Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Ampato™ Jacket

Mountain Hardwear Men's Ampato™ Jacket

Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.706 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent lightweight shell

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
OlexII
Location: Corvallis, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
This jacket has everything you need! Wind protection, water protection, breathability, hood adjustments.Have never been wet in this jacket!
I am 5'11', 180 lbs, athletic fit and I have large. It's a little larger than I would want, but if you have think mid layer it will be perfect!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
YuccaMan
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work as a guide in the Mojave desert year-round and bought this about 2 years ago. We don't get much rain, but I use it as a windbreaker often and it works very well. I've worn it maybe twice in rain, once on a 3 mile run and didn't get swampy inside at all. The material is thick enough that I don't worry about it getting caught on things in my pack, but it won't last long on a slide down J-Tree granite. Wears well, it could still pass as brand new.
I'm 5'9" 145 lbs. and ordered the medium. My down vest fits perfectly underneath, and I can even add a light fleece without feeling too cramped.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket in all conditions - DWR does wear quickly

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
McB3
Location: Chicago, IL
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket last winter and recently climbed Mount Rainier in terrible conditions using this as my waterproof layer. The ventilation of this jacket is 2nd to none and the fit is perfect for layering underneath while also not being too bulky to fit a down jacket overtop when needed during breaks. The jacket performed flawlessly in conditions that went from 5 degrees with 60+ mph winds at the summit to white out snow and then 3hrs of rain all on the same day. The hood fits great with or without a helmet and keeps your head/neck completely dry either way.
The ONLY downfall which I have read elsewhere, is the DWR coating does not last. This is not a reason to not buy the jacket though as you can easily restore the DWR through washing and reapplication of the DWR coating (not difficult at all). After much research I found the membrane of this jacket (Dry.Q Elite) is much more waterproof / wind resistant than any other material currently available so anyone complaining about the DWR wearing off is incompetent when it comes to the necessities of a good long term jacket.
Buy a Dry.Q Elite jacket like this and you will not be disappointed, breathable, lightweight, packable, dries quickly and most of all comfortable in any conditions you throw at it.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good while it lasts... unfortunately it doesn't last long.

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
arcticsb
Location: washinton dc
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This jacket was great while it lasted. Too bad it doesn't last long. I bought this jacket last October (2012). I loved this jacket and wore it constantly. I hiked in this jacket in Patagonia (in Dec/Jan), Norway (in March) and in Iceland and Greenland this summer (2013). The jacket was great and I loved it and even recommended it highly to anyone who would listen. Unfortunately towards the end of my Iceland/Greenland trip the DWR on this jacket just failed. The hood and the body was fine. The shoulders and arms were not. It would absorb the rain and moisture and my underlayer would be damp. I thought I was imagining things and did a product test. I could see the water bead off in the hood and the torso areas but the water was getting absorbed in the arms and the shoulder areas. So this jacket doesn't last very long. It seems poorly constructed and the quality control is shoddy. I cannot recommend this jacket to anyone who is outdoors for extended periods of time. Having the jacket fail within less than a year is simply unacceptable. I followed all the care instructions that came with the jacket.
I love Mountain Hardwear products and own multiple products from them. But I will probably never buy another item from them again since I cannot have a product fail on me while in a remote location. They really need to resolve their quality control issues.
I really liked this jacket. It is lightweight, breathable and fits nice but I cannot have the waterproofing fail in less than a year. The funny thing is while this jacket failed miserably my softshell pants (made by a competitor of Mountain Hardwear) held up amazingly well as did my goretex boots. I was dry in my torso, my legs and feet but moisture seeped through in my arms and shoulder and I was damp.
I wish I could recommend this jacket but unfortunately I cannot.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
10of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best all around jacket

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hinderlander
Location: CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Dry Q is exactly that. DRY. Its not always cold in my part of the world and rain doesn't just come in the winter. This jacket is great for those warmer down poors and even cold ones. A rainy day out on the town without looking like I marsh mellow and scrambling through the bush with the same protection. Layering is minimal if you get your correct size. sizing up shouldn't be an option unless you like things that don't fit or the manufacturer completely screwed up. baggy clothing is just uncomfortable and sloppy. I am 5' 10" 165lb and a medium allows for light layering and is great without. I think most people are layering to heavy and that's why they say its too snug.( if you have to layer so much get a jacket that's made for extreme cold) I have been down to 25 degrees with a thin wool layer on and that's all I needed. add an even thinner layer of silk and you can hang out all night. I admit its shorter than most jackets but its made for back packing and hiking. no one walks around with their arms in the air and if they do its only for a second. A+ on this jacket for looks and function.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go for the jacket

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andioptera
Location: Land O Lakes, Wisconsin
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The mesh lining and pit zips help keep this thing well ventilated. I tested it out in an impressive downpour this week and stayed dry without the jacket getting sweaty either. I highly recommend the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A wonderful shell

