Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Heavyweight Wool Stretch Glove

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Heavyweight Wool Stretch Glove

Heavyweight Wool Stretch Glove
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4 out of 5(80%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Heavyweight Wool Stretch Glove
Review 1 for Men's Heavyweight Wool Stretch Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great gloves for endurance outings in the cold.

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tortoise
Location: Marshfield, VT
These are a great addition to any gear arsenal. They are perfect for high energy cold weather outings or just for chilly morning commutes. Wool stays warm when wet, so heat retention is high. My favorite feature is how the cuff is long and fits firmly making the shirt and glove overlap seamless and comfortable.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Heavyweight Wool Stretch Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pair of general use gloves

PostedJune 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
kjlanda
Location: Chicago
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like these a lot! Got 'em from Backcountry.com. Very warm and good workmanship and quality overall. No complaints whatsoever. Fit nicely too.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Heavyweight Wool Stretch Glove
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok for mild conditions

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paulicus
Location: bellingham, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I haven't used these gloves in very wet conditions yet, but they definitely don't block wind very well at all! They're good for mild conditions (where you just need a little insulation for your hands), or with little wind. They're light, which works for me for shoulder-season backpacking. I think they would work well under a water/wind-proof outer shell.
Get the smaller size for a snug fit. I got large and the fingers were a bit long.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GuyCooper
 
Please wait while more information about GuyCooper is loaded.
Additional information about GuyCooper could not be loaded.
Posted June 12, 2014
What size hands do you have?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Men's Heavyweight Wool Stretch Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great casual gloves

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
deacon96
Location: philadelphia, pa
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
these gloves are warm in weather to the low 20's, good for casual walking around or running. the blend of material has a slight stretch so a snug fit on the gloves is good. they breath well and i would imagine dry quickly if wet due to the combination of wool & synthetic materials although i have not gotten them wet yet.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Heavyweight Wool Stretch Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great lightweight gloves

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
habbro
Location: savannah, ga
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gloves for fall/spring when mornings can be a bit brisk. I live in the South so these will be used mostly in dead of winter. Very compact yet warm enough.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Heavyweight Wool Stretch Glove
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm & toasty

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
CascadeClimber
Location: Seattle, WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these gloves as a stand alone wool glove in moderate weather and as a liner in cold/wet conditions. I'm very happy with their performance for both situations. They've kept my digits warm and toasty in freezing conditions and I'm surprised at how well the wool blend repels waters and wicks moisture. I've rarely needed to don my shell gloves which saves me a lot of hassle since I love to snap photos on the go and these gloves give me just enough dexterity to do so.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Heavyweight Wool Stretch Glove
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

More of a mid weight

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Coast Range, OR
I really like these gloves for keeping the edge off the cold while still maintaining dexterity. I have used them this winter in snow, rain, and just plain cold weather. They have been with making barn repairs in 2 and a half feet of snow(did I mention it had started raining). They allowed my to use my hands and kept them from getting cold. I was working pretty hard so I can't say they would have been warm enough if I hadn't been working. They were wet but still keeping me warm. The cuff is very snug. I buy mens clothes because I am a large framed woman and the cuffs are a bit snug on me. They are almost uncomfortable for my husband who has thicker wrists. He worked at stretching the fabris because he was concerned about losing circulation. Also the cuffs are itchy, especially when you are perspiring. Maybe a layer of butter fleece to keep more senitive skin from being irritated.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.