Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Mountain Hardwear.

Mountain Hardwear Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket

Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%) recommend this product
Customer reviews for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
dSak
Location: Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great insulator jacket for down to -10F or so (with baselayers). Seems well made and designed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Multi Purpose

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
BoltSpeedman
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is great in my opinion, both wearing it for work overseas as well as wearing it during my winter vacations.
I put it through a good bit of rough work and it held up just fine, and it was also fine for layering.
Heavy rain would require a shell but this jacket completely handles the light stuff.
The only thing I would change is adding a second zipper so you don't have to unzip the whole jacket when nature calls.
I'm 5'7" 165 and a medium was perfect for me
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Function and Style

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
hohenlage
Location: Hood River, OR
Experience: Casual
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is not only warm, but it's also quite stylish... I bought this coat purely for outdoor skiing activities, but after putting it on and the compliments I have received, you could easily wear it on a night out on the town.
I tested it out in 15 degree weather and never felt cold, in fact even in a warm environment you don't overheat which is a big plus as some down coats tend to make you sweat.
Overall the coat's fit is another plus, it doesn't feel bulky and fits in all the right places.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lightweight Jacket

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
MtnMike
Location: Boise, Idaho
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been a great jacket, very comfortable in a variety of conditions. I have had this jacket for a while but wanted to be able to wear it in some cold weather before writing a review. The cold finally hit so I put it to the test. I went for an early evening hike on New Year's Day with the temperature at 20 degrees F. I didn't get cold and I didn't overheat. It may be a little light in these temperatures if you are not actively moving around. We were having so much fun hiking the trails overlooking Boise that we just kept hiking into the night. This is a great all-around jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, with a few little exceptions

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reed
Location: SLC, UT
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The inside of the pockets annoys me, feels like a plastic bag. Love the color (I got the green). I was out in a windy 25 degree the other day and it did great, for 650 fill this thing packs a punch.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

fit is great, workmanship is shoddy

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
wally
Location: Chicago
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jacket is slick, color is great, fit is perfect, but the workmanship is shoddy. In 2days my right cuff seam has begun to split. Materials and fit are great but stitching is the weakest part of their products.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Jacket

PostedMay 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
ADNZ
Location: Asheville,NC
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great piece for cold weather, dry weather. The only drawback is that the hood isn't adjustable. I could see this being an issue on a windy day. Also, for a medium, the sleeves seem slightly short. This wasn't a limiting factor though, as the rest of the jacket fit perfectly. I'm 5'10", 155 lbs. All around great product and I look forward to next winter!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I live in Bend

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
basko
Location: Bend, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket for the cold weather. Medium fits perfect. I'm 5'7
I would recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than expected!

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
ten5three
Location: OHTXWY
I expected a decent mid-layer and got a whole lot more. This jacket is much more than advertised. It is definitely suitable for extended periods of cold so far down to the low teens with windchill's in the negative numbers. I have worn this jacket recently with the temp around 12F while doing absolutely nothing for about two hours and was still able to generate plenty of heat to stay toasty warm! Regardless of activity it seems to keep you at the perfect temp. I've also used it for quite a bit of camping/hiking this winter and it breaths as well, if not better, than my Coreloft SV/LT insulators. In all circumstances I've only worn a light wicking baselayer and the Kelvinator has been more than enough except in the heaviest of precipitation. It stands up to quite a bit of water, but will eventually wet out. It does, however keep putting out the heat even when soaked through.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jordo
Location: San Diego
If you can't tell by the picture icon for the jacket it looks LONG in the torso. I ordered a Large, as I've had two other MH jackets in large and they fit perfectly (G50 and Compresor). I'm right on the cusp of a medium; 6ft, 195, 43in chest, 34/35 in the arms. I have broad shoulders and the jacket felt promising at first but i can't look past the length. The only way it looks presentable is if i tuck the excess under only after pulling the draw cord on the waist. Otherwise, I look like a rapper hangin in the hood. I think the medium will fit perfectly though. Other than that, material feels durable compared to other puffs i've had and the green color is pretty rad. I can't wait to get my other one in the mail.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Jacket for Winter Activities

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
cgass177
Location: Seattle, WA
This is a great jacket for winter actives where you're not expecting to see extreme temperatures. I use it hiking and snowshoeing a lower elevations. I'm planning on carrying it with me for higher elevation climbs during the warmer months too. It packs down pretty small in the included stuff sack and can be compressed even smaller. The DWR is pretty effective, but won't stand up to real heavy rains. It looks stylish around town too.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kelvinator is a great jacket

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
climber
Location: Idaho
This is a great jacket for belaying on cold days and I especially like the hood which its over a climbing helmet. My only beef is that when the jacket is in its stuff sack, there is no loop to clip it onto your harness. All in all, a great warm down jacket. Kudos!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Woman in Men's Clothing

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
LittleBitOfEverything1234
Location: Asheville, NC
I am a woman, but bought this jacket for myself rather than the women's version because I didn't like its fit and design. I will be using the jacket primarily in the backcountry for winter or cool weather camping since I am very cold natured. I wanted it to be more practical and versatile than street stylish so I got it a little big to be able to layer heavily under it but still be able to fit my shell over it. Things I like: hood, comfortable cuffs and zipper guard, the included stuff sack (I like this better than packing in its own pocket because I tend to snag garments on the zipper), lot's of down, big baffles, dwr coating, ripstop material.
Wish it were: 800 fill
Overall I've loved it. As warm as can be! and can pack down smaller than a lot of comparable jackets. This is a really practical piece for backpacking.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not what i thought

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
ezb123
I got this to wear over my outers on high alpine climbs and i just don't think its the right thing. It's not really warm enough. I guess if it were the right thing it would have been nice, but needless to say i was a little dissapointed.
-10points
4of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
JB84
Location: South East, AK
I bought this jacket for winter wear. The temp hasn't dropped too low and the snow is still high in the mountains, very wet down at sea level still so I havn't got much use yet. It's made with down though so obviously its been warm the few times I have worn it. I also treated the outside fabric to up the water resistance. I'm happy with the purchase
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Men's Kelvinator™ Jacket
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5