Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Hunker™ Down Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Hunker™ Down Jacket

Men's Hunker™ Down Jacket
Overall rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
3 out of 3(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Hunker™ Down Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Hunker™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Jacket

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
RobG
Location: Albion, Pa
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been jonesing for a down jacket for a couple of years, but could not afford one. I sold back a bunch of school books to an online retailer and was able to purchase this coat with my refund.
What an outstanding jacket. Warm and flexible. I just wore this to a Boy Scout campout where the night temps were in the mid 20's and the day was in the 40's. I wore the same jacket, sweater, undershirt combo all day, adding a wool blanket poncho as an overcoat during the evening festivities. It can handle chopping wood, sledding with the kids and looks good for a professional. I have worn it with a tie and ripped up hiking pants. Nothing beats this coat for warmth, comfort and flexibility.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Hunker™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"59 Deg F. below 0, 14 mph NE Wind."

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chili907
Location: Above the Arctic Circle, Alaska.
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I swear by this Jacket! it goes everywhere with me when I travel for work. I have this Jacket for 6 years and has kept me warm in the wind and wet snow. One day it will get me though. Simply because I dont wear much underneath just 2 layers.
The other day I it was outside for well over an hour, in 59 below zero on the Beaufort Sea Ice Pack with 14 mph NE Wind, this was my jacket not a chill nor a sweat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Hunker™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go-to for daily use

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wheelock
Location: Wisconsin
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Hunker Down is my jacket of choice for day use when the temps are below 20*F. The more durable fabric on the shoulders and sleeves has proven very useful when I'm hiking around and scrambling through rocks or trees. I find the fit is a little on the shorter side. I have an average torso length, but am 6'1". Still, this fit issue is just barely noticeable. I have used this jacket for one mild winter season so far, and expect it to last.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Hunker™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Favorite jacket

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Duster
Location: Tacoma WA
Fits awesome, well made and comes with its own stuff sack for packing away. Super light-weight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Hunker™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
sickboy96
Location: NJ
I was a little skeptical about ordering this online since my size kinda borders in between medium and large. I picked medium and it was a good choice since it leaves enough room in there for a layer or two underneath. The jacket itself is really comfortable! kept me nice and warm in 30 degree weather, even with just a t-shirt underneat. Pockets are lined with nice soft fleece, so even with no gloves you can be comfy. Pockets are in the perfect locations and have just enough room in there for your iphone/mp3 player and other junk like passports and stuff. The collar is lined with a fleece material too so to keep the heat in and keep your neck cozy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Hunker™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty in my Hunker Down

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
MtnMike
Location: Boise, Idaho
This jacket was put to work the day it arrived. It went out of the box and to the mountains for a backcountry yurt trip in Idaho. The trip into the yurt was completed after dark with light from the stars and temperatures in the low teens but I stayed toasty warm. I had on a light shirt underneath with my Hunker Down over that and I was able to stay warm and easily regulate the temperature so I didn't overheat. For the three days we were there, it never got above freezing and I was wishing I had kissed the delivery lady for bringing my jacket just in time for this great trip. I never did get cold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Hunker™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
justice153
Location: new york
great jacket. had one for two years before i got caught in severe winter rain storm and the down was destroyed. but i bought another one i liked it so much. very warm and comfortable. ran a bit big but that is no problem. when you layer there will be room.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Hunker™ Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket - Perfect for those frosty day

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
DSK9743
Location: San Francisco, CA
Love the jacket. It fits nicely, and has adjustable cuffs, I hate knit cuffs so that was one of the reasons I bought this jacket. It fits true to size and keeps me toasty in the cold.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Men's Hunker™ Down Jacket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5