Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Torsion™ Glove

Mountain Hardwear Men's Torsion™ Glove

Torsion™ Glove
Overall rating:
4.611 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Review 1 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go-to gloves

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
VincitOmnia
Location: Crested Butte, CO
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these to replace an earlier version of the same glove that I'd had for 4-5 years. Finally just wore the palms out of my old ones. The new ones are even better - love the "pull on loops", and the material seems a little heavier maybe. These are my go to gloves for many winter activities. Perfect for my commute, warm enough for shoveling snow, scraping the snow and ice off the car and getting into the building at work, but still plenty of dexterity for driving, gas station etc. Good for running in almost any degree of cold, and perfect for spring skiing. I usually carry them in my backpack when I'm skiing even when it's too cold to use them alone, as they're great to pull on once I remove my heavy ski gloves if I'm having a meal outside, working on a binding etc.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Goat Skin Palm.

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
pktrush
Location: STL, MO
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The goat skin palm is a great feature, but the glove lacks an insulation layer. The gloves have a good grip for small items.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tactile function

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hoze
Location: North Kingstown, RI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They fit perfectly, I can actually manipulate small hardware and the inner liner definitely keeps the cold out. Still don't understand the necessity of the 6 in long tag but it can be cut out!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and functional

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
CharlieVic
Location: Minneapolis
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these gloves. They are light enough to be flexible with good finger sensitivity and dexterity, and the leather palm and fingers makes them plenty durable. The leather reinforcement solves the common problem of typical stretch shell gloves shredding when you wear them for anything actually active. These do not need to be coddled. The loop at the wrist aids in sliding them on by feel. Torsion gloves are my all-around choice for anything from winter driving to snowshoeing to throwing snowballs with the kids.
Not a good choice for really cold weather. My only complaint is the huge wad of regulatory labels that are required to be stitched inside. They can be removed, but it is a bit humorous.
This is an A+ design.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Changing gloves

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
POJO
Location: Grand Marais, MN
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought my 4th pair of Torsion Gloves. I use them for cross country skiing on days when it is between 5 and 30 degrees. They have been the perfect gloves for that up until now.
In addition to skiing with them they have become my general around the town gloves because of the high dexterity I have with them on.
Because of the high volume of ware the leather on the fingertips wears through and I need to buy a new pair every winter.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great everyday gloves

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
DRSPDuds
Location: Pinecrest, CA
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work ski patrol in California and wear these gloves in all conditions except heavy snow. They give me great dexterity to work and are light enough that my hands don't get too hot.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gloves

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reed
Location: SLC, UT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dig em big time. I wore them as belay gloves and the leather is burly enough for that, as well as grippy enough for ice climbing. Super stoked.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gloves when you need the grip in mild conditions.

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MountainG0AT
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These gloves provide very good dexterity and provide excellent grip for tools - the leather is idea for this. The wrap around the index is a plus. The fit is snug, no excess material except perhaps the strip over the thumb. The loops are good for getting these on as well as clipping them on your bag. Wherever there is single yellow stitching, I would have double stitched, this is the first area to weaken... although it may be just a cosmetic thing as it does not seem to cause the gloves to fall apart. The material is good for mild weather, wind and ok in light rain.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SpringGlove

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: New England
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The glove woked well for 'spring' skiing here in New England. Temps used ranged from 35-50 F. The only complaint is that the glove is not water resistant. Otherwise a very good product.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
jjk82
Location: MID-MO
Gloves are generally disappointing. They are good for taking the chill off your finger on a cold day but do not keep your fingers and hands warm. If the wind is blowing you can feel it on the tops of your hands/gloves which I was shocked for being a MH product, I guess I expected more. The final straw for these gloves is that the stitching started coming apart on one of the fingers I have only had the gloves for a month and just use them for waking to and from my car going to work. I hate to guess how long they will last when I start using them out in the field. These gloves should not be listed in the Alpine category and should be listed in the lightweight section. Not worth the $50!
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Glove

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alpinelight
Location: Bitterroot Valley, MT
These gloves have just the right amount of insolation to keep my hand warm and protected. they seem to be very durable and well made. I highly recommend this Torsion glove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Torsion glove works great!

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
MittWYO
Great fit! I bought this glove because it is a great mid-weight glove that is wind-proof and water resistant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everyday in-or-out of the city

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mbyrd
Location: Portland, OR
Fit was just right. Snug but not tight. Love that I can "feel" to pick small things up or easily grab zipper pulls / hood cord locks. Leather palm and index should be much more durable than past fleece gloves. Sheds wind and light rain with no problem. Wear these every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome for Ice Climbing!!

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ryan1234
Location: Pennsylvania
These gloves are sick!! I used these on a recent ice climbing trip in the White Mountains of New Hampshire and they performed amazingly well. They are surprisingly warm for how thin they are, have excellent grip and shed water like a champ (not waterproof). All in all these are great gloves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Glove

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Comet
Location: New Delhi
I used these for skiing in mid-30 degree temps and they were warm and comfy. The material is light but strong and provides excellent dexterity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for alpine climbing

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
moboy56
Location: Mo
a very nice form fitting glove. Great feel with ice tools and axes, ropes and biners. warm as long as your active, they are not insulated to any degree. durable enough for rock and rappels, good stuff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
moboy56
Mo
 
Please wait while more information about moboy56 is loaded.
Additional information about moboy56 could not be loaded.
upgraded for 2012
Posted February 21, 2012
i have both the first and second generation version of this glove. the 2012 model doesn't have the exposed stitching the first ones had. which will give the glove longer life, plus the new model has a nose wipe on the thumb. same fit and warmth.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for many different uses

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
JScott
Location: Oakland
I bought this glove for snow hiking but have used it for many different things. Cold weather mountain biking, backcountry and resort skiing, backpacking, even trail work. The palm does not bunch up when holding a tool / pole grip / handlebar which I really like and the softshell on the back does a great job blocking wind and rain. Great glove for any cool weather activity that requires good grip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Torsion™ Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

mens torsion glove

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tommie
Location: tetons
exactly what I am looking for!!!! perfect for agility of hand movement,,, ability to grip ice axes,,, good wind moisture capability
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.