Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant

Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall rating:
4.591 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Review 1 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Low cut ski pants

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mudbone
Location: North Idaho
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is a good quality product if you like a low cut fit. I found these pants to be uncomfortable and tight in the crotch when sitting. I think extra rise would make the pants fit better and seal in warmth.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A little disappointed but I'll keep them

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Justntym
Location: Louisville
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
I'm 5 9" 210lbs and these pants fit great. Overall length is good when in ski boots but when I'm in shoes I have to fold them up (no biggie). Material seems durable and the pants are very well made. I tested these pants for a week skiing at Heavenly, Kirkwood, and Northstar during this years huge dumps (24"-45" in a few days). The pants kept me warm and the vents worked great. I do wish that some kind of material was over the vents to prevent water and snow from entering. The vents literally just open up straight to your base layer. During the week if skiing I was in sub freezing temps to 50F lower mountain. They kept me warm and dry with no issues. I did ski in rain and snow 2 days and by the end of the day the lower pants were soaked. It did not let in water to my skin but the material itself was soggy. I would have hoped the material would have repelled the water. Also, I took them through trees and they did not show any signs of distress. I'll keep the pants and I'm sure they will hold up over time.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Returnia Ski Pant

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
BATT
Location: Charlotte, NC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been looking for a new pair of ski pants for 6 months or so and finally settled on the Returnia. They were an outstanding purchase and have held up wonderfully all season. They are warm enough to wear with just a base layer even in temperatures hovering around 0. They look great as well and are extremely comfortable. I would highly recommend them to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hank1530
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just spent a weekend testing these out in northern Minnesota during a cold spell ( -27 degrees). They kept me perfectly warm, and even during cross-country skiing I never got TOO warm. Really glad I had them!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Returnia Pant

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mitch7
Location: Portland, Oregon
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Totally high quality pant. Not too bulky and not too light. The only drawback is that there are not enough pockets. My last pants had more pockets......in back and small ones on the legs (for lip balm, sunblock, etc.)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet Insulated Pants!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
matthias
Location: The Rose City, NJ
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mountain Hardware is so on target by offering short inseam lengths. Thank you! Those of us who are vertically challenged should not have to suffer thru not having access to top shelf gear.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jimmy1
Location: Minnesota
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Received for Christmas and tested them out in Northern Minnesota. Wind chills were around -50°. All I had on my legs were these and a pair of jeans inside and they kept me warm. I'm 6'2", 34" waist and the large long fit the best. Well worth the price!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
ThisGuyWearsPants
Location: Columbus, OH
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 6'2, waist 32, inseam 33/34, and these pants (size: medium, inseam: long) fit very well. They fit a little too loosely around the legs for my taste, but are probably not excessively baggy for many people. Even with them being slightly baggier than I would prefer, they are very comfortable and allow for an easy, wide range of movement.
These pants, in conjunction with a pair of expedition grade wool bottoms, kept me extremely warm while backpacking in 10-20 degree weather. And when it warms up, the vents on the legs are very effective in cooling you down if you start to overheat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Low rise but really comfortable!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
BobbyC
Location: Columbia, SC
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these! I did not realize the rise was shorter than most. I got a medium & wear 34-35waist. The large was way too baggy. The waist adjustment is good though. Very light weight & comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snowboarding the Alps

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Justin123
Location: Germany
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used these pant for a snowboarding trip in the Austrian Alps. The weather was from sunny to blizzard condtions but the pants never let me down. They were insulated enough to keep me warm without using a base or mid-layer but with the side vents also kept me cool on those sunny days on the mountain.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One trip under the belt.

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lola
Location: Atlanta, GA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been blessed with the thighs of an Olympic cyclist and pants are an issue. Waist and calfs are perfect but the fabric pulled tight enough on thighs that the R-value was shot. Warm while keeping busy but cooled quickly. Brush and rocks were unable to mark the fabric and they shed mud with a light sprinkle. Athletic build folks, go a size larger and pull in the waist or wait for atrophy. My passion is hiking up the mountain and these seem better suited for sliding down it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Fit

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
aschilling
Location: Chicago, IL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these pants for a trip out Colorado for a week of skiing. These pants had pretty much every type of weather thrown at them and never once did they remain wet or get cold. The medium long was the perfect fit for someone with a 32 x 34 size.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great option