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
PeterV
Location: Northwestern Washington State
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I took my time before buying a shell. It had to fit well whether or not I was layering underneath, had to look good, had to have freedom of movement and not give me the impression it was going to tear the first time I used it in the outdoors.
So far, the Ampato seems to be living up to all of it. Being in the PacNW, I've already tested the waterproofness almost daily and that's been a rockstar. The jacket is light, stylish, dry and easy to take on an off. Water beads up so well you can pretty much shake it dry.
Definitely worth the money! It's become my daily go-to top layer in these wet winter/spring months and looks like it will stay there for a long time to come.
For reference, I'm 5'9, 200lbs, 45/46" chest and XL fits, albeit a tad on the roomy side.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great jacket

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ed1524
Location: San Diego
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bought this jacket for my upcoming JMT hike later in 2013. Looked at all vendors and kept coming back to this jacket. Well made, great style and the quality that I expected from Mt. Hardware.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Breathes very well.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
HamGeek52
Location: Maryland
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket breathes as well as it was advertised. My hands don't get that wet clammy feeling when I put them in the pockets. The sizing is a little tight for me around the back (I'm 5'10" 200lbs wide back muscles) but still left some room for my nano-puff pullover. For reference i wear a large canyon LS Shirt and that is perfect for my back and shoulders. I walked out side in the 35 degree air with this thing on over a long sleeve shirt and was comfortable for a short walk. I decided to wear this inside to eat in a hot, crowded cafeteria to test the breathability. I was still comfortable!! It breaths that well!!! The hood is awesome!! You can practically mold this it to your head. Solid product!!! I will be buying more of the DryQ products.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive jacket!

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pableau
Location: Berkeley, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally, after all these years of companies producing "waterproof/breatheable" outerwear, Mountain Hardwear has finally done it!
The Ampato jacket really breathes. After several vigorous hikes in 100% humidity, I felt dry under the jacket. Amazing!
I love it when hi-tech gear actually functions as promised.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great jacket

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
algonquin80
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Dry Q purchase and very pleased. Fit perfect. Even the sleeve length was perfect. Big step up from my paclite jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Constructed Throughout

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Geoff
Location: Virginia
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First, the pictures online do not do this jacket justice. I was a bit apprehensive not having ever tried the jacket on. I wanted a jacket that was more than rain jacket- one that could also stand up to the elements without having the bulk. This jacket appears to have it all. The Jacket is lightweight, however has an additional layer and a terrific lining within that will not stick to you like other shells. With proper layering, this will be my go-to jacket for year round applications. the pockets are well placed inside and out and I especially like the lined handwarmer pockets (nice touch).
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not your usual clammy rain jacket

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
DCCowboy
Location: Washington, DC
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket because I have been disappointed with others that don't have some sort of liner...and the clammy feeling you experience when you wear it, especially in humid, summer conditions. This jacket performs well...no clamminess, liner and breathability keeps you dry and comfortable inside and DryQ does its job outside. The hood holds up, doesn't crumple and drip on your face...great pockets. Excellent jacket! Thanks MH.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket, super breatheable

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Re1D
Location: Brunei
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Ampato jacket is great for what it is meant for, which is back-country trekking in pretty foul weather.
Pros: This jacket is super breathable, even from the moment you put it on! I am based in Borneo, where the humidity is pretty much 100% all day everyday, and the type of rainstorms we get here are the types that cause flash floods, so you can see that having a good waterproof and very breathable jacket really counts.
I really love the face fabric, soft and almost rustle free, and there are more then enough pockets to suit my needs.
Cons: The fit is a bit strange. it seems to be a bit tight behind the shoulders, and the hem seems to rise up every time I reach for something. I wear a size M for everything, and in this one I find that the sleeves are a bit short.
The face fabric being very soft make me question it's overall durability, especially for what i use it for, which is a rain shell for my days at the local crag. It just doesn't seem like it can take too much abrasion from rocks and stuff.
Verdict: I love this jacket. The Air permeable factor is what does it for me. It looks great too, very subtle and not too flashy. Worth every dollar!
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ampato rules

PostedApril 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
bigsky0708
Location: Montana
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I spend a great deal of time outdoors for work and recreation. Finding a high quality jacket that functions well as a windbreaker/raingear jacket is essential. The Ampato is the finest jacket I've ever owned that meets these criteria.
It's durable, comfortable and highly functional. It's a handsome jacket on top of all the other highlights. I've received several comments while wearing it around town.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid shell

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
lostintheeast
Location: Union Dale, PA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replacing a North Face shell of the same weight. This is a much better constructed item. Have worn it with and with out a second layer and without it's comfortable down to about 45.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Ampato™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Technical Shell

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
LV2BOUTDOORS
I've had this shell for a month and I've only been able to use it between 40-75 degrees F, but I'm very impressed with DRY-Q Elite. The first thing that I noticed was how nice the soft hand on the outer shell fabric felt.As I used it in a variety of settings, hiking, camping, primitive fire building, climbing boulders up a waterfall and mountain biking I found that I was always able to regulate my body temperature and not overheat. I loaned it to a friend and she commented on how much warmer it was than a lesser shell I had loaned her. The amazing thing for me was the comfort range of the jacket on it's own. I felt warm with just the jacket down to around 50 yet I didn't overheat when I was mountain biking or bouldering around 70 degrees.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.