Customer reviews for Mountain Hardwear Men's Compressor™ Pant

Mountain Hardwear Men's Compressor™ Pant

Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall rating:
4.679 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Review 1 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best in Class!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Paul78
Location: Chicago, IL
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent pants. I wear them under my Gore Tex shell and they provide the perfect amount of insulation.
Everyone should own a pair!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Warm 3 out of 5 stars

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
tech23
Location: Chicago
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great pant for keeping warm but it needs belt loops for a belt or draw string lock. The pants seem to slide down at times. I use suspenders to keep them up.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Pants

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
AC6214
Location: Bristol, RI
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first time I tried them on I felt like I was wearing a very good quality down jacket on my legs, much like the down jacket I bought via MH. I am heading to the White Mts. very soon so I am looking forward to using them in difficult conditions...I have all the faith.
Please attach belt loops !!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very warm but ...

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
JeffE
Location: Portland OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
These pants are certainly very warm...I've used them down to about 10F for ice climbing belays. Fit-wise the waist is spot-on, but I find the Med a bit long for my 32 inseam. I would like to see improvements in weight, features, and function: The weight/bulk could be reduced by minimizing the big elastic waistband. Use a partial elastic waist (say 1/3, in back# and a large adjustable Velcro overlap on each hip...done. Marmot has done this for years. I would lose the fly. It's easier to just push down the waist than to fish yourself out of the fly with gloves on. I would lose the front pockets. Who wears these in town and needs hand pockets? For other items you will surely have a jacket with pockets on. Lastly, fully separating side-zips make things needlessly complicated, particularly when the wind is blowing and/or you're standing on a steep slope. I much prefer 3/4 zips like Arcteryx has on some of their pants/bibs. You can pass your boot through #even with crampons on) and pull them up... without having to sort out which flaps mate up, and fiddling to join zipper ends, and can do so with gloves on.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I don't know how I lived without this product

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
sd395x
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pair of insulated pants ever. Was recommended to buy them from a few friends and I am now sold. I like winter camping and this was the only piece I was missing to make it more comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stelhed
Location: Wasilla, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You can't go wrong with these pants! Super warm, love the full length zippers and reinforced rear and knees. The only knock I could give them is I would like to see belt loops....
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Roguex
Location: Anchorage, AK
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 3rd pair of compressor pants. They are a must have for long cold days out in the mountains.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I was warm and dry while everyone else was chilled

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
SRD450
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are a must for extended ski tours when cold/wet/humid/marine winter climates are involved. Just got back from an extened ski tour in AK. Weather ranged from 10F-25F at night with snow cave building, block wall contruction, wind, and plenty of tent condensation/frost. I used these pants every night when we stopped. The design is perfect to step into with your ski boots still on. I always just threw these on over my shell bibs and never had a problem with them being wet, even when building snow caves. Perfect with the B'layman jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome pants

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
ArticFox
Location: Portland, OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Small
True Fit
Too Large
I am a woman 5'5" 120# and purchased the men's size small. I was afraid they would be huge on me but they fit fine. They were a little long, but with the Velcro cuffs I was able to cuff them at the base of my boots so I was able to adjust the length. I wore 2 pairs of long johns and a pair of thermal long johns underneath and I was toasty warm in sub zero temps without being active. I tend to be the first one cold, but not the case here. I was thrilled with these pants! But come on Mountain Hardwear - how about some gear for us chicks!!
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very warm and comfortable.

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
PNWphotographer
Location: Portland OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these pants. I have used them with a stretch type base layer, then a pair of Mountain Hardwear Stretch Tight Thermal bottoms. The Compressor Pants went on top used as a shell. These babies worked great. They are very warm and function great. I used them in the Artic at night. Temps at -15. The adjustable ankle cuff is nice to keep the snow and the wind from blowing up the legs. Side zips make it easy to slip the pants on and off over boots as well as great to unzip a little to regulate body temps. The reinforced knees and bottom allow you to kneel and sit on the ice without fear of ripping the pants. They are light and compress very well. The only suggestion that I would offer is to get a pair of suspenders to clip on the waist. The elastic in the waist band along with the draw string is not enough to hold the pants up if you are active. It would be perfect if it had suspender mounting points added in.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
dSak
Location: Alaska
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very useful, compressible insulator pant. Gotta love the sidezips!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME!!!!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Magee11
Location: N.E. Utah
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
Fits Slightly Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like I said, AWESOME!!!!! I own another pair of MHW pants that are a lot like these but made of a windstopper fleece. I'm not sure what they are called and not sure if MHW still makes them because I couldn't find them on there site. So, I decided to try these. I use them under a shell and under my waders for winter time use. BEWARE these are WARM, way WARM. What else can I say, I love em. I am 5'8 and 140 lbs and ordered a small. They run big to size and the small fits great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compressor Pant

