of fabric. All in all they do everything I expect. The fit is perfect. I am 29 x 29 and the small short fits great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They breathe!

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Revrundtelemark
Location: Spokane, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am impressed with DryQ! I tend to overheat quickly but I don't sweat so I need clothes that breathe well and help me to stay cool. I have done some back country ski tours and many days at the resorts with these pants and have been dry, sheltered from the wind and at just the right temperature all day in them. This is my second pair. The first are doing great, I just wanted another color!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
robbiebobbie1977
Location: Utah
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The construction of these pants are better than I have experienced in the past. The pants are lightweight and durable. I like the extra cloth protection in the inside of the bottom pant leg. This is a high abrasion area and necessary. Great job Mountain Hardwear!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality Snow Pants, but Very Baggy Cut

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
SnowpantsBuyer
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
These are very high quality pants, and a great value for the price. I ended up returning them after trying them on when the arrived, as the cut is far baggier than I was looking for. I do like that they come in different lengths, and at 6'5", 170lbs, the medium tall was the correct size for me. If someone is looking for a looser cut snowpant for snowboarding or other, these would be perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Returnia Pants

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
HTWOONUT
Location: Idyllwild, CA
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these pants. I bought them for cross country skiing and sledding with my kids. They have met all my expectations, like most things from Mountain Hardware. Great quality and fit. The only down side is that there is not a cinch strap at the ankles. This is just mostly when we are sledding that I could use this feature.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price for a great ski pant!

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
lehrski
Location: San Francisco, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't tried in extreme weather, but varying temperatures. Great breathability and the fabric seems like it will stand the test of time. I'm 6'1 185. The medium long worked great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Pants

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
OutdoorFan21
Location: Dallas, TX
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants for boarding. Purchased the deep water which is more teal than blue. The ability to pick leg length was a plus.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Worth the Money

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lloyd
Location: On the hill
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
At 5'9 160 in good shape with a 30/31 to 30/32 pant size the small/short fit, but snug, perfect in length. It took me a few days to decide but i re-ordered the medium/short size. If you can order two pairs and send one back that's the ticket. Perfect fit in M/S glad i reordered, they are just a little baggier than the small's but same fit in the length. Most ski pants i wear a small. I don't like the park rat look. These are not to baggy, well built, light. All in all really happy with these.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beal
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are great pants, fit well and are very well constructed. For the money, I think these are some of the best pants on the market. I was looking at NorthFace, Marmot, Acteryx, and several other brands and I couldn't find a better deal for the price. These pants are a great value.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are so good....

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
LaramieSkier
Location: Laramie, WY
....they make buying higher end Mt. Hardwear pants redundant. These fit well, breathe well, and hold up to ski edges well. They also don't weigh any more than the higher end Mt. Hardwear pants. They are a little long in the inseam, making them perfect for skiing (alpine, AT/tele, or just XC touring) but not hiking. Combine these pants with a Columbia Peak 2 Peak shell, and you'll trim a pound or 2 compared to Gore stuff!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
pkshorti
Location: Salt Lake City UT
I really like these pants. As a cold person, they keep me warm and on sunny days the vents work great. No mesh lining on the vents is my only complaint. I am 5'5'' about 145 and the small/short pant fits well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
x60ce
Location: WA
I bought these for snow skiing. I have only used them once but the worked great. I haven't found any issues thus far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Returnia

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
ODE81611
Location: Aspen, CO
These pants are some of the best qualilty and fitting pants that I have tried! I'm lean in the waist and have a short inseam (30x30), and the small short size fits perfectly. Unfortunately, I have twice now ordered color Grill, only to have twice received color Duffel! Thus, I have now twice returned the Returnia! I like the quality and fit of these pants so much that I'm about to place my order for the third time, hoping that the third time is a charm and that the warehouse ships the correct color!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Returnia™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeni
These are for my son and loves them can not wait to go snowbaording
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lloyd
 
Please wait while more information about Lloyd is loaded.
Additional information about Lloyd could not be loaded.
Returnia Morrell
Posted December 10, 2012
What Beal said. Also i would like to add. I am 5'9 160 to165. Up and down with my weight. My first order was a small/short, when trying on the pants i was 160 even. I wear a 30/31 to 30/32 in Levi's having to try on several pair for the right fit in the waist and length... The small/short Returnia fit, but was snug in the waist, just a little to snug, i almost did not return them. I re-ordered the medium/short and they fit a lot better, specially when i put on my base layer. The legs, butt and the general fit are not that much bigger from the small size, mabey a 1/2 inch larger. The short length was still perfect. Super light in weight, well built. I like the fit of these better than my Arcteryx pants. Hope this helps.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)