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
2mtnclimb
Location: Victor ,ID
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: Pant works great in a variety of temps. Shed's snow well. easy acsess pockets.
Love the short inseam(optional). Comfortable fit.
Cons: Smooth/soft fabric on inside of waist does not hold shirts well(they slip out). It would be great to have a rubber waist band to keep shirts
tucked in.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sleddog tested

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
JRoss
Location: Duluth, MN
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I train and race sleddogs for Ten Squared Racing in northern MN and I received these pants about 3 weeks ago, two days before a big sleddog race in northern MN. Without any testing I used them cause it was going to be really warm. It was between 17 to 35 degrees during the event. I was never cold and more often was very warm. I wore some midweight underwear under the pants and kept the vents open the whole race. The pants breathe extremely well. I never got super sweaty or clammy feeling or damp. Every night I'd take the pants off, the long underwear, and everything was already dry....very cool. In the past 4 days northern MN has been between -5 to -20 degrees and I wore the same long underwear, I closed the vents and again I was impressed. Being outside behind 16 dogs in negative temps is tough and the pants kept me comfy. I only give the 4 stars in the quality and overall category cause training dogs destroys equipment and I've only been using them for about a month now. I bought the mediums which have a relaxed fit and in a regular length. I have a 31 inch inseam and the regulars are a bit long....should have got the shorter ones. So far I give them two thumbs up.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible comfort

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barry13
Location: Salem, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took these to the mountain for the first time and wasn't surprised to find they kept me warm in 20 degree weather, even though they are light enough that they don't seem like the typical insulated pant. What amazed me, though, was that they were also comfortable in 70 degree climate controlled situations... I didn't get hot. They do an incredible job of regulating temperature. Regardless of air temperature, I never got too hot or too cold.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great ski pant

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
teleho
Location: vt
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An insulated ski pant is a tough thing to get right. Too much insulation and it feels like your wearing trash bags on your legs. Too little and what's the point. Too many features and it gets too expencive for my taist. Skimp too much and it won't last. I think MH got it right with this one. If your looking for a basic pant for cold cold days this one works well. Also the fact that it comes in different lengths it a plus. I'm 6'0" 155lbs and the med long fits well.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

COMFORTABLE!!!

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
TmackenD
Location: Denver, CO
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are so comfortable I'd wear them around my house. I skiied at A-Basin today...not bad for October 20th. It was a bit warm, the leg vents did a great job of keeping my legs cool. I sat in the snow for a solid 20 minutes waiting for a newbie skier buddy of mine to come down and and felt no moisture and coldness come through the pant. The velco tightening on the waist are sufficient enough, no belt needed. I LOVE THESE PANTS!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great pant

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Snowmass, CO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the pant! They have a great fit with a simple but durable design. Warm with air vents in the legs in case you get hot. If I can 2 seasons out of them I will be very pleased. Great price point.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BKB2
Potomac, MD
 
Please wait while more information about BKB2 is loaded.
Additional information about BKB2 could not be loaded.
Great Pant, but needs one thing...
Posted January 4, 2013
These are great quality and fit. I got Grill color and they look great. They regulate temperature well and seem like they will be very durable. The inslulated version is not bulky at all. The only thing that really suprised me is there is no mesh on the vents! When you unzip them you can see bare leg if you're wearing shorts. Nothing prevents snow from getting in during wipeouts when vented.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Loud Pants

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
rdbabygrl
I love these, got the orange color and they look awesome. Very warm ski pants
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Returnia™ Insulated Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

voltage cool

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
LoveTheGear
Location: alberta
Just picked up a pair in Voltage (yellow). This colour doesn't seem to be offered anywhere on line, nor are they shown on the MH site. I guess you have to come to Calgary to get these pants in Voltage! Haven't used them yet, so this review is more of a heads up for those considering. I am without exception a size large in everything MH (6 feet, 185 lbs, slim build). I'm glad I found these in a store (I usually buy size large on line) because the large (regular length) were very big - more like a typical XL in other MH gear. So I tried the medium thinking it would be way too small, but the medium was perfect (still loose). I also picked up the Vertical Peak jacket (black and grey with yellow trim - very cool with the yellow pants) and the size large was the way to go. So the jacket fit the way I expected it to (sleeves are actually shorter than typical MH jackets).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.