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MartinF
Location: San Francisco
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants are great for cold weather / winter camping. Wish they had belt loops because the material around the waist is smooth and found that the pants slide a bit if you wear a base layer. Very durable build and think they will last for years. I'm 6'3, 195#. I wear a 34-35" waist, and a 34" inseam on my jeans. The large fits perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's like my legs never left base camp

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Samsonite
Location: Slade, KY
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These things are toasty warm. I had them ice climbing in temps around 0 with the wind chill firmly seated around -20. I would wear them belaying and it felt like my legs were back home down south. It actually made me kind of sad when I had to take them off to send a pitch.
That being said the zips are a little awkward with gloves but that's to be expected. Just add a tag line of accessory cord or something. They slide on over crampons easily, and you can instantly feel the warmth.
I wear a Medium in nearly everything except shells (5'9 160#), and these pants are no exception. A medium fit perfectly over my layers (two base, a polartec, softshell, then these) and will fit under a large pair of shell pants with no problems.
After a weekend of beating them up climbing waterfalls there is no noticable wear and tear, so I will be using them well into the future! Thanks again for making these full zip, it really seals the deal to make these the perfect insulated pants for anything other than arctic or 8000m+ adventures.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep warm on the mountain !

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
DynamicSportAdventures
Location: Upstate NY
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Purchased these pants for a cold weekend mountaineering school. Camped out for the weekend (no fire) and temps went to -8 saturday night. Compressor pant kept me toasty warm and packed easily with little weight as my pack weighed 69lbs so every ounce of weight savings was necessary. Great pants,highly recommend !
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Well made, but....

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Moosu
Location: Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
Too Large
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like all of Mountain hardware products these pants are very well made with excellant material, just too much material! I know its the American style and the trend in recent years is to make pants longer and baggy, but its getting silly. I don't care to hear my pants flapping in the wind over the sound of the wilderness I'm trying to enjoy, or trip over the extra eight inches I'm walking on. The good news European styles offer great products that actually fit so if your like me and function is more important than 'so called style' you have a choice.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mofodilf
Denver Not.
 
Please wait while more information about mofodilf is loaded.
Additional information about mofodilf could not be loaded.
Yeah, a touch toooo much cloth...
Posted August 2, 2013
I'm hoping a trip to the low setting snugs up the legs a bit.
- They are nice; and I am 100$ positive they will be great for sedentary activities; but for actually hiking/walking, um... OK. MC Hammer type of pants just came to mind.
Overall; a "win".
I've spent money at a tailor shop well before to take a fine product such as these pants into the 'excellent' 'custom fit' 'ultimate' outdoor gear before.
So. I end with one word; because I'd rather have the material to be altered; my one word about these pants is.
"Win".
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition to my technical outerwear

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trayson
Location: Vancouver WA
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This pant is a great addition to my arsenal of gear. I have been using some Mountain Hardwear windblock fleece full sidezip pants for years as a mid layer and these insulated pants give me a new option. One thing that stood out to me is their length. They are longer than I expected. I am 5'10 with a 32" inseam and these would easily fit someone much taller. They are also plenty wide enough at the bottom to even go around snowboard boots. They are definitely warm and I had no problems cruising around in just these pants in 20 degree weather.
My only suggestion for improvements are as follows: 1) I would like to see some kind of fabric like microfiber or something on the inside of these, as if I get "too warm" in them and sweat, I wouldn't have wet nylon against the skin. 2) I would like to see some kind of shock cord on the waist drawstring. I found the pants slipping down a little and just a loop of drawstring didn't lend itself to tightening the waist. I might cut the cord so I can tie it, or add a shock cord myself later.
Overall the pants are a great piece of gear. I am always a fan of FULL side zips and happy to see them on any piece of gear.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of a kind favorite!

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
JessiLee
Location: Denali National Park, AK
Experience: Avid
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband bought these pants a couple years ago for the cold weather in Wyoming. He loved them. I would wear his pants once in a while and liked them so much I had to get a pair for myself. These are very light weight for the warmth that they provide. My pants seem to be a little more durable than the Compressor pants my husband has. My husband and I use them for the super cold Alaska winters. They due the trick even in -40 below!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super warm

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MtSkierMike
Location: Portland OR
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've debated a long time getting these pants. Now that I have them, wish I'd had them a long time ago. They are very warm, fit great under a shell if it's raining. I use them mainly under a shell for skiing or by themselves on cold belays.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Compressor™ Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pat247
Location: Bangor, Maine
Experience: Core
Employee: No
Too Small
True Fit
True Fit
Too Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These puffy pants are the best. Very warm and comfortable, and the DWR works well. Full length zips are amazing. Great over or under a shell.